We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Lafayette
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence
Bethlehem, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Smelly place to stay”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The room smelled of stale smoke and the extra linens smelled as well. The bathroom smelled of urine. We asked to be moved to another room but none was available. We were leaving very early in the morning and we used points to stay here so we had no options of going else where. Stay elsewhere....

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Nanette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    93
    65
    36
    13
See reviews for
116
87
11
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Absolutely shocking.

Long post involving a toenail clipping, urine, and blood stains; please read and consider before booking.

I normally love Hampton Inn. I'm a Hilton Honors member, and have stayed with the chain for years, over many different hotels in many different cities. I've come to expect a level of comfort and cleanliness that Hampton Inn prides itself on, and heavily advertises, such as the "OMG - TBISC" (Oh My Gosh - This Bed Is So Clean) giant ads in the elevators.

2 week road trip with the family. Stayed at the Hampton Inn in Fort Stockton, no problem. 6 nights at the Austin / Oak Hills Hampton Inn. Beautiful. So we packed up the kids, and drove to this property, arriving a little after 9pm on Monday, April 8, 2013. Sonia was working the desk. Asked her for a room on the 4th (top) floor. She worked the computer and after a bit of time, I was rewarded with room 424. Lobby area seemed clean. I had been awake since 5:21 am, and was ready to jump into my clean bed and get some well deserved sleep. The wife and kids (ages 12, 10, and 5) went to the room while I began to unpack the family truckster.

I proceeded to my room on the 4th floor. I noticed the property seemed to be showing some age, and seemed a bit shabby and tired looking. As soon as I got to the room, one look at my wife's face and I knew there was trouble. Crystallized urine on the toilet seat hinge. One duvet was ink stained, the other had some mystery substance smeared on it. Room seemed in need of an update - badly. So, my wife goes to put her purse down between the bed and nightstand. There, on the carpet in the open, was a huge toenail clipping... gross! My wife wanted another room.

I went down and asked for another room and told Sonia what we had found. She was apologetic, and soon gave me the "keys" to room 325. I told my wife to go take a look before I started moving everything. She came back and said room 325 was even worse, with cracked and moldy caulking in the bathroom, torn shower curtain, and dirty carpet. So it was decision time: do we stay, or go? My wife ultimately decided to stay. Another employee (young female African-American, never got her name) had come up to room 424 with an antiquated vacuum and some cleaning supplies to clean the room. I was told they had no one in housekeeping. The vacuum cleaner didn't work, so she got an older looking one and fired it up. A distinct cloud of dust poofed out of the collection bag, suspending particles of other people's detritus in the air for us to inhale or settle upon the room's surfaces.

My wife looked resigned. She asked about the smeared substance on the duvet. She was told it was super glue. Evidently, the cover had been cut / abraded and suoer glue was used to prevent more fraying. My wife pulled the duvet back, and immediately said in a loud voice "We're not staying!" and walked out of the room. I went over to take a look. Blood stains on the lower mattress cover and bed skirt.

For the first time in over 25 years of travelling, I walked out of a confirmed reservation, to take my chances somewhere else. With 3 grumpy, tired kids, and a grossed out wife.

How is this possible at a Hampton Inn...? What happened to standards of cleanliness? Can't blame a property's age... I've stayed at a few properties over 100 years old that were clean and elegant, and inviting. If the room looks like this, I can imagine what breakfast and the prep area must be like. Someone should be fired, and someone who actually cares needs to step in and make changes. Hilton should sell this property - fast. I've seen better and cleaner rooms at a cheap motel. Don't ask how I know.

I kinda laughed on the way out, as the elevator door closed and I was confronted with the giant advertisement about the clean beds.

Note to any film students in the Lafayette area: If your movie needs a seedy, depressing, dingy hotel scene, get your cameras to the 4th floor of this Hampton Inn, and rent room 424. Roll sound, roll film.... ACTION !

Ended up around the corner at the Homewood Suites - excellent, clean, non-blood-stained room, without toenail clippings or urine stains.

Room Tip: Shockingly dirty room with blood stained bed skirt and free, large toenail clipping on carpet... R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank beeks919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope L, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Lafayette, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
We apologize for the quality of services you experienced while you attempted to stay with us. We appreciate the details and will address each area with the correct department. We will be moving into our guest rooms next to update them as well. Thank you for the compliment about Sonia- our sincere goal is to serve you in the most professional manner yet still delivering Hamptonality. Feedback like yours will help us to improve our guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Spent a night here in Lafayette. Staff was friendly and very accommodating. Property is not new, but has been maintained. Breakfast was busy, but staff kept everything very well stocked. Some of the bench seating in the dining area is a little low. Room was typical Hampton Inn, and the bed was very comfortable. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nolagroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope L, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Lafayette, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank You So much for your review, we appreciate the kind words. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
novato, ca
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Stayed here 3 nights with friends while traveling the South. Friendly staff, Hope, the General Manager was amazing. Friendly staff all around. The late afternoon " happy hour" was so appreciated, we enjoyed a beverage and snacks at the end of our busy days and felt like we were at home . Our rooms were perfectly comfortable, really could not ask for more. We used this hotel as a base for exploring the area, swamp tour, Avery Island, and Vermillionville. Staff was helpful with suggestions too. Highly recommend this Hampton Inn. We walked to John E's one evening for a good dinner.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope L, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Lafayette, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Thank you all so very much for your kind words regarding our team and hospitality. We truly LOVE having you as our guest and look forward to your return to this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chanute, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

The price for this motel was a little less than normal. The hotel is off the beaten path, but the stay was nice and the front desk was helpful. Our king suite had lots of room except in the bathroom/dressing area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRue1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope L, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Lafayette, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Thank You for your honest feedback, we appreciate the kind words and having you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2013

The staff is great and nice, the hotel is dated and old. The Lobby is beautifully update but that ends right there. It's a Hampton Inn and has all the expected features of the brand - it just needs some serious updating and a really good cleaning

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gr8agent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broussard, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

the hotel staff was very friendly, the room was clean, everything worked well. the hot tub was nice! very satisfied! always try to stay at haptons inn's anywhere i go. breakfast buffet was amazing as usual.. my hubby was happy! i even signed up for hampton rewards.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lafayette hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lafayette
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lafayette-Airport, LA
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lafayette/Cajundome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lafayette South
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 50 in Lafayette
275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Lafayette-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Lafayette

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Lafayette
Address: 1910 S College Rd, Lafayette, LA 70508-3276
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Lafayette Parish > Lafayette
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lafayette
#9 Family Hotel in Lafayette
#12 Business Hotel in Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Lafayette 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Lafayette
Lafayette Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing