We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Lafayette B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 July 2011

My husband & I spent 3 nights there.. A little romantic getaway for us. The setting was perfect. The place was clean & well-maintained. The food was extraordinary! The stories & jokes were fantastic! Pat & Maugie are wonderful people! They treat their guests like family, while still maintaining an aire of professionalism. We WILL be going back!!! And I recommend buying Mrs. Maugie's cookbook... It is, truly, a culinary treasure!!! 

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stitchwhirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
There are newer reviews for T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2011

As part of a two month driving tour of south east U S A we stayed two nights at T'Freres...and what a wonderful experience it turned out to be. The house is delightful southern style and beautifully furnished and the host family were delightful. As to the breakfasts...WOW. Our room was in the separate garconnierre and was very comfortable. The hosts helped us to enjoy our stay and arranged a superb swamp tour (highly recommended). Also don't miss nearby Randols restaurant with Cajun style food (the Tuna was the best I have experienced) and Cajun / Arcadian music. And great value for money. We can highly recommend T'Freres. Don't be put off by the fact that it is now on a fairly busy road. Once inside the compound you are in a different world.

R & J
Brisbane Australia

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maragani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We stayed in the bourre' , which was the outside room. It was peaceful and pretty and had a little sitting area outside the porch. Everything about our visit was above and beyond what we expected . You know how sometimes you read a review and you think " is that real?" and then you book it and wonder who wrote that review ? Well , this one actually is that good. The T ' juleps and the ooh la la breakfast are the signature offerings, but the longer you stay the more you realize how much this family cooperates to create a magical experience for their guests.
We felt like we were staying at a relatives house for the weekend . Thank you Pastor Family !

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanghus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tfreres, Owner at T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2011

awww.. thank you sooooo much!! we miss yall already!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This was a gem of a place if you like B&B's. The owners are perfect and appear to love to visit with you and make you feel like family. Don't miss the cocktail hour and a nightcap before heading for bed. We had the 2 room in the back in a small building. It was very quiet back there. We had our own patio and the cat was always at the door to greet us. The bathrooms were small and no place to set your toiletries, towels could be newer and less clutter in the rooms. Even with that said, I would stay here again. The owners are former restaurant owners so they know how to cook and make it taste good. There is plenty of parking. Also note that there is nothing in walking distance and located on a busy street but the town seems to be spread out and driving was the normal for Lafayette. You will come away feeling the southern hospitality. The Wi-Fi worked well.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tfreres, Owner at T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2011

mom kicked me because she was soo proud... You know how she lights up to compliments...

Thanks you for making us feel loved.. For sharing our cajun world... Come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

I stayed here with friends for one night on our way from Houston to New Orleans. Its quite something when you go in and see the decor of the place! its really beautiful inside and lovingly restored from when they bought it 18 years ago. despite all the antiques and memorabilia the place is very clean inside and light. Its got a great feel to it and all the guests mingled together due to the canapes and cocktails on the vernada when we arrived - this was great and made us feel very welcome and we learnt a lot about the house and surroundings. also the owners told us where to eat locally and other trips to make which helped a lot. the only thing I would say is that breakfast is early and there is no choice - the oh la la breakfast isnt what I would normally eat for breakfast but it was nice all the same and served in a fabulous room. another welcoming thing is that all the drinks in the fridge are for guests to help themselves to, including wine, much needed when its so warm there!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CRKSE4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We ended a our 10 Day Roadtrip from Jax, FLA here in Lafayette, La where our Daughter, Jenny and here Fiancee, Jessie live. Jenny recommended we stay @ T'Freres B & B, as she lives close to here.
As soon as we pulled in the Driveway, we knew we were in the right place!! The house was built in 1888, and were welcomed by our Hosts, Pat & Maugie Pastor...at the Door!! We were greeted with afternoon T'Julips and Canapes (YUMMEEE). After a tour of the House and property, we were shown our room, which was the Garden Room, Upstairs with a King Bed, it's own separate Bath and Porch that sat above the Living Room. This Place is Great!!! Old Acadiana!! Just the way I imagined!! Southern Hospitality, French Luzianna Style. The Breakfasts were to die for!! 1st day, Hotcake, stuffed with a delightful cream cheese and 3 types of Fruit topping. This is definitely a Mom & Pop operation, but with the Kids helping out from time to time.
We had 3 wonderful days here and our Hosts really gave us much more than a place to stay. They gave us a Cajun History that they are trying their best to retain!! They are certainly passing it on to their Children, as I came "home" one afternoon to find their youngest, John, cookin' in the Kitchen, practicing his Accordian!! Way Cool!! Cuz "Les Americans" are just on the North Side of I-10, and one thing that makes America Great are our individual Traditions!!! and our Liberties to keep them!!!!
So, Folks, come on down to T'Freres and get some Acadienne Culture. As soon as you get past Morgan City, you'll start hearing the Music on the Radio!! J' Amour Acadianna!!
Tom & Linda Metz
Oceanside, Calif

Room Tip: All rooms are on website. We like Garden Room
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomas420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Many people like this B&B and I can see why, but we didn't find it our cup of tea. We went for the Festival International in Lafayette which was wonderful as always, however it runs till 11PM so you wind up getting back close to midnight. Since it doesn't get going till noon, and there's not a lot to do in Lafayette before it opens, it would be perfect to sleep in and have a nice lazy morning in the lovely garden at the B&B.

The problem is that T'Frere's has a strict 8 AM breakfast policy, if you aren't at the table at 8 AM the management stands outside your room door ringing a bell and yelling at you through the door to get up. The breakfast itself was nothing special, rich, sweet and artificially flavored.

You may not find this an issue if you are early to bed early to rise, we found it outrageous and insulting and will certainly not be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NCARalph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tfreres, Owner at T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2011

Bonjour,

We are extreemly sorry that your stay here at T'Frere's was not up to your expectations. We always hope to leave visitors into Cajun country longing to return with stories of amazing good times and the love of the people that we share with our guests here at T''Freres House. We know that sometimes it may be inconvenient to guests to be served our Oooh! La! La Breakfast at 8 am. We feel that an 8 a.m. breakfast allows our guests to take in a full day of all the attractions of the area, as well as the festivals.
Our confirmations as well as sinage in the rooms clearly state that breakfast is at 8 a.m. Without any notice of wishing to sleep in, we have to assume that our guests are running late and need a wake up call. In southern traditions it would be rude to begin breakfast without all of our guests, thus the need to ring the bell.

Please know that we only want you to have the best expierence possible when coming to Cajun Country and again offer our apologies for ringing the bell, please forgive us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lafayette hotels
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lafayette-Airport, LA
4.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lafayette/Cajundome
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lafayette South at River Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lafayette
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lafayette North
6.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1905 Verot School Rd, Lafayette, LA 70508-6347
Region: United States > Louisiana > Lafayette Parish > Lafayette
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lafayette
Price Range: £111 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted Best of the Best in the South by AAA Southern Traveler Magazine 2011. The building itself was built by one of Acadiana's most famous settlers in 1880. It is a beautiful old Acadian home located right in the center of Lafayette, Louisiana. Here you will find true cajun hospitality and Free, Fresh Breakfasts every morning. Your stay includes Complimentary Cocktails and Appetizers upon check in, and complimentary breakfast, beverages and soft drinks during your entire stay. All rooms have private baths, cable television and wireless internet. We hope you visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
t`Frere`s Hotel Lafayette
t`Frere`s Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing