We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did not disappoint!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plantation Mouton (Bois Des Chenes)
Ranked #1 of 3 Lafayette B&B and Inns
Midlothian
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Did not disappoint!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We arrived a little early, but we were warmly welcomed. The Coerte recommended a place to eat dinner, and it was very good. The room was clean. It had a little musty smell, but that was from being closed up and older. It reminded me of my grandmother's house. The hospitality was gracious, the breakfast delicious, the conversavtion interesting, and the swamp tour with Kim was spectacular. It was a great way to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    22
    8
    8
    2
See reviews for
15
46
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

This was our first visit to Louisiana (January 5-17). After booking our flight to New Orleans, we discovered that the city was hosting the BSC Championships, and would be crazy with football fever, so we decided to get out into Cajun Country.

We love to stay in B&B's, but sometimes traveling with our 3 children, it isn't always possible. After speaking to Coerte, the innkeeper, on the phone, we decided to stay at the lovely Bois Des Chenes for 4 nights. This was our "home base" while we explored the Acadian Cultural Centre, Vermillionville, New Iberia, The Tabasco Factory on Avery Island, and the Atchafalaya swamp with Kim.

We stayed in the Carriage house at Bois des Chenes, which was comfortable, and private. Marjorie cooked up delicious breakfasts for us each morning, while Coerte entertained us with his stories. We enjoyed the unique local restaurants that they recommended.

Staying in a historic Bed & Breakfast with seasoned innkeepers is so much more satisfying than your typical hotel experience. I would definitely recommend Bois des Chenes to anyone travelling to Lafayette!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Bois des Chenes markets itself as a plantation home. Technically it may be, but it wasn't what I expected. Its in the middle of the city and very small. We didn't get a tour and the owners didn't communicate well on the time for breakfast so we weren't able to enjoy it. To their credit they discounted our stay for that. If it was simply marketed as a B&B, it would have been fine. It was clean and the owners were very sweet people. It just wasn't what I expected. Next time I'd stay at Nottoway!

Room Tip: The upstairs room has a sitting area for watching TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HerbieTheHusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beron337, Owner at Plantation Mouton (Bois Des Chenes), responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank God Scarlett (an air head) is a fictional character! We waited until after 9 p.m. for your arrival. Then you left soon after sunrise the next day as you had to get to your next destination! You were in our carriage house, not the plantation house! If you had researched our entity, you would have learned that the Plantation House is 200 years old, has 6600 sq ft of living area. sat on 3000 acres and is accurately restored and furnished. You never saw the house in the daylight!! To make suck a crass remark, shows ignorance and a lack of class! One thing, I do agree with you, Like Rhett Butler, Frankly, my dear, I do not give a damm!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Coerte, Marjorie and their son, Kim, left us with very happy memories of our time with them. Delightful accommodation, delicious breakfast (I require gluten free food and Marjorie made the most amazing breakfast for me!!) and a very interesting swamp tour in very heavy weather that normally would have cancelled the trip. I can't thank Coerte and Kim enough for taking only two of us out in such awful weather - it was an amazing experience. Their passion for the swamp and their maintenance of that very special environment (eg, by taking onboard dumped trash) is worthy of note here. I highly recommend this B&B for wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappytravelsCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Coerte and Majorie were wonderful hosts. We loved the porch swin on the gallery, sitting in the sultry evening air. Everything spotlessly clean, and the big breakfast was so good! French toast, cane syrup, and cajoun sausage...wow! We started with thieir son, Kim, on the Atchafalyala Experieince tour, which was the best! Wonderful birds, a whole new ecosystem for us, and a wonderful guide. We will recommend this family business to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

The rooms aren't trimmed with gold , and the aircon's a bit noisy, but in terms of being made to feel welcome, I can't think of anywhere that beats Bois des Chenes. We were welcomed like family, not paying guests. I would thoroughly recommend this B&B and their associated swamp tours are fantastic....

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pearscr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

I found this B&B online at the last minute and luckily they had a cancellation. The hosts were exceedingly charming and accommodating - and didn't even complain about our "late nights out" exploring the local music scene. The breakfasts were delicious. We went on the swamp tour that Courte and his son operate, and were impressed at their knowledge and love of the swamp habitat. This was during the time when the lands around the Mississippi River were being flooded to prevent flooding in New Orleans, and these two were out rescuing Osprey eggs and baby Ospreys! They know every eagle's nest and where every alligator likes to hang out. We also visited the antique shop in Beau Bridge that Marjorie and their other son have, and received the special "guest" discount. We felt like a part of the family after only two days. Meeting them was definitely a highlight of our trip to Louisiana.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trish_d99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lafayette hotels
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lafayette
0.9 mi away
Juliet Hotel
Juliet Hotel
#25 of 49 in Lafayette
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lafayette/Cajundome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lafayette North
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lafayette Inn
BEST WESTERN Lafayette Inn
#13 of 49 in Lafayette
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 49 in Lafayette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Mouton (Bois Des Chenes)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Mouton (Bois Des Chenes)

Property: Plantation Mouton (Bois Des Chenes)
Address: 338 N. Sterling St., Corner Mudd Ave. Side Driveway, Lafayette, LA 70501-4926 (Formerly Bois des Chenes)
Region: United States > Louisiana > Lafayette Parish > Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Mouton (Bois Des Chenes) 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arcadian-style Bed & Breakfast Inn housed in 1890s Carriage House on historic Charles Mouton Plantation, dating from 1820. built by Charles Mouton (1797-1848). Charles Mouton was a son of Lafayette’s founder, Jean Mouton (1754-1834). The house and property were once part of Jean’s plantation of over 300 acres. From the moment you enter into Plantation Mouton, you will feel the essence of our underline theme. Plantation in Exile. The grounds and gardens, which are completely renovated to match the charm and culture of our vision. Upon entering the home and partaking in our welcome cajun canopy horderves and cocktails, you are greeted with ambiance and charm as our master host and grammy nominated innkeeper entertains and gives you the grand tour. From here guests are provided with custom itineraries and maps to the city and reservations are made for you. Returning from your evening, there are after dinner drinks and wine set out in the parlor to enjoy while warming by the fire. Typically we will have an outdoor old fassion jam around a few burning logs to bring together guests for a more personal experience with our innkeepers. In the Morning, we serve our world famous 3 course oh-la-la breakfasts and entertain with humor and love around the breakfast table. Also after breakfast we help your day planning for any adventure you may choose, or one of our own. From start to finish, this cultural jem is the wave of the future bringing together the best of hostory, Food and entertainment into one place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Plantation Mouton (Bois Des Chenes) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bois Des Chenes Hotel Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing