We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don's has been around for decades but just isn't like it was in the past.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Don's Seafood and Steakhouse

Don's Seafood and Steakhouse
Ranked #58 of 557 Restaurants in Lafayette
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
170 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Don's has been around for decades but just isn't like it was in the past.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

I have known Don's since I was a young boy in Lafayette. Whenever we visit my mom in Lafayette we normally have a meal at Don's.
However, the food and service is not what it was in the past. The gumbo was just barely warm, but tasty. The fried shrimp were good. The fried crawfish were a bit oily. We ordered hush puppies as soon as we sat down, repeated the requests twice and they finally showed up half way through the meal! The waitress (Grissom) was not terribly efficient and she was trying to train a young new waiter but they were not attentive to our needs and requests in a timely manner.
They need to return to the old days both in food and service.
Don's is a good restaurant but not like it was in the past.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 7727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    29
    35
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not overly impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Big place, overly lit, frequented by locals, and very 60s in style. Seven types of shrimp was okay but several varieties are deep fried. And some shrimps were definitely luke warm not hot. As was the gumbo. Service was fine. But certainly far from the best meal we had travelling through 6 southern states.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CaMeredith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average experience at Don's Seafood and Steakhouse”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

I had a gumbo as a starter which was good. For my main I had a sampler plate with crawfish étouffée. It unfortunately was Luke warm. Prices were not cheap, I would look to try somewhere else before going back. Service was fine, no complaints there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyTejas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

They food and the wait staff is always on top of there game at this restaurant. I definitely recommend this place to eat.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank April D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LAFAYETTE
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Poor service, food subpar”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Took a visiting relative in. Waiter delivered poor service. Relative let me try his leftovers. Full of crab and tons of shells...not just a few. Called next morning and left message for manager and left specific complaint about the shells so as they would not serve others that. I was nice. Never got a call back. There are too many good restaurants in Lafayette to tolerate that.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MsPeggySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Don's Seafood and Steakhouse also viewed

Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 

Been to Don's Seafood and Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing