We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We honestly did not know what to expect since our family had never visited the Lafayette area before. I can honestly say we were taken by surprise by the cleanliness and quality of the room and facilities. Everything was neat and well kept. The hospitality and friendliness of the employees was second to none. The breakfast served was also a plus. We will be visiting the area again soon and have plans to book this hotel again.

Room Tip: There are 4 in our family, so the 2 queen beds worked out excellent for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMichael4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
afgros59, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Happy New Year SMichael4! Thank you for taking time out to share your comments regarding your stay! We hope that you felt like family during your stay and we look forward to your future visits to Lafayette!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    61
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
94
69
11
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Opelousas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2012

The staff at the hotel are very nice. They help you out any way that they can and always keep a smile on their faces and greet people. The rooms are nice as well. I love their amenities. They offer complimentary dvd players and movies to rent during your stay. They also have recreation time on Wednesday evenings from 5-7 that offer complimentary drinks and appetizers. Overall, me and my husband enjoyed our stay here. They're awesome!!

Room Tip: Request rooms with a great window view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
afgros59, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 23 December 2012
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I have shared your feedback with my staff. We appreciate your comments and look forward to providing excellent customer service for you every time you stay with us! Happy Holidays - see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

So I really only have one complaint in this review so I will go over the good things first.

Upon arrival at Lafayette airport I called for shuttle service. Unfortunately they couldnt arrange short term service which I was fine with. The hotel offered to call a cab and I accepted. No big deal. If you need to use the shuttle simply make a reservation at the front desk which I did for my return to Lafayette airport a week later.

As anyone who reads my reviews would know one of the first things I check for upon entering a suite is connectivity. Ive said it through most of my past reviews. In this world of smartphones, tablets, laptops, e-readers and so on it is very important to someone like myself who travels 3/4 of the year for business purposes. This was my first stay at a CS and I was very pleased to see the amount of available outlets and the recharge device at the desk with 2 usb ports and 3 ac outlets. Now I dont use my desk often as I use my phone as my alarm clock so I proceeded to the nightstand and thankfully noticed the lamp with the extra ac outlets. Why cant all hotels use these?

So right off the start I was pretty happy. I stayed here for a week and continued to be pleased with the courtesy and willingness to help by the staff. They called my room several minutes after I checked in to see if the room was ok. Which it was flawless.

After a long day of flying from Pennsylvania to Louisiana with several flight changes all I wanted to do was hop in the shower and lay down. Again, the bathroom was well laid out. Shower pressure and water temps were good.

As far as the bedding goes this was the only issue for me. The bed itself was ok, for a new hotel it seemed awful soft to me but I sleep on an xtra firm mattress at home so they all do. But my biggest and only true gripe about this hotel was the pillows. These were some of the worst I have ever slept on, i mean really these were pretty bad. The offer no support at all and I woke up most every day with a head/neck ache until I changed my sleeping position to accomodate for the lack of a good pillow. Also one thing that peeves me and if the management reads this I urge you to inform your staff of this. I know you have policies for redressing a suite. But if I take the comforter off the bed, fold it up and place it in the closet please do not put this back on the bed. I put it away for a reason and that is I understand how often these are cleaned which can range from weeks to 2 months depending on the hotel chain. It would be different if I had it laying on the floor or something but put away in the closet should trigger the notion I dont want it on the bed.

As far as hosuekeeping goes, they did a very nice job. My room was fresh and clean every day. I saw someone else complain about the air freshener. I was pleased by it and it was nice to walk into a suite that actually smelled fresh.

Breakfast was essentially the same as all other choice hotels. Waffle iron, eggs, a meat product, biscuits and gravy as well as an assortment of cereal, breads, yogurt, etc. I do have to say though the turkey sausage is just nasty. Stick with the patties. :)

All in all I really have no gripes other than the pillows. I was very pleased overall with the room and would stay here again without cause for concern.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davebressi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
afgros59, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Thank you for your honest review. Based on your comments about the pillows, I will purchase a few firmer pillows to keep in housekeeping for guests who prefer a more substantial pillow such as yourself. I appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebo
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

As a tour director, I was at this facility with our group on October 6 & 7. We were warmly greeted, luggage was quickly delivered to our rooms, and the rooms were very nice! Every one of the tour group members was very complimentary of their rooms...no complaints at all.

Only small issue was Sunday morning breakfast. It did not seem like they were quite ready and it took them a while to get ready. Monday morning's experience was much better!

Really a delightful say! Thanks to everyone at the facility for an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHazen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
afgros59, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
We enjoyed hosting you and your group. I apologize that we were a little behind the 8 ball for breakfast your first morning with us and am happy we made the adjustment on your second day! We strive to provide exceptional service every day and look forward to your future stays with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOUSTON,TEXAS
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Pros: very clean, almost no damage to carpet, furniture, curtains, etc.
very quiet, reasonable price
Cons:Second bed is VERY close to the a.c. vent.

This is a relatively new facility but still appears to be pristine. Good location away from traffic.
A great deal for the $.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katmelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
afgros59, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding the location of the AC unit to the bed. We are working on finding a solution to that dilema and I appreciate you bringing that to our attention. We hope to see you again when you are visiting the Lafayette!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We only had one night at this hotel unfortunately. They welcomed us with nibbles and wine/beer and soft drinks which was a lovely gesture. The staff and manager were very helpful and hospitable. The room was great - the most spacious we had on tour. The hotel is only 12 months old and everything looks like new. The beds were a little high but ever so comfortable.The breakfast was also good. Unfortunately being on a coach tour we were unable to use the pool as our time was limited. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southernpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
afgros59, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thank you for your review! We really enjoyed hosting you and your group. We love to greet our groups with an individualized welcome reception and enjoy meeting people from all over the world! Maybe your next trip will be a little longer and you will have that opportunity to enjoy our pool area. Hope to see you again and happy travels to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleburne, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2012

This hotel is an example of how, despite doing many things well, failing to deliver on just one critical item can ruin a guest's experience.

I booked this hotel based upon the many positive reviews posted here. My stay was short, only six hours. I stayed here to take a rest break on a trip: from midnight to 6AM. Here begins my tale of woe...

Upon entering the room, I found that it had a strong odor of some chemical air freshener. As I was tired, and only planned to be there for a few hours, I decided to live with the annoying odor. Sadly, about 1:30 AM I awoke feeling nauseous from the smell. I called the front desk and asked for another room, which they provided. It had a similar odor, but not as strong, so I changed rooms (at about 1:45AM). Rest was apparently not for me this night, as I awoke again from the odor at about 3AM. I again called the front desk, hoping to find some relief, but none was forthcoming.

I made it through a fitful night, getting very little sleep. At checkout, I spoke with a different person, calling their attention to the difficulties I had experienced with the chemicals they spray into their rooms. She commented, " You must have been allergic.." and said, unconvincingly, "I'm sorry." No further concern was evidenced.

My experience was particularly disappointing, as this chain makes a big deal of providing 'non-smoking' rooms, going so far as to post signs boasting about the indoor air quality of their rooms. Here's a news flash: good indoor air quality means NO odors, not only should it be free of cigarette smoke, but also free of other chemical odors!

To be fair, the hotel was fine in all other respects. The rooms were clean and well-appointed, the property was well-kept, parking was readily available, the beds were comfortable (I got to try two, remember?), the pillows were nice, etc. However, the one thing they got wrong ruined my stay BECAUSE I DID NOT GET A GOOD NIGHT'S SLEEP!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
afgros59, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Dear ddthomas,
I am so sorry that your experienence during your recent stay did not live up to your expectations.
We use a national chemical company for all of our cleaning products and I know that some people are a more sensative to those odors than others. I have shared your experience with my housekeeping staff and have asked them to limit their use of our air freshner in the rooms because of the sensitivity to some of our guests such as yourself. I am sorry that my front desk associate was not more helpful in solving your issue. I would love the opportunity to serve you in the future if you give us the opportunity. We appreciate your business and want to see you back again.If you would like to discuss your stay with me, please feel free to call on me at any time at 337-456-8390.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lafayette hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lafayette
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lafayette-Airport, LA
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lafayette/Cajundome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lafayette South
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Lafayette-Airport
0.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lafayette Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 114 Rue Fernand, Lafayette, LA 70508-3718
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Lafayette Parish > Lafayette
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW 80 room all-suite property located in the Heart of Acadiana, featuring one king bed or two queen beds plus additional queen sleeper-sofa. All rooms offer microwave, refrigerator, iron/ironing board, coffeemaker, and hairdryer. Free full hot buffet breakfast. Beautiful outdoor pool with gazebo and gas grill, guest laundry facilities, exercise room, business center and meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing