We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cajun hospitality at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Lafayette B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 March 2008

My husband and I have just returned from five days in Cajun country - two miserable nights spent at Cajun Cabins in Breaux Bridge, and three delightful nights spent here. Talk about night and day!

Maugie, Pat and son John are perfect hosts. They are hospitable, helpful and professional, and the facility is beautifully and immaculately maintained. All three of them have the ability to know when guests want to chat, and when to leave them alone. Your stay here revolves around your needs, not theirs.

When you come for T'Julips and canapes in the afternoon, they will help you choose where to eat that evening based on the kind of food and experience you're looking for, then make reservations for you. They also make sure your days spent in Cajun country live up to your expectations and supply you with whatever information, directions, reservations or literature you need to make them enjoyable. And they genuinely are interested in hearing about your experiences at the places you've eaten and seen.

Breakfasts are different and wonderful, and getting to meet and chat with other guests at the breakfast table is enjoyable. I must admit, I've always stuck my nose up at "semi home cooking" until experiencing T'Frere's breakfasts. I'll never attempt to make a pancake from scratch again!

We stayed in the Bourree Room... it was comfy, spacious and quiet (even with neighbors next door.) I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this room with its comfy king bed!

Would I stay here again? Definitely, yes! This place is a bargain at twice the price! Frommer's review summed it up best... Just stay here, okay?

If like us, you want to spend a few days getting to know Cajun country and experience the best of Cajun hospitality, you can do it all from Lafayette and T'Frere's. If we had realized how centrally located Lafayette is, and how delightful T'Frere's would be, we could have saved ourselves a couple of miserable nights elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Sacramento_Sunspots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2008

We arrived at the B&B after 6 pm, so did not get to sample their evening snacks and drinks. Since it was after 6 pm, we were told that an envelope with the key to our room and other information would be in the mailbox waiting for us, which it was. I had trouble opening the door, but not with the key. The front door sticks badly and one really has to push or pull to get it open. Once inside, the B&B looked pleasant enough. Our room was the Garden Room, upstairs. The stairway to upstairs was tiny and narrow - hauling our luggage up and down the stairs was quite an experience. Our room was lovely, and the king sized bed was comfortable, but the room needs to be refreshed - peeling wallpaper. The bathroom was down the hall - not a far walk, but outside of the room nevertheless. Thankfully, no one was staying in the other room. O.K., the bathroom - the door locks with just a latch, and did not stay closed without it; peeling wallpaper, very tiny sink and no room to put your toiletries. The bathroom has a door that leads out to a balcony. It was storming the night we arrived and a little rain came into the bathroom through the balcony door.
On a more positive side, even though the B&B was close to a busy road, it was quiet inside our room, and we did have a good night's sleep, and there is plenty of paved parking. One thing that kind of irked me was that the next morning we were getting dressed and didn't make it down for breakfast at exactly 8:00, although we were in the process of getting dressed, someone came upstairs ringing a bell to let us know breakfast was served. Breakfast - a mixed fruit cup, 3 pancakes split in half and stuffed with creme cheese and served with 3 types of warm fruit compote on top of each, 2 slices of bacon, orange juice and coffee. It was good, but that's way too much sugar and way too much food for me that early in the morning. Also, checkout is at 10 am so be prepared to hustle after eating breakfast. All in all, we had a pleasant stay, but it did not have the wow factor for me that all of the websites talk about -perhaps in an earlier time...... We'll have to stay once more to see if things are any different the 2nd time around.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank cajunintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2008

An absolutely georgous home!! The rooms are wonderfully comfortable. We had the upstairs Garden room with exceptionally comfortable king bed (and in many B&B's, a king is not to be found). (there is also a room with 2 queens - and that, too, is not common -- two non-couple friends can comfortably stay here)

Upon arrival Maugie and Pat greeted us with open arms and sat us down on a lovely enclosed porch with cocktails and goodies, along with good conversation. They have wonderful guests, and the atmosphere is very congenial. Good referrals to dinners as well.

Breakfast was wonderful. They can handle up to 16, which is a lot for a B&B, but as they say -- after a 275 seat restaurant, 16 is nothing. The whole family gets involved in making sure everything is just perfect.

This is indeed a wonderful experience!!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank patiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tfreres, Owner at T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2011

Thank you for your time shared here with us in cajun country!! We hope you return home with the joi de vivre that is so contageous and heart warming. If daddy didn't give you a hug on your way out or mom didn't wave and tell you she loved you or you didn't hear me play my accordion for you, hopefully this message will reach you and give you a smile. Bringing you back to our great times together, or some wonderful memory of true cajun life..

Merci!!

Pat, Maugie and John Pastor
Innkeepers Extrordinaire!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2007

I stayed here for a conference that began early in the morning. The owners were charming and lovely, greeting my arrival with a special welcome drink and recommending places to eat and enjoy some Cajun music. They were completely willing to serve my breakfast a little early for me to attend my meeting. My room was adorable with antique furniture and a cute clawfoot tub in the bath.

The only negative point was that the room next to mine had 2 very noisy women who got up at 5am and their conversation just ruined the last two hours of my sleep! Oh, well. All in all, it was a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lasfloras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tfreres, Owner at T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2011

Thank you for your time shared here with us in cajun country!! We hope you return home with the joi de vivre that is so contageous and heart warming. If daddy didn't give you a hug on your way out or mom didn't wave and tell you she loved you or you didn't hear me play my accordion for you, hopefully this message will reach you and give you a smile. Bringing you back to our great times together, or some wonderful memory of true cajun life..

Merci!!

Pat, Maugie and John Pastor
Innkeepers Extrordinaire!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2007

My husband, son and I just returned from spending three amazing nights at Pat and Maugie's Bed and Breakfast – Aaah! T’Freres. From the moment you meet Maugie and Pat, you feel like a part of their family. Their home is magnificent and the Garconniere, where we stayed, is a cozy, private cottage with two bedrooms (the Fais Do Do and the Bourree Rooms).

Breakfast is beautifully presented and served. But the best part of breakfast, of course, was the delicious food. We stayed for three nights and thus, got the great pleasure of trying three different scrumptious breakfasts! Each meal was completely unique and equally satisfying.

The Welcome T’Juleps and Cajun Canapés were a lovely and yummy part of each day – a time to socialize with other guests and the innkeepers. We got restaurant ideas and good feedback on area activities like the incredible swamp tour. Pat and Maugie didn’t just tell us about restaurants – they had the menus there for us to review. Once we decided where we wanted to go, they would not only make reservations for us but they would give us a map with the route marked!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank EllenAdena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2006

The OOH LA LA is what they call-Frozen pancakes, and artificial fruit is not my idea of a gourmet cajun breakfast, about the only edible food we had for breakfast was microwaveable bacon. That is why we decided to name this experience OOOH!!!! POO-POO!!!!!!!! Maybe the ghost of T' Frere's prepared the food that morning..

Stayed: November 2006
3  Thank shakta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tfreres, Owner at T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2011

Thank you for your time shared here with us in cajun country!! We hope you return home with the joi de vivre that is so contageous and heart warming. If daddy didn't give you a hug on your way out or mom didn't wave and tell you she loved you or you didn't hear me play my accordion for you, hopefully this message will reach you and give you a smile. Bringing you back to our great times together, or some wonderful memory of true cajun life..

Merci!!

Pat, Maugie and John Pastor
Innkeepers Extrordinaire!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2006

Friendly innkeepers with good advice on local restaurants and activities; rooms OK but could be cleaner (mildew on shower curtain); breakfasts reasonably tasty, but not made from scratch (frozen pancakes and cool whip, according to their own cookbook!)

  • Stayed: February 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sasthije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lafayette
4.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lafayette/Cajundome
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lafayette-Airport, LA
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Parc Lafayette
5 mi away
Mouton Plantation Bed & Breakfast
4.7 mi away
Louisiana Cajun Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1905 Verot School Rd, Lafayette, LA 70508-6347
Region: United States > Louisiana > Lafayette Parish > Lafayette
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lafayette
Price Range: £64 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted Best of the Best in the South by AAA Southern Traveler Magazine 2011. The building itself was built by one of Acadiana's most famous settlers in 1880. It is a beautiful old Acadian home located right in the center of Lafayette, Louisiana. Here you will find true cajun hospitality and Free, Fresh Breakfasts every morning. Your stay includes Complimentary Cocktails and Appetizers upon check in, and complimentary breakfast, beverages and soft drinks during your entire stay. All rooms have private baths, cable television and wireless internet. We hope you visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
t`Frere`s Hotel Lafayette
t`Frere`s Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing