We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sedgebrook Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sedgebrook Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chapel Brampton
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2006

Really enjoyed the stay here.

Centred around an older stone built hall which houses the main reception, with more modern good quality facilitiies including pool, attached to the side.

It is comparable to other four star hotels in the wider area such as the Kettering Park, but in a much better setting.

The photograph of the older part of the hotel taken from the treetops should be replaced with one showing the whole complex and grounds, as it does not do it justice and I was concerned when booking, that the more modern parts might be a let down, but no, these were up to good modern hotel standards and I would rate this as a great place to stay.

Bear in mind that the conference facilities are I suppose the main raison d'etre and the whole place is geared towards that aim.

However this did not impinge at all on my stay, It is miles better than some others in Northampton at the same or higher price and this is a case of not judging it by the price or the photos.

No doubt it would also be a good wedding venue too, considering the facilities it has to offer. However, I needed a place to sleep whilst on a business trip and it fitted the bill superbly.

There is a good leisure suite, tennis courts and golf facilities, looking at the grounds, although I was not on a leisure break so cannot comment on these items.

The staff were efficient, friendly and helpful. Everything was clean and very well kept.

The Hall is located only a short drive from the centre of Northampton and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Take the tennis racquets, golf clubs and swimming gear
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank shreds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    176
    155
    74
    28
See reviews for
78
207
14
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2006

Lovely Hotel in fantastic grounds. However , as they say first impressions count. We arrived late on a Sunday for 4 nights to be told there was no reservation for us dispite presenting confirmation.
The receptionist attitude was ignorant and most unhelpful. I was given a smoking room for the night , again the confirmation asked for non - smoking. I challenged this and was reluctantly given a disabled room .
At breakfast an other guest told us he had a reservation for 2 nights and was advised on check in that they could only give him one night. This was because there was a conference on the Monday. Clearly the Hotel had bounced us in favour of the conference pary who had booked a lot of rooms.
We chose not to eat there and can recommend a very good pub next to the Hotel if you are unfortunate to find yourself there.
I have to be fair to the receptionist who checked us out, she was a better example good service

  • Liked — The pub next door
  • Disliked — Check in receptionist
  • Tips/Secrets — Dont go there
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank FireInspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chapel Brampton hotels

manchester, england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2006

The hotel was very good value for money. The room was clean and well decorated and the bathroom was modern with and bath and shower. Reception staff were pleasant and helpful. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bobinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2006

This is a modern hotel built around an older building. It's smart, clean and the staff were very polite. Breakfast was as good as you are likely to get. Nice Jacuzzi and small pool, as well as other sports. Lovely views across rolling Northamptonshire. Good standard hotel style room. No smoking in the public areas - which is a treat!!

Just about every hotel has weddings at a weekend, which can be a right pain for other guests. The layout of the hotel means that the guest rooms are a good distance from noise - we were not disturbed at all on the Saturday night we stayed. In addition the hotel keeps their B&B guests in rooms away from the wedding guests! Clearly the hotel makes most of it's money in the week from conferences so Friday night was very quiet (indeed the restuarant wasn't open Friday evening).

We booked at the last minute with laterooms.com and paid a very low rate of £28.75 each for B&B This was very very good value.

We'd go back again - and we rarely say that!

  • Liked — value for money
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hollidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2006

My wife and I stayed at Sedgebrook Hall last weekend having booked through a wb site. We had not visited Northampton before and needed to be there for a family event on Sunday and thought that we would make a weekend of it.

Sedgebrook Hall is normall a conference venue but at the weekend makes a fantastic and well looked after base for visiting the area and we found lots to do.

The rooms are not over fussy but have everything that you need and more than anything else of very clean and well looked after.

It was quiet at the venue the weekend that we were there but we found the staff to be very willing to help and recommend places to eat and places to see in the area. Although the bar was not open fully we asked for drinks at reception and they were delivered to us in our room with a smile and a request if there was anything else that we needed?

If you are looking for a full service 5 star hotel then this is not for you, no real rooms service etc but if you are looking for a venue that is great value for money with a leisure club and beautiful grounds then this is for you. We were also very impressed by the breakfast each morning and thought that this exceeded our expectations!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2005

I thought that this might be full of Olde Word Charm, oak beams, real ale, roaring fire etc , how wrong I was. The reception area is fine but once out of it you could be in any bland hotel. What makes it worse is that its not a hotel but a conference facility. While this may make it ideal for a corporate event for a couple or business traveller it feels impersonal. I arrived on a Sunday to be informed that no food was available but the duty manager could rustle up some sandwiches if need be. Nobody was staffing the bars so I could not get a drink if I wanted one. The Rooms are clean , but bland and I suffered from a very loud central heating system.

All in all hugely disappointing if you with a group and you want an adequate facitliy with swimming pool/ gym etc this could work. If you want something with character stay clear.

  • Stayed December 2005, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2005

We stayed at Sedgebrook Hall for two nights recently and found it to be the perfect base for looking around Northampton and parts of Buckinghamshire - there is loads to see in the area and it really suprised us what a beautiful area Northampton is.

Sedgebrook Hall is in a quiet village and has good bedrooms and a great breakfast. The accommodation is inexpencive and suprisingly good value for money. Sedgebrook has lovely grounds and a small but good leisure club with pool and gym etc. Would recommend to anyone who is looking for a very high standard bed and breakfast style accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chapel Brampton
3.0 mi away
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
#3 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
3.3 mi away
Highgate House Hotel
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
5.3 mi away
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Northampton Marriott Hotel
#6 of 29 in Northampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hilton Northampton
Hilton Northampton
#9 of 29 in Northampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedgebrook Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedgebrook Hall

Property: Sedgebrook Hall
Address: Sedgebrook Hall Pitsford Road, Chapel Brampton, Northampton NN6 8BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton > Chapel Brampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chapel Brampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sedgebrook Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sedgebrook Hall is located in the picturesque village of Chapel Brampton, in the heart of the beautiful Northampton countryside. Set in idyllic country gardens, Sedgebrook Hall seamlessly mixes Victorian heritage with modern comforts and is an ideal venue for weddings, corporate events and inspirational training along with breaks and weekends away in Northampton.Whether you are looking for a charming wedding venue, a picturesque hideaway, a state-of-the-art conference venue or simply a hotel from which to explore Northampton and relax and unwind at the end of the day; Sedgebrook Hall should be top of your list.We have 102 bedrooms set alongside the main house in a modern annexe, which also houses our conference and banqueting suites which are ideal for conferences for up to 200 and banqueting for 120.Just 20 minutes drive from the M1 and with a wide variety of local attractions including: Althorp House, Castle Ashby Gardens, Silverstone and fantastic onsite leisure activities, Sedgebrook Hall is the first choice for short breaks and weekend breaks in Northampton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sedgebrook Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sedgebrook Hall Hotel Northampton
Sedgebrook Hall Northampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing