We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow- Place Was Packed”

Marcello's Wine Market Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Marcello's Wine Market Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 568 Restaurants in Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Wow- Place Was Packed”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We had an hour wait, not happy about that but in the scope of things it was worth the wait. The food was outstanding and the wait staff was world class. Expect a wait, but worth it!

Helpful?
Thank Kwajkid007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    25
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Abbeville, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“5 star dining experience”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Fortunate for our group we arrived early enough to get the last 6 person table. From that point onward for the next two hours we dined on outstanding dishes. The veal marsala was outstanding as was the grilled tuna and both dishes were enough to take home some food.
Service was personal and professional and the appetizers, entrée, desert, sazeracs, wine, coffee were all memorable.
If there is any question about this being a popular place now, we sat at 6pm and left at 8pm and at that time it was standing room only within 5' deep all around the bar.
It was too long since Ive been there, but this dinner gives me reason to come back soon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bradbrou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love the Atmosphere and Food”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We ate here twice in December and both times we were super pleased with the food and the service. Our waiter was very helpful in making entree choices. This is one of our favorite restaurants in Lafayette and we love the atmosphere. Can't wait to return!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wcamry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“consistently good Italian food in lafayette”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I've been to Marcellos many times, for a myriad of events and family dinners. It has excellent choices of well made traditional italian food choices, thankfully, without trying to add the cajun touch. Nothing over inventive here, mostly yummy comfort food. The restaurant feels like a wine cellar, as you are surrounded by hundreds of wine options, which you can chose and open there, for only a $10 corkage fee. Or you can bring your own wine choices. Portions are plentiful and they offer half portion options. Don't miss the Mussels and the Shrimp Pepita, both my favs.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank philip g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandeville, LA
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lost a step”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

While traveling in the Lafayette area every 4- 6 weeks, we try to visit some of the better restaurants in this area. In the past, Marcello's has never failed to impress and we usually cannot wait to return. However, this past week the meal was mediocre meal at best.

After being seated promptly, we were greeted by a waiter who reeked of smoke and basically was a walking ash tray. After receiving a few recommendations from Mr. Smokey, we opted for the Bresaola appetizer which was basically some thinly sliced cured meat served similar to Carpaccio (I wish it was). I would give this a 5 out of 10. We both opted for the Italian salad which was basically some greens with some Sysco institutional olive salad dumped on it.

Finally, we both tried fish dishes. The Fish Limone was actually pretty good but was swimming in bit too much of the Buerre Blanc sauce for my liking. The Salmon was over cooked and dry.

Maybe it was just an off night for the crew, but I think I will wait a while before trying this place again. Mr. Smokey needs to stand in the wind to "air our" after lighting up!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank northshorefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marcello's Wine Market Cafe also viewed

Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 

Been to Marcello's Wine Market Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing