We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite place to stay ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Lafayette B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to stay ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We love Pat and Maugie and their delightful bed and breakfast. They make it so special and are such wonderful hosts. The breakfasts are fantastic, and a nice touch is a daily hospitality hour with delicious crab appetizers and their special refreshing tea cocktail. We have stayed at T'Frere's a number of times.

The rooms are beautifully decorated and comfortable, and the whole place is lovely and charming. Maugie and Pat do many special things for their guests, from recommending and helping with dinner reservations to helping guide you to interesting things to see and do in the area.

They are fun, gracious and warmhearted people it is a pleasure to know. We highly recommend this place, and it is a great value as well.

Merry and Charles Wise

Room Tip: The Mary room is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    41
    17
    12
    7
See reviews for
30
103
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

We first found T'Frere's listed in a Fodor's travel book 10 years ago and were charmed from the moment Maugie answered the phone ! We have stayed in many B&B's over the years but this was the best - warmth of family, ambience and wonderful food ! As that was our first time in the Lafayette area, we were guided to the most scenic, interesting and fun sites and activities, none of which were disappointing. This past May we planned a return trip with two other couples and again were welcomed with open arms. Room arrangements were adjusted to our needs, dietary restrictions were well accomodated and the hospitality was, once again, terrific. This time we got to enjoy an entertaining day on the river with son John too. Before our trip, we hosted a pre- trip planning meeting with our fellow travellers, and having purchased Maugie's cookbook on our first visit, we served one of her famous breakfasts to give them a sample of what they were going to experience ! They could hardly wait - and were just as impressed as we were with the whole T'Frere's experience. Wish we could get there more often !!

Room Tip: Be sure to request a first floor room if any physical handicaps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

We were just going to stay in a hotel and didn't like what we saw. Had literature from the LA Information House on the border and found the listing for T'Frere's. We had a beautiful room, a great breakfast and all sorts of info on the Cajun culture, resturants,and they set us up for a tour on Lake Martin and that was fabulous. We had time limitations, otherwise we would have gone on the extended tour with the owner's son and would have stayed another night. We will definitely be back and stay longer next time.

Room Tip: The street in front is a little noisy, so the back rooms are best for quiet nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

If you are in the Lafayette area as tourists, as we were, this is where you want to stay. Special place. Lots of Cajun charm and friendliness. Rooms are comfortable and atmospheric. Good home-cooked breakfasts. Owners are on-site and give good tips on what to see and do in the area. The area's chain motels are all the same, and you could be anywhere. At T'Frere's, you know you're in Cajun Country.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

There's a reason T'Frere's was voted the best B&B in the South. It is--from the moment one is enveloped in the elegant Old South ambience, to breakfasts that are even better than Brennan's in New Orleans, with fine china and sterling, served with warm and charming Cajun hospitality--it's a world class winner. T'Frere's has become a destination for us--we go there from San Diego several times a year and look forward to being welcomed and pampered by owners Maugie, Pat and John Pastor.

While you're there, be sure to take the Pastor Brothers Cajun Excursions with singing and storytelling by young John Pastor for a fascinating view of Lafayette bayous and mansions along the river not seen from the streets.

Room Tip: We always stay in the Louisiana Room on the first floor overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mililanimy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

We have a lovely stay at T'Frere's with our 3 children. The hosts couldn't have been more gracious; they both came from big families and therefore were esp sweet with the kids, which always makes it better for the parents :) Beds were comfy, food was great. We'd definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretGStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niwot, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Pat, Maugie and John act as wonderful and helpful hosts at this charming B and B. Maugie's breakfasts are not to be missed, unless you want to avoid weight gain on your trip. The combination of ghost stories, specially made T'Juleps in the afternoon and some wonderful cajun humor and friendliness add just the right touch of quirkiness to the stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FryitzLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lafayette hotels
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lafayette
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 49 in Lafayette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lafayette-Airport, LA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lafayette South at River Ranch
4.2 mi away
Juliet Hotel
Juliet Hotel
#24 of 49 in Lafayette
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lafayette/Cajundome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast

Property: T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1905 Verot School Rd, Lafayette, LA 70508-6347
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Lafayette Parish > Lafayette
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted Best of the Best in the South by AAA Southern Traveler Magazine 2011. The building itself was built by one of Acadiana's most famous settlers in 1880. It is a beautiful old Acadian home located right in the center of Lafayette, Louisiana. Here you will find true cajun hospitality and Free, Fresh Breakfasts every morning. Your stay includes Complimentary Cocktails and Appetizers upon check in, and complimentary breakfast, beverages and soft drinks during your entire stay. All rooms have private baths, cable television and wireless internet. We hope you visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
t`Frere`s Bed And Breakfast
t`Frere`s Hotel Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing