We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not interesting”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Vermilionville

Vermilionville
Ranked #1 of 48 things to do in Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Get a taste of life for the 18th-century Acadian settlers in this 23-acre village with meticulously recreated period homes, costumed staff demonstrating arts and crafts and a restaurant serving Cajun and Creole food.
Montréal, Québec
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“not interesting”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

The less interesting thing that we did during our trip. We were almost along, we didn't learn anything. Not enough people talk french, so the kids can't understand. Very expensive for what it is.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank melia11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    193
    28
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erath, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesfood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I had a friend down from San. Antonio and he wanted to eat home cooked meal and sight see so thought of vermilinville which would kill 2 birds with 1 stone lol he loved it and the food definitely was home cooking. He loved the historical, quietness and beauty of this place

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Annette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We took a self-paced walking tour of the historic buildings and artisans of the area. All areas are handicap accessible. I was able to

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great way to spend a morning in Lafayette LA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Cool and pleasant even in late June. The older homes and gardens were amazing. The restaurant was good and very reasonable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing...living a part of history for a bit...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

My kids LOVED the Vermilionville. Walking the grounds and soaking in the history and learning about the culture was fascinating. My kids especially loved seeing the whittling, basket weaving, and eatching/listening to the beautiful music from the accordion instrument. They people are so friendly and informative. My kids actually stood for about 15 minutes just talking to and watching the lady doing the basket weaving.

Helpful?
1 Thank Camille C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vermilionville also viewed

Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 

Been to Vermilionville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing