We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This food makes me wish I lived in Lafayette!”

Johnson's Boucaniere
Ranked #14 of 564 Restaurants in Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Johnson's Boucaniere continues the Johnson family tradition of making Boudin, sausages, and tasso's once sold at the original Johnson's Grocery (since 1937. Add to that outstanding smoked pulled pork, brisket, and chicken and other smoked meats and charcuterie. Wonderful service and quality of food. A must for any Cajun or BBQ foodie.
TN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“This food makes me wish I lived in Lafayette!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

This food has to be eaten to be believed! My husband and I both agree that of any trip we've ever taken, the best food was in Louisiana, and Johnson's was the best we had in Lafayette. We ate here both days we were in town, and would have eaten once more if they were open on Sunday, the day we left (everyone needs at least one day off, though, right?). We ate po boys (garlic sausage and smoked brisket) and the meat was so tender and seasoned just perfectly- the bread was wonderful also. We had heard of boudin and the guy (very friendly) who took our order gave us a sample to try- needless to say we liked it so much we ordered that too. The next day we tried the bbq plate lunch (again, fantastic!) - they offer either one rib or two and unless you're starving or have a pretty big appetite, the one rib was enough for us (you also get two sides with your meal). The prices are very reasonable and the quality of the food is outstanding. They offer several cold drinks, but we tried the Swamp Pop bottled drinks and liked those, too (for those who don't live where you can buy Swamp Pop readily, World Market sells them seasonally). When we go back to La we'll definitely be stopping at Johnson's again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank whmb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    28
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Go to this place. There is nothing much more to say than this was some of the best food I have ever had. Check this place out if you are in Lafayette!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank klafs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Boudin and smoked meats on the porch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Recommended to visit here for smoked meat , BBQ lunch by our innkeeper and it didn't disappoint. Family run business and what you smell ( delicious ) is what it tastes like. We had smoked brisket sandwich, boudin special and smoked chicken salad. Best described as fast food cafe / take away . We left very happy and happy to recommend it to anyone for a lunch / sandwich.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vari D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
153 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stopped here mid afternoon, after having missed lunch. We had gumbo, rib sandwiches, boudin, and bread pudding for desert. All was very good, and we'll we stopping here again.' They don't have indoor dining , but a nice gallery with picnic tables, so it'll be best to go when the weather is nice. And they don't have beer to go with their great food, that sometimes calls for a beer, but they suggest you bring your own. We can't wait to try some of their other dishes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gooseview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
118 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Husband and I ate here on a Thursday around 5. It was easy to get to and easy to find! We went inside ordered pulled pork and begnaud special. We tried two new drinks from "Swamp Pop" Praline Cream Soda and Tangerine Soda. The food was delicious and filling and the drinks were great!! When I'm in the area again this will definitely be on the itinerary.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Johnson's Boucaniere also viewed

Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 

Been to Johnson's Boucaniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing