We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Overstone Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Overstone
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed in the Ash Suite for 1 night Bed & Breakfast with a balcony overlooking the golf course. Set in beautiful surroundings this is a fabulous hotel. The staff are friendly and explained everything we needed to know very clearly, contrary to what other people have said. The layout of the hotel is a little different to a conventional hotel which was part of its apeal for me. The facilities are excellent with a very welcoming spa and pool the changing rooms are well equiped. Everywhere is beautifully clean and tidy, well presented and organised.
Breakfast is self service with a good selection and fresh eggs cooked to order.
We will definately stay here again and would recommend the Ash suite to our friends.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a suite it's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debsiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    50
    48
    40
    40
See reviews for
30
77
4
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I stayed here for two nights with my partner and quite enjoyed the Overstone Park Hotel. The golf course is beautiful, the restaurant was great and the staff were very friendly. My only little concern was that the rooms were a little small for a mini break, and they were also a bit dated. It would be nice if they modernised and expanded the rooms a little. The swimming pool was lovely, with a steam room, sauna and jacuzzi on the side. The gym was ok but also a little dated. They could do with updating the machinery. But overall we enjoyed our stay in the resort very much.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willowclose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

Very difficult to find hotel/reception as they exist in two seperate buildings/annexes/huts. Reception staff friendly. Room very dissapointing, we stayed in a standard double that cost 65 pound per night. The decor was awful drab old curtains and seventies carpets. The walls are filthy there isnt enough room to swing a cat the rooms are tiny and stink. Definatley worth staying in a premier inn or travel lodge this place is sickiningly overpriced. The restaurant was closed and the bar was full of snotty golfers and the staff behind the bar were equally as stuck up, for what reason i dnt know as the place is a dive. No way would recomend any friends or family to stay here. Everything that all the bad reviews say about this place is more or less true, if youve got any taste.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richland_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Overstone hotels

Little Wilbraham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I play in a local golf society and we alternate between this course and another for our player of the year dinner. On our arrival we had a full English breakfast, followed by 18 holes on the very well kept course, then dinner in the evening rounded off with a night in the hotel; rooms are basic but clean and well maintained, it's not the sort of hotel I would take my wife away to but perfect for golfers!
Bed and breakfast is only £55 which is jolly good value, the dinner was roast beef, gammon and pork; plenty of it and lots of vegetables, Yorkshire puddings, roast potatoes and jugs of gravy. We also had a starter and a desert with coffee and mints!
Very good food and very good value all round. There is also a gymnasium and swimming pool if you have any energy left after the golf!!
Well worth a visit!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

I was amazed that this place was so badly reviewed.

Whilst it's a bit odd the way it's been created, I doubt it deserves to rank so low out of all of the hotels in Northampton.

The bar was relaxed and friendly, with decent prices for drinks and food that was excellent value for money. The view out onto the golf course from the balcony was amazing. Receptionists were extremely helpful and pleasant and cheery.

The rooms were adequate. Yeah, it's structured a bit like a Butlins of old. The "hotel" rooms are in a separate block a few minutes walk away from the reception and in amongst houses. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable with free WiFi throughout. The bathroom was small but clean and modern enough with plenty of hot water and decent water pressure.

The gym and spa are tremendous. Plenty of treadmills, bikes and cross-trainers. Loads of weight machines, 2 squat racks and plenty of dumbbells and free weights. I was in my element. And the sauna was by far the hottest I've ever been in. It was frightening!!

I was on a business trip with colleagues. I used the room to sleep, wash and change in. It was ideal for that purpose. If you are going to spend time in the room, for a romantic week away or similar, look elsewhere - this isn't for you.

The main down-side was that it was pretty remote. We flew down and were taxied about. The nearest shop or pub was miles away and pretty much ruled out any short trips for anything.

I'd be happy to go back on future trips, though.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Big_G_From_EK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I was looking forward to staying at this hotel and after a few diversions through country lanes due to no signs I eventally found it. The setting is great and i would have loved to have had my clubs in the boot as the golf was free after 4pm. I was given my room key and set off to find the hotel part. When I walked in i nearly fell over the bed and immediatly thought the room smelt "dirty" i could not make out if it was the carpet, curtains or the head board on the bed ( i was not going to investigate that closely). The only air you could get in to the room whilst keeping some privacy was by opening the tiny bathrooom window. I went to the club house for dinner which was fairly good value but very plain tasting food.

I detested staying in the room and even felt like packing up in the middle of the night to drive home but waited until the morning, i ran my hand along the wall and the dust that came off was unbelievable and made me feel dirty and uncomfortable. After squeezing in to the shower i set off for breakfast which was ok. The staff were friendly especially the young lady at reception who was very polite and i did not have the heart to give her grief about my stay so i will be writing to the Management instead.

With some basic care and attention this could be much better place to stay as the surrounding views were lovely.

Finally no mobile phone reception in my room nor did the wifi work!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mattyg1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Tipperary, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Having seen pictures of a lovely hotel set in a green golf course with spa and pool we thought great coming over from Ireland to catch up with family.
After traverling 15 hrs to get there we arrived at the top of dirt track with a sign saying hotel so we looked and looked no no hotel,we saw reception which was similar to above pic ok must be there ok book in hotel is over there. Shock and horror its a motel pretending to be a hotel,it looks like the 60's Butlins,to make things worse you open front door fall over bed and bounce into the toilet my in laws have a camper van bigger!!
I cried my eyes out from tiredness and disappointment then headed to bar [over priced] to get drunk.We decided to eat the waitresse was useless like 1/2 the staff there drinks that were ordered never came.
If it wasn't for the fact we had paid in full on booking and our daughters where arriving from London the following day we would have left.
We ended up leaving a day earlier as we couldnt stand stopping any longer.
The shower was filthy 4 hangers and 3 stupid wire framed drawers to put clothes in.
Breakfast was ok one member of staff needed a rocket up her backside the rest were very good but for some reason everthing was covered in black pepper corns not nice when you get one in your mouth so stuck to ceral orange out of cartons and by ene of week stomach had had enough so hit the milk.
All in all wouldnt stop there again and wouldn't advise anyone else to.
Oh one more thing they had a wedding there at the weekend we stopped as it turned out it didn't affect us but it would have been nice to have been told when booking.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marlow999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Overstone
1.7 mi away
Westone Manor Hotel
Westone Manor Hotel
#28 of 29 in Northampton
558 reviews
4.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
1.4 mi away
The World's End
The World's End
#1 of 1 in Ecton
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Northampton Round Spinney
4.5 mi away
Sedgebrook Hall
Sedgebrook Hall
#1 of 1 in Chapel Brampton
695 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overstone Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overstone Park Hotel

Property: Overstone Park Hotel
Address: Billing Lane, Overstone, Northampton NN6 0AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton > Overstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Overstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Overstone Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Overstone Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overstone Park Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing