We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch, wonderful pastries!”
Review of Poupart Bakery

Poupart Bakery
Ranked #1 of 17 Dessert in Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great lunch, wonderful pastries!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I have had lunch at Pouparts many times. You can get it to go, or eat at one of the tables inside. There is nothing bad on their menu. They have corn and crab bisque everyday, with another soup special each day. I usually get a cup of soup with half a sandwich or small salad. It's about $10. Crab bisque with crab cake salad with remoulade dressing is my favorite. Shrimp scampi ciabatta and roast beef poboy are two more of my favorites. Be sure to save room to have one of their beautiful, delicious pastries for dessert. This is a French bakery, so everything is very good. If you are lucky enough to be there during Mardi Gras season, get a traditional king cake to take home. You will not regret it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AcajunAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    35
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A real French bakery with a one of a kind cake”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This place is simply fantastic! There are two locations, one downtown and one on Pinhook. Visitors need to know that the Pinhook location is the original and where all the actual baking is done. I think the pastries are baked at Pinhook and then brought downtown, which is great, but sometimes the downtown location is out of the strawberry delights, so that's a problem in my opinion. Also, everything is so beautifully displayed at Pinhook that it is a must see for visitors.

However, if it's lunch you want then you can't go wrong at either location. The tuna salad is my favorite, but the crab cake sandwich is delightful too.

Now, let's get to the most important and unique thing offered by Poupart's... the Dobage Cake. If you haven't had it, you've got to get it. It is absolute perfection in a cake. I'm not a baker at all, but I'm telling you there is something very special about the recipe they have here. The layers are thin and delicate, and more moist than any Dobage I've ever seen. I once called to ask if they would ship one and the lady laughed, saying someone just called from Michigan and asked the same thing. The cake is too moist to ship, so that's that. Get it while you're in town!

Helpful?
Thank CajunCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Some of the best pastries in Lafayette”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Love this place!!! The kids love to get the cookies! The thumbprint cookies are the best in town. Then to the pastries..The lemon tarts are perfect, the eclairs are to die for, and anything that has chocolate won't be disappointing!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ggtraveler04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The best chocolate cake ever made”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This bakery has made the best chocolate cake I ever had. Although it is a little bit on an expensive side, you will never be disappointed as far the the presentation and flavor is concerned

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SirishTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opelousas, Louisiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best in Lafayette!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I LOVE the apple strudel, eclairs, petit fours and creme puffs at Pouparts. Whenever I want to treat my family, I call in my order the day before because they always sell out before I get there (coming from 25 miles away). They also have fresh bread, cookies, cakes and sandwiches. You can't go wrong.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Monette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poupart Bakery also viewed

Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
Lafayette, Lafayette Parish
 

Been to Poupart Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing