We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good desert”
Review of Mel's Diner

Mel's Diner
Ranked #75 of 568 Restaurants in Lafayette
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Baldwin
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good desert”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stopped in while it was raining.... The coffee and cobbler really hit the spot...the server was friendly and kind..comfortable atmosphere made us feel at home.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    25
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, great prices lots of character”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My daughter and I ate at Mel's for lunch yesterday, and we were both pleased with our food. She had chicken caesar salad, simple but tasty. I had red beans & rice with sausage - delicious, large, and very satisfying. It's a small, older diner, with fantastic, friendly, service. At labout 1 pm on a Sunday, most other diners were ordering breakfast, but we enjoyed our lunch choices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“not poor but not much better.”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Went based on ratings, Mel's is a diner, but food was frozen chicken friend steak pattie, deep fried, instant potatoes, smalllll salad. $7.00 range - won't go back not what we were looking for.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank rrcer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Padre Island, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great burger”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We found Mel's by looking thru Trip Advisor. The map got us right to the diner and it was just a few miles from I 10. We ordered their signature burger and it was very good. The fries were thin cut, crispy, and very good. If you like to find non-chain restaurants, Mel's is worth the short detour.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cdtleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great burger and fries”
Reviewed 25 January 2013 via mobile

If you want a great burger and fries, you can't go wrong with Mel's. Lots of food, so bring your appetite .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KurlyGirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mel's Diner also viewed

Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 

Been to Mel's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing