We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, clean, beautiful and yummy!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plantation Mouton (Bois Des Chenes)

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plantation Mouton (Bois Des Chenes)
Ranked #1 of 3 Lafayette B&B and Inns
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean, beautiful and yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Coerte and Majorie were wonderful hosts. We loved the porch swin on the gallery, sitting in the sultry evening air. Everything spotlessly clean, and the big breakfast was so good! French toast, cane syrup, and cajoun sausage...wow! We started with thieir son, Kim, on the Atchafalyala Experieince tour, which was the best! Wonderful birds, a whole new ecosystem for us, and a wonderful guide. We will recommend this family business to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    20
    8
    8
    2
See reviews for
12
45
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

The rooms aren't trimmed with gold , and the aircon's a bit noisy, but in terms of being made to feel welcome, I can't think of anywhere that beats Bois des Chenes. We were welcomed like family, not paying guests. I would thoroughly recommend this B&B and their associated swamp tours are fantastic....

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pearscr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

I found this B&B online at the last minute and luckily they had a cancellation. The hosts were exceedingly charming and accommodating - and didn't even complain about our "late nights out" exploring the local music scene. The breakfasts were delicious. We went on the swamp tour that Courte and his son operate, and were impressed at their knowledge and love of the swamp habitat. This was during the time when the lands around the Mississippi River were being flooded to prevent flooding in New Orleans, and these two were out rescuing Osprey eggs and baby Ospreys! They know every eagle's nest and where every alligator likes to hang out. We also visited the antique shop in Beau Bridge that Marjorie and their other son have, and received the special "guest" discount. We felt like a part of the family after only two days. Meeting them was definitely a highlight of our trip to Louisiana.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trish_d99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a road trip around Louisiana, and can't recommend the Bois des Chenes enough.

Our room was very nice and comfortable, but by far and away the main attraction of the Bois des Chenes is the hospitality. Coerte and Marjorie can't do enough for you - they're lovely people and Marjorie makes a superb breakfast too!

We loved it here and would recommend to everyone.

Jim & Alex

PS we also went on the Atchafalaya experience swamp tour which was superb!

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mimbo_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

We've stayed at Bois des Chenes twice and will most definately go again. Can I say great hosts..... they are the best I've been around. Accomodatiobns = A, breakfast = A++, surrounding property = A+ and guests that you eat breakfast with have always proved to be friendly and fasinating.

Courtis is a gem with his accent, stories and background; wife Margorie is a gem as well. We took their www.theatchafalayaexperience.com with Curtis son and he was about to become my husbands best friend. Pleasant doesn't explain our visit..... this is a find and I dream of going back there to hang out on the back patio or rock in the upstairs balcony swing which overlooks the old oaktrees (I pretend I lived in the old accadian home in a past life). PS: outside cats are so sweet and I'm not a cat person. The dogs in the gated front yard became the most unique mix and if I come back as another creature in life..... I want to be one of them and live in there. Do you get it? I loved our 4 nights at Bois De Chenes.

Room Tip: Suite upstairs but the carriage house is grand to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amycl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

Our family stayed at Bois des Chenes and it was the perfect setting for our genealogical expedition in the area. The Voorhies family members were excellent hosts, serving a different gourmet breakfast each of the three mornings. We stayed in the main house, in very comfortable, historically furnished rooms with a sitting area which we shared. We found the home and grounds charming and inviting.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackcameback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2010

Charming and gracious hosts. Very knowledgeable about the local history and quite willing to share. It is worth a stay just to meet them. Terrific breakfast. We would have done the swamp tour but were rained out.

We stayed in the main house on the second floor. Bare bones (no shampoo) but very clean. The place is for sale and has gone to seed. It appears to have "gone" some time ago.The house is dark and musty. The grounds are wholly unkept which is a real shame. At $150 per night it is wildly overpriced. 

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Intlpvti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beron337, Owner at Plantation Mouton (Bois Des Chenes), responded to this review, 16 March 2014
A 200 year old house! less than 1% complain and this is due to ignorance of old houses and period furnishings. why do people want to show their ignorance in describing something they know nothing about. Thousands of our guests are more than pleased with the accommodations, service and our personalities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lafayette hotels
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lafayette
0.9 mi away
Juliet Hotel
Juliet Hotel
#24 of 49 in Lafayette
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 49 in Lafayette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lafayette/Cajundome
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lafayette-Airport, LA
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lafayette North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Mouton (Bois Des Chenes)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Mouton (Bois Des Chenes)

Property: Plantation Mouton (Bois Des Chenes)
Address: 338 N. Sterling St., Corner Mudd Ave. Side Driveway, Lafayette, LA 70501-4926 (Formerly Bois des Chenes)
Region: United States > Louisiana > Lafayette Parish > Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Mouton (Bois Des Chenes) 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arcadian-style Bed & Breakfast Inn housed in 1890s Carriage House on historic Charles Mouton Plantation, dating from 1820. built by Charles Mouton (1797-1848). Charles Mouton was a son of Lafayette’s founder, Jean Mouton (1754-1834). The house and property were once part of Jean’s plantation of over 300 acres. From the moment you enter into Plantation Mouton, you will feel the essence of our underline theme. Plantation in Exile. The grounds and gardens, which are completely renovated to match the charm and culture of our vision. Upon entering the home and partaking in our welcome cajun canopy horderves and cocktails, you are greeted with ambiance and charm as our master host and grammy nominated innkeeper entertains and gives you the grand tour. From here guests are provided with custom itineraries and maps to the city and reservations are made for you. Returning from your evening, there are after dinner drinks and wine set out in the parlor to enjoy while warming by the fire. Typically we will have an outdoor old fassion jam around a few burning logs to bring together guests for a more personal experience with our innkeepers. In the Morning, we serve our world famous 3 course oh-la-la breakfasts and entertain with humor and love around the breakfast table. Also after breakfast we help your day planning for any adventure you may choose, or one of our own. From start to finish, this cultural jem is the wave of the future bringing together the best of hostory, Food and entertainment into one place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Plantation Mouton (Bois Des Chenes) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bois Des Chenes Hotel Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing