We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in an unlikely spot!”
Review of The French Press

The French Press
Ranked #12 of 568 Restaurants in Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: This is a new restaurant that opened the first week of 2010.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“A gem in an unlikely spot!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The food was perfect...wait staff very accommodating...atmosphere just what i had envisioned for a laid back bistro. Only one comment to improve. With the architecture of the building concrete floors..are perfect! Not so much when you are trying to eat and the table is wobbly sooo bad your coffee is jockeying round in the cup. Ours was not the only table this was an issue. The poor staff was trying to play table repair crew, instead of waiting on the guest. This is a management issue not a staff issue!
LOVE the concept and really a great location. Well done with the menu...
Tres BON

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ELSIEB-GOT2BGOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    72
    25
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome breakfast”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Food great. Service great. Atmosphere great. What more could you want. All 6 if us left super satisfied. Definitely a winner

Helpful?
Thank karmadesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“MY EARS TOOK A BEATING”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was my first trip to The French Press and I was looking forward to lunch. The place is cool and well decorated. All of the tables were filled and we had to wait a short time for a table. The hostess was very nice and brought a couple of chairs out to us so we could sit while waiting. We got to the table and quit talking because yelling is not our style; however I did find out many interesting things (TMI) about the two couples next to us. They did like yelling above the noise. The food was very good; but the service from our server was poor. Recommendations: Do something about the extreme noise and train the servers. Hope it gets better.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BisousRoRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Spectacular Saturday Lunch”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Situated in downtown Lafayette The French Press can be somewhat of a 'see and be seen' place that happens to have great food. Saturday about noon one can expect a wait. However today we noticed two seats open at the bar and snagged them. Watching the mixologists/servers working behind the bar was highly entertaining but also showed us that these folks know what they're doing. The Bloody Marys looked great. My Mimosa (w/pineapple juice) was fresh and refreshing. They also serve locally brewed beers that are hard to get in other parts of the state. Breakfast was still being served and it is not to be missed.But we went straight for the lunch menu. The folks behind the bar were friendly and helpful when it came to lunch suggestions. I had the shrimp and avocado salad and my partner had the much heralded burger w/truffle fries and aoli. My salad had a remoulade dressing and it was excellent, but hands down my husband's burger took the prize. It is in our top three favorite burger list. A half pound of freshly ground beef, grilled to a perfect medium rare, topped w/cane cured bacon, a fried egg (!), and the usuals. The bun was fresh and held up to the giant burger. The aoli fries were freshcut and oh so good. The service at the bar was attentive and we had a great view of the restaurant since we were in bistro chairs. It felt roomier than being among the tables. This is a great special occasion place...or a just because dining out experience. Cocktails w/inventive appetizers or great desserts would be perfect as well. They also have a nice size event room next door. Will be going back soon. I want the chicken and waffles!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HebbieDacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fincastle, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Casual lunch”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Very nice place for a casual business lunch with 4 people. Service was quite good, there were no questions unanswered and plenty of time for menu choices.
The fried oyster and two sauces we had as an appetizer were good.

The tomato bisque is fantastic, rich creamy and delicious. I had the shrimp and avocado salad to go with it and it was also quite enjoyable.

Portion size was more than ample for a lunch, but if you double up beware. A cup of soup is not really an accurate description, the portion is much larger than that. And a bowl is huge, neither of which are a bad thing.

Would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The French Press also viewed

Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 

Been to The French Press? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing