We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service”

Southern Spice Restaurant and Grill
Ranked #47 of 266 Restaurants in Lake Charles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
Good for: Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a hot, tasty breakfast of bacon, eggs and other fare. Friendly, attentive service in a relaxed atmosphere. It was a nice visit and we'll be back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fishytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    18
    9
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Katy, TX
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good and reasonable breakfast”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

came here on recommendation of friendly local in the parking lot of a nearby restaurant that had a long wait line for breakfast. food was good and reasonable priced. a nice break from the casinos. we plan to come back for lunch on our next trip to Lake Charles. Yes, the place is a little outdated, but it did not affect my food in the least.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dho77094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good local food”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for dinner. Homey place lots of locals. Not bad really, but nothing special. We were hoping for more of a Cajun flare being our first time in Louisiana.

Helpful?
Thank lamb3947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“There are much better choices in Lake Charles”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

My wife and I ate at this restaurant on March 15, 2013. The server was very nice and did her job adequately. There was no atmosphere and the food was nothing special. When I go out to dinner in South Louisiana I expect something really good. This food belonged in the line at the cafeteria. I wish I could give a better report. All of the patrons that night seemed to be locals and I really can't explain why they would have chosen this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly_young49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“NO SPICE!!”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Okay, we have given this restaurant several tries, but they just never were up to par, and we aren't snooty high class people. We didn't expect dinner at the "Ritz", we just wanted some good, "spiced like we cajuns like it" kind of food, on days when this Cajun Momma ain't in the mood to cook!! Know what I mean? Sadly, this place did not measure up for our family. The food had VERY LITTLE (IF ANY) seasonings and most of it was cooked to death!! It would have been okay for baby food I guess, or if you have no teeth, but for a robust hungry Cajun.....NO! I don't care about the prices..if food is good, people will pay for it, however, I would not eat this food even if they gave it away free. Ya'll need to get a true Cajun cook, or change your name. Maybe Yankee Flavor would be a better name. There sure isn't anything Southern about this place! Frankly, I am puzzled that they are still in business..not a soul I know eats there...

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JUJUGIRL435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southern Spice Restaurant and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Southern Spice Restaurant and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing