We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean room and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Lake Charles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I was in town to attend the Chenault Air Show and fly on the incredible B-29. My wife made my reservation as I was on the road and in a hurry. I had a late arrival but there was no problem.
The staff was friendly and met all my expectations. If ever in the area I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trippsdad1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

It was nice, clean and I didn't really spend that much time in room. I would stay again and I liked the fact that the king suite had a separate sitting area with sofa bed and bedroom. The bathroom was spacious and the shower wasn't small and cramped.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biancaolivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and i stayed had a long drive and needed some rest with our kids. We are holiday inn reward members so we chose holiday inn it was 11 at night booked the room.
We checked in, our room had beer bottle open, half eaten moon pie, wet towels on bathroom floor. We paid 190.00 for this garbage, thats what being a holiday inn honor got us.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear Jacenda H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations and for that please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience the overall cleanliness of your room may have caused you. Rest assured, your valuable comments are noted and will be forwarded to the appropriate department to be addressed accordingly. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you for sharing your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Me and my family were in a road trip to Disney World and on our way back to Texas we stayed here. I chose this hotel because it had great reviews, but my experience was terrible. Good first: Near the Interstate and Very Nice Staff.
Bad stuff: We are still aching for all the bed bug stings we have. I have pictures to prove it. The bathroom was dirty, lots of hair near the toilet, the bathtub need serious scrubbing, dirty and lots of soap scum. The carpet dirty as well. We didn't complained because we were very very tired from the road and wanted to go to the indoor pool. Now, when you chose a hotel with an indoor pool you think it'll be warm right? This was COLD! My kids splashed a little bit, but we couldn't handle it for more than 15 minutes. The surroundings do not seem safe.
We had a bad experience here. Sorry to say it, but i wouldn't recommend it at all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoseLuisAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear JoseLuisAngeles,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take comments such as these very serious and would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This hotel has been built within the past 5 years, and is still pretty new and fresh-looking. The suite was fine--nothing special, but nothing to complain about, either. I heard that someone in a different room found mold on the inside lid of the ice-bucket, but I did not have the opportunity to check mine. In Southwest Louisiana, a little mold in a dark, damp spot can be very difficult to prevent, so I don't take off for that. We did not try the restaurant, and the bar closes at 9 p.m. even on weekends, so it's kind of pointless. However, the hotel was very tolerant when we took our own beverages out onto the "back porch" area late one night. Generally, they treated our whole group well. The place was clean and well-maintained.

Room Tip: The hotel is set back really far from the street, so there should be minimal street noise no matter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perle0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Found the hotel to be very clean and the staff was real professional and helpful. Not in a great part of town, but we had no issues. Indoor pool got a little crowded and was noisy. Overall, a good experience and value.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pldhund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

As shared by several other reviewers of this hotel, Rodney (front desk manager?) made us feel welcome from the moment we walked in the door. Arriving at 4:30 pm, we were told our room wasn't quite ready as yet.

We went over to the bar, next to a very nicely decorated front lobby, and sat for a few minutes enjoying a glass of wine. Within 15 minutes, Rodney personally walked over to the bar, handed us our keys, apologized for the delay, and gave us a coupon for free breakfast the next morning.

Our room was clean, comfortable and on the top floor as I had requested. The hotel is situated only 5 minutes from the L'Auberge Casino, which meant we were away from the crowds but close enough to enjoy our evening in Lake Charles.

We would definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2tsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Charles hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lake Charles
Hampton Inn Lake Charles
#4 of 37 in Lake Charles
364 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lake Charles Casino Area
1.7 mi away
Golden Nugget Hotel
Golden Nugget Hotel
#1 of 37 in Lake Charles
1,499 reviews
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South

Address: 2940 Lake St, Lake Charles, LA 70601-8220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Lake Charles
Price Range: £81 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites is the newest Full Service, upscale hotel in Lake Charles, LA. Location, Location, Location. The Holiday Inn and Suites, Lake Charles is in the heart of Southwest Louisiana. Business travelers will quickly realize the benefit of our location. We are near all Lake Charles , Westlake and Sulphur industries, which include Conoco Phillips, Citgo, PPG and Westlake PetroChemicals. We are the closest full service hotel to the Airport, Mcneese State University, historic downtown and Port of Lake Charles. Just moments from our front door our leisure guests will find attractions such as 5 Star Resort and Casino, Lauberge Du Lac and Sugar Cane Bay. If shopping is on your agenda, the Prien Lake Mall and many great restaurants are only a short drive away. Host your meeting or celebrate a special occasion in our state of the art meeting and banquet facility which seats up to 175 people. Our professional planning staff and outstanding catering service is sure to meet your needs. In addition to our contemporary, state of the art guest rooms our Lake Charles Holiday Inn and Suites features a business center, fitness center, indoor pool and whirlpool. Our food and beverage facility is anchored by Kem s Café bar and grill featuring outstanding American fare and your favorite spirits. Enjoy, relax and experience the serenity of the Holiday Inn and Suites, Lake Charles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Lake Charles South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing