We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The coffee here saved us!”

Carpe Diem! Gelato-Espresso Bar
Ranked #1 of 5 Coffee & Tea in Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The coffee here saved us!”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My partner is a self-declared coffee snob, so arriving here from Texas after a week on the road was like arriving at the Emerald City. The service was great, the staff were helpful with advice about things to do locally, and the barista was truly committed to his craft. We thoroughly recommend this place.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    18
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

When your downtown don't miss out on this great little coffee shop. The gelato is superb and they have many flavors to choose from. I love the hazelnut. Starts at $3.60 a cup. Also delightful pastries to please the palate.(Cannoli,etc) Small place. Seating is limited to a few tables inside (5 I think) plus some outdoor seating (2-3 tables maybe).WiFi. Across from the old City Hall building and statue. Parking is on the street and metered between 9 and 5. Closed on Monday.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bonappettit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good coffee and snacks”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

This little coffee shop in central Lafayette does surprisingly good coffee. There is wifi and the staff are pleasant and helpful.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DevilsAdvocate028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very tasty gelato!”
Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed this place. It's always crowded when we go but I can see why. Service is mediocre....it's hit or miss and sometimes they aren't friendly especially when we ask questions about the gelato, but we go for the dessert not service anyhow. Overall awesome place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AliB201283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good but could be much better”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Tasty and very good location which brings life to the old downtown area. After having had gelato in several Italian cities and other parts of Europe this place is good but still has some work to do.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carpe Diem! Gelato-Espresso Bar also viewed

Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 

Been to Carpe Diem! Gelato-Espresso Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing