We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay in this historic property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plantation Mouton (Bois Des Chenes)

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plantation Mouton (Bois Des Chenes)
Ranked #1 of 3 Lafayette B&B and Inns
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in this historic property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

Our family stayed at Bois des Chenes and it was the perfect setting for our genealogical expedition in the area. The Voorhies family members were excellent hosts, serving a different gourmet breakfast each of the three mornings. We stayed in the main house, in very comfortable, historically furnished rooms with a sitting area which we shared. We found the home and grounds charming and inviting.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackcameback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    20
    8
    8
    2
See reviews for
12
45
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2010

Charming and gracious hosts. Very knowledgeable about the local history and quite willing to share. It is worth a stay just to meet them. Terrific breakfast. We would have done the swamp tour but were rained out.

We stayed in the main house on the second floor. Bare bones (no shampoo) but very clean. The place is for sale and has gone to seed. It appears to have "gone" some time ago.The house is dark and musty. The grounds are wholly unkept which is a real shame. At $150 per night it is wildly overpriced. 

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Intlpvti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beron337, Owner at Plantation Mouton (Bois Des Chenes), responded to this review, 16 March 2014
A 200 year old house! less than 1% complain and this is due to ignorance of old houses and period furnishings. why do people want to show their ignorance in describing something they know nothing about. Thousands of our guests are more than pleased with the accommodations, service and our personalities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojai, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

If you're looking to stay on a historic property, with large, clean rooms, a truly terrific breakfast, in a great location, and with welcoming, informative hosts, Bois des Chenes is the place. The rooms in the carriage house are not super-luxury, but they have plenty of room and character. Marjorie's breakfasts have to be the best in town: pain perdu, pecan waffles, boudin, and probably the best eggs and breakfast coffee I have ever had. They are right in the middle of town, so visiting anyplace (including extended day trips) is easy. And Coerte and Marjorie have always been helpful with directions, suggestions, and dinner recommendations. And the price is right!

P.S. If your schedule allows it, a swamp trip with Coerte (or son Kim) is a lifetime experience and not to be missed.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ojaitraveler32817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

What a great place to spend my 50th birthday. The B&B is absolutely wonderful. A very private carriage house, large room, huge bath, the greatest shower I've ever had and an incredibly comfy bed. Our hosts, Coerte and Marjorie, are the epitome of charming Southern hospitality. Coerte regales his guests with stories of excitement and adventure, and Marjorie cooks up the best breakfasts ever. Our one week stay was over way too soon, and I can't wait to go back for more. Be sure to take the Atchafalaya Swamp Experience tour with Coerte or his son, Kim. They both are very experienced tour guides and you will return with a new appreciation for the swamp and the critters who reside there. It is absolutely one of the most beautiful places on earth and you will come back with wonderful memories and gorgeous photos. There really are not enough superlatives to describe either the B&B or the tour. They are both outstanding!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargoFuselier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

Lovely people, great breakfast, and clean charming rooms. Also provides a great swamp tour.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anogia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odenton, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

This family-owned business provides nice, clean facilities with historical value, which we really enjoyed. Moreover, they're very friendly and knowledgeable about the history of the whole area. And Mrs. Voorhies' breakfasts are wonderful! I highly recommend Bois de Chenes!

Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank cbellavista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bergen, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2010

Scrupulously clean rooms, gourmet breakfasts that are worth the calories and real southern hospitality. We were pleased.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingteacher18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lafayette hotels
0.9 mi away
Juliet Hotel
Juliet Hotel
#24 of 49 in Lafayette
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lafayette
2.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 49 in Lafayette
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lafayette-Airport, LA
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lafayette/Cajundome
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lafayette Inn
BEST WESTERN Lafayette Inn
#13 of 49 in Lafayette
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Mouton (Bois Des Chenes)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Mouton (Bois Des Chenes)

Property: Plantation Mouton (Bois Des Chenes)
Address: 338 N. Sterling St., Corner Mudd Ave. Side Driveway, Lafayette, LA 70501-4926 (Formerly Bois des Chenes)
Region: United States > Louisiana > Lafayette Parish > Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Mouton (Bois Des Chenes) 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arcadian-style Bed & Breakfast Inn housed in 1890s Carriage House on historic Charles Mouton Plantation, dating from 1820. built by Charles Mouton (1797-1848). Charles Mouton was a son of Lafayette’s founder, Jean Mouton (1754-1834). The house and property were once part of Jean’s plantation of over 300 acres. From the moment you enter into Plantation Mouton, you will feel the essence of our underline theme. Plantation in Exile. The grounds and gardens, which are completely renovated to match the charm and culture of our vision. Upon entering the home and partaking in our welcome cajun canopy horderves and cocktails, you are greeted with ambiance and charm as our master host and grammy nominated innkeeper entertains and gives you the grand tour. From here guests are provided with custom itineraries and maps to the city and reservations are made for you. Returning from your evening, there are after dinner drinks and wine set out in the parlor to enjoy while warming by the fire. Typically we will have an outdoor old fassion jam around a few burning logs to bring together guests for a more personal experience with our innkeepers. In the Morning, we serve our world famous 3 course oh-la-la breakfasts and entertain with humor and love around the breakfast table. Also after breakfast we help your day planning for any adventure you may choose, or one of our own. From start to finish, this cultural jem is the wave of the future bringing together the best of hostory, Food and entertainment into one place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Plantation Mouton (Bois Des Chenes) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bois Des Chenes Hotel Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing