We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great breakfast”
Review of The French Press

The French Press
Ranked #11 of 568 Restaurants in Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: This is a new restaurant that opened the first week of 2010.
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“great breakfast”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent food in cajun style. Don't make the mistake to choose something similar to the plain american breakfast but follow the waiter advice (especially tim is very nice). t

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank intero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    72
    25
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cajun Benedict”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Not sure I need to say more... That dish is the epitome of what the Louisiana culinary scene is all about. We arrived at 9:15 on Sunday and were seated right away. The place has a wonderful atmosphere and the staff is welcoming. The only negative comment was that we had to wait 40 minutes to get our food once we placed our order. But when it arrived... YUM!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank lhot234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, LA
1 review
“4 stars for atmosphere, above all.”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I came here for brunch expecting a very eclectic, artsy vibe, and that's exactly what I got. This place is the epitome of cool. While the aesthetics definitely did not disappoint, the food somewhat did. However, I know that I am not the correct person to judge. Personally, I prefer a more traditional breakfast, diner style. The French Press gives a very unique and authentic take to breakfast, that I'm sure most people would very much appreciate. The service could be improved, but I will cut some slack, considering it was a very busy Sunday morning. Overall, I would definitely come back again, with guests, of course. If not for the food, then for the Instagram worthy pictures.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WaterNoLemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan City, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Went for breakfast, loved it. Biscuits with boudin, can't beat it! Very unique menu and everyone enjoyed their food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ladytiger8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Six friends and I had Sunday breakfast. Our server was knowledgeable, efficient and friendly. I like the atmosphere of the restaurant. My choice today was French toast with cream cheese and bananas topped with berry-champagne compote. I added scrambled eggs and sausage. Everything was served just as I ordered it. My Coke glass was filled as necessary. Very impressed and I will return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2cajuntravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The French Press also viewed

Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 

Been to The French Press? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing