We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Lafayette
Ranked #33 of 50 Hotels in Lafayette
Muskegon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent for the price”
Reviewed 10 January 2011

I researched this hotel befoe booking and most of the reviews were right on. We stayed at this Ho Jo for 5 nights from dec 27 2010 until Jan 1 2011. Wheb we first entered the room I couldn't believe it, it smeeled clean not like a hotel clean but like you just cleaned your house. the room was spacious, had a fridge, microwave, coffee pot, the tv had many channels. The bed was firm but nice and thebathroom was clean and inviting. I don't think you could find a better room for the price. (approx $55.00). The next time we travel to Lafayette we will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bg_32363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    64
    45
    28
    35
See reviews for
71
53
15
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

As several others have pointed out, the made-over room was very nice. And it was a terrific value for $60 (weeknight). We only stayed one night but liked the close proximity to I-10, yet it was far enough away from the highway (about a mile North) to not hear it through the night. There are several good restaurants nearby (we ate at Prejeans) and there was a nice Lafayette area Visitors Center about a mile to the south on Evangeline Thruway. The Continental Breakfast was very basic, but there was plenty choices when we arrived about 8:15 AM.

The only thing that can be construed as a criticism is the water in the shower/tub was not as hot we would have wished.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRWilliamsTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howardjohnsonlft, Manager at Howard Johnson Lafayette, responded to this review, 10 January 2011
Thank you very much for your positive comments.
We really do appreciate your time telling us how we are doing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEQUIM
Level Contributor
205 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

I'm not a big fan of HoJo properties as I've been sadly disappointed more than satisfied when I've stayed with them. I read a variety of reviews about this property and most folks said it is a great property - I completely agree. We spent five nights at this motel and for comfort and cleanliness, it ranks right at the top. The family that owns and operates the motel have pride in their property - and it shows. We had a super AARP rate and for even double the price, this motel would be a find. Having visited Lafayette a number of times and stayed in a variety of motels - this is the best of the lot. We will definitely her on our next visit to Lafayette

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjnjjwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howardjohnsonlft, Manager at Howard Johnson Lafayette, responded to this review, 10 January 2011
It's continued satisfied guests like you who keeps up motivated in providing top-notch accommodation to each and every one of our guests.
Thank you very much for your time and positive comments. We really do appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Relatively new hotel completed in 2008, Appears to be family owned and operated. Good location.

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Righttime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howardjohnsonlft, Manager at Howard Johnson Lafayette, responded to this review, 10 January 2011
You are our 100% priority and your review really helps us to continue giving the best service to all our friends.
Thank you very much for your time and positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Upon making the reservation with my company I was advise to stay in a more "reputable hotel" but I decided against it. I have to say that from the moment I pulled in to the moment I left I was blown away! I recently paid more than double to stay in a hotel that was no where near as clean and nice as this one! I am not one to write reviews as I tell myself I am always too busy BUT these people fully deserve a pat on the back for a job well done! I will be staying in Lafayette once a week and I will book this Howard Johnson everytime I am there..family friendly as well! Proof that you don't have to spend a fortune to stay somewhere nice! FYI for the people liek me who tote the xbox360 everywhere..nice component connection TV'`s in the room as well!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob0436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howardjohnsonlft, Manager at Howard Johnson Lafayette, responded to this review, 10 January 2011
Thank you for your kind remarks. We enjoyed having you as our guests and trust you will think of us again on your return visit to Lafayette.

Your comments allow us to gain credible insight to efforts we make in pursuing excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2009

Everything was very clean and updated. Beds were comfortable. I was impressed that you could find something that nice for $140 for 2 weekend nights. I was very pleased. I definately reccommend.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ehkeyser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hojolft, Manager at Howard Johnson Lafayette, responded to this review, 6 August 2009
Dear Valued Customer:

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for writing a review and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 337-232-5500

Sincerely,
Andy Patel
General Manager
Howard Johnson Inn Lafayette, LA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimberley, TX
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2009

This stay was a last minute layover on a longer road trip. The room was very clean (although the color of the carpet was pukey) and looked recently redone. The TV, desk, microfrig, and easy chair were all very welcome, and the bathroom / sink area looked more expensive than you might expect. We paid $70 on a Saturday night, still less expensive than many others in the area. Lots of places to eat and easy access to the highways. The breakfast is only what you would expect for lobby food, but free is free. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cagseg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hojolft, Manager at Howard Johnson Lafayette, responded to this review, 6 August 2009
Dear Valued Customer:

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for writing a review and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 337-232-5500

Sincerely,
Andy Patel
General Manager
Howard Johnson Inn Lafayette, LA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lafayette hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#22 of 50 in Lafayette
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Lafayette Inn
Best Western Lafayette Inn
#15 of 50 in Lafayette
299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lafayette Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Lafayette North
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Lafayette North/I-10
1.4 mi away
Pear Tree Inn Lafayette
Pear Tree Inn Lafayette
#14 of 50 in Lafayette
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Lafayette

Property: Howard Johnson Lafayette
Address: 2215 NW Evangeline Trwy, Lafayette, LA 70501-1137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Lafayette Parish > Lafayette
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 50 Hotels in Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Lafayette 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free high-speed wireless Internet, brand standard complimentary breakfast, newly constructed outdoor pool, AAA approved, microwave in all rooms, hairdryers in every room, free weekday newspaper in all rooms, clock and coffee maker in every room, refrigerator in all rooms, iron and board in every room, extended cable TV package, suites available, free local calls, guest laundromat on site, over-sized rooms available, wake-up service, taxi and public transportation available, electric locks and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing