We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Motel 6 Lafayette - University Ave
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Lafayette - University Ave
Ranked #39 of 49 Hotels in Lafayette
Chicago IL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2010

On 2 week road trip, booking hotels along the way - trying to save a little money, just a bed for the night. Room smelled like mold, mildew. No hangers in our closet, after much persuading, got the clerk to go find me a few. Bathroom shower OK. No major complaints, have learned you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riccar79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    13
    10
    3
    10
See reviews for
7
13
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

I found this hotel on tripadvisor and called a few hours before reaching Lafayette to reserve a room. I was told over the phone that I would be given a rate of $52. The attendant was friendly and took my name for our reservation. When we arrived around midnight, weary from the road, we were (not too nicely) told that there was no reservation. I explained that I had called and made a reservation a few hours prior and he just insisted that there was no reservation. Finally I gave up and just asked if there was any availability. He said yes and we would be paying $69 for a room. When I explained that I had definitely called and spoken to someone who had promised a $52 room, the attendant gave me a rate of $59. The room looked great at first, flat screen tv, nice carpet, fancy furniture, but then we noticed the urine and a pubic hair on the toilet seat. next we found ice cream in the freezer and soft drinks and a sandwich in the fridge. (Not ours, obviously, and half-consumed). The renovated rooms would be great if only they were better cleaned! Our room was large(ish) and had a king bed, not bad for sixy-six dollars including tax, but the left-over food and dirty toilet creeped me out.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank applescruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reciprok8, Director of Sales at Motel 6 Lafayette - University Ave, responded to this review, 26 January 2011
Dear applescruff,
Thanks to you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to comment on your recent stay with us. Your comments are well taken and have been brought to the attention of our management team and department for correction as soon as possible. We are looking
into the comments regarding our property and hotel here in Lafayette. You can be rest assured that these issues will be dealt with in an appropriate manner and swiftly. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

Very good value; I saw 4 other reviews which commented much the same and we would definitely second their thoughts. For $60 plus 10% tax, could not ask for more (AAA rate, which Ashley over the phone offered cheerily).

A remodeled motel with first floor driveup set perpendicular to I-10 and right off the Exit 101. Room was clean and fresh, no odors of any sort (it was a non smoking), new A/C units, good bed (not a Marriott, but just fine for an evening stay), shower was SUPER, not a rinky dink beat up old shower head with leaky curtain but instead a nice big adjustable head that worked and a new style wraparound curtain that really kept the water in the shower, which when traveling with multiple travelers is a common gripe if you are not the first to use the shower. Lobby Wi-Fi worked fine, did not try in room.

We checked in at 11:30 pm, asked Max the night clerk for a 1st floor room with nobody above us and please do not put anybody in the room above and this was honored. We stayed in the side nearer the freeway so we could hear a little road noise but nothing ridiculous. If you are a light sleeper, definitely get there earlier and request a room to the left of the lobby.

To our pleasant surprise, they had a very respectable breakfast bar with coffee, juices, eggs, sausage, biscuits, and cereal and kept well stocked by Rosa. The front desk folks were friendly and the only maintenance item we encountered was a bum door lock (I do not think they replaced them in their remodeling).

I hope this helps others. All in all, would highly recommend this facility. I could only hope that the rest of my $60 motels in my life were this good.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crcmetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

Right of the I-10. Clean, great service and great value for money. Hot breakfast was excellent. Will visit again and recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Lafayette, LA

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallykalarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reciprok8, Director of Sales at Motel 6 Lafayette - University Ave, responded to this review, 26 January 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us here in Lafayette. We are glad you had such a nice time with us during your stay here in Lafayette, and that you found our staff so helpful. Thank you for your review and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa maria.CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

We travell from California and this was the best hotel we stayed in, clean and quite room very good breakfast and best custommer service great rates.
John Holt

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennasantamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayne, Louisiana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2010

stayed here a few years ago, passed by saw some improvements decided to try again. was not disappointed. notice great improvements in rooms. Staff was friendly, rooms were clean, the hot breakfast was a extra bonus.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philo2656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reciprok8, Director of Sales at Motel 6 Lafayette - University Ave, responded to this review, 26 January 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
We here at Americas Best Value Inn appreciate you stopping in and seeing all of the improvements that have been made to our hotel. We are renovated and am looking forward to giving you excellent service should you decide to visit our establishment again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cagliari, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2010

Newly improved, great convenient location, flat screen tv for our enjoyment. The hotel was clean and efficient, our rooms cosy and orderly, it was a pleasant place to be in during our cultural study. We had a free internet, scrumptious fresh breakfasts were great with our morning caffeine infusions, complimentary as well:) I was so happy to find myself around the helpful staff in a beautiful lobby enjoying the place, fascinated by the elegance of it. Reasonably priced deserves two thumbs up for the value, even for the choosy Europeans like ourselves. We will stay at the Best Value Inn again, because it's a treasure!!:))

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrettyEuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reciprok8, Director of Sales at Motel 6 Lafayette - University Ave, responded to this review, 26 January 2011
We would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay here in Lafayette. We are most glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and am looking forward to seeing you again. It is an honor to let you know that we strive for guest satisfaction and it is a great feeling to know that our staff here made you feel like you were with family. We are looking forward to serving your lodging needs anytime you are in our vicinity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lafayette hotels
1.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#41 of 49 in Lafayette
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lafayette
Red Roof Inn Lafayette
#36 of 49 in Lafayette
3.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pear Tree Inn Lafayette
Pear Tree Inn Lafayette
#14 of 49 in Lafayette
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Lafayette
Howard Johnson Lafayette
#32 of 49 in Lafayette
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
1.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Lafayette North/I-10
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lafayette Inn
BEST WESTERN Lafayette Inn
#13 of 49 in Lafayette
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Lafayette - University Ave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Lafayette - University Ave

Property: Motel 6 Lafayette - University Ave
Address: 1605 N University Ave, Lafayette, LA 70506-1019 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn - Lafayette)
Region: United States > Louisiana > Lafayette Parish > Lafayette
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 49 Hotels in Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Lafayette - University Ave 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Lafayette - University Ave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing