We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sunday bbq”
Review of Dwight's

Dwight's
Ranked #46 of 567 Restaurants in Lafayette
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Abbeville, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“sunday bbq”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

great sunday bbq .often take the drive over there from abeville to pick up lunches great food large selection ,a bit pricy ,but itis good

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    19
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Vermont
Level Contributor
602 reviews
444 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Terrific Family Dinner”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Five of us (two visiting from out of town) went here for a boiled crawfish dinner and cannot stop talking about how good it was! We went on a Sunday night around 6:30pm and the place was crowded. We had a half hour wait, so a few Amber Bocks and some Bud Lights got consumed while we chatted and caught up on family news. When they called us we went into the main dining room which is basic and made for this kind of dining. Our table had a square opening cut in the middle into which we could push our crawfish shells, etc. We started with a dozen char broiled oysters which were done just right. We had onion rings, baked potatoes, fried mushrooms, boiled mushrooms and a chef's salad. The main event however was the crawfish and nothing can complete with the first wiff and view of those huge bowls filled to the top with bright red crawfish, two boiled potatoes and a piece of corn. Each of us had three pounds of crawfish and they were seasoned really well, just enough heat to make your lips get a little numb, but so tasty that you keep going back for that next mudbug. Finally a little peach cobbler and we were happy campers. This kind of meal for us is a special occasion and one that will be remembered for a long time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, La
Level Contributor
147 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Old plade, new name”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

This place used to be the Super Check Mart years ago. And this was the end of Lafayette at that time........but Dwight Breaux now runs the business and the food is to wait for, whether it be crawfish or bbq you won't be disatisfied.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank sxtt38a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thibodaux, Louisiana
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Lunch Ever”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Dwight's has the best lunches in Lafayette! Cafeteria style with lots of variety! All at a reasonable price! This place can't be beat. I used to work 7 days on/7 days off in Lafayette. Of those 7 days on I ate lunch 6 days at Dwight's. The only reason it wasn't 7 is because they are closed on Saturday's for lunch!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wow. What a find!”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Passing through Lafayette, I asked a convenience store clerk where I could get some good local food (was tired of fast food) and they recommended Dwight's. Oh my goodness, their BBQ is great! I especially liked their sausage, pork steak and BBQ sauce. Was handed plasticware to eat with and wondered how I was going to cut the meat but it was so tender the plastic knife cut through it easily. If you're passing through Lafayette, check out Dwight's. You'll thoroughly enjoy it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank r28a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dwight's also viewed

Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 

Been to Dwight's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing