We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff where excellent.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Lake Charles
Perth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Staff where excellent.”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have been staying at this chain through the US as we travel. The staff where fantastic in service and friendly beyond belief nothing was too much. The rooms where clean and the pool area was excellent.
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belindahollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you very much for your nice review. Our team works very hard and it is a nice boost when their efforts are recognized. I agree - they are some of the friendliest people you can find. Thank you again for staying with us. We appreciate the recommendation and hope to see you here again soon!

Sincerely,
Mike Duhon
GM
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Lake Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    34
    15
    13
    12
See reviews for
34
39
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harlingen, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Mr. Rodney set the tone for the night...he was very friendly and our check in was fast and easy. Room was clean and beds were comfortable..only thing I have to say was that the room had a smell as if it once was a smoking room? None the less we got a good nights rest after getting back from the firework show downtown! Would stay here again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank julianerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinnlakecharle, Webmaster at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for your kind comments about our rooms and staff. I’m sorry that you experienced a strange smell. That’s unusual and not something that’s common. We take real pride in this hotel and hope it shows in everything we do. I hope you will indeed visit us again when you have the opportunity.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Checked in about 10:00pm and checked out about 6:00am the next morning so my experience with the hotel is somewhat limited. Nevertheless my welcome at check in was warm and genuine. Room was clean and very quiet. Bed was comfortable. The next morning the shower was easy to operate.complimentary coffee when I checked out. I would stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank frankhoustonTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear frankhoustonTexas,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am very glad that you appreciate the warm welcome and the accommodations you had. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to know that we have met your expectations.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alto, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel has an excellent staff, I made my reservation through Mrs. Loretta. She assured me everything would go smoothly. I checked in late and didn't feel like going to eat so I ordered from the restaurant.. Room service from the Kim's Restaurant and Bar was delicious. At breakfast everyone was friendly, willing to answer all my question. The front desk manager Rodney is a trip. Housekeeping kept my room clean and well stocked. I will call Mrs. Loretta or Mr. Rodney again to book my next stay. Happy Guest

Room Tip: Ask for Mrs. Loretta or Mr. Rodney they will make your stay great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Mr. Rodney welcomed us and a tone was set that beginning of a wonderful night. Dinner and breakfast was great in an under used eatery. Good food, reasonable prices, great service. Comfortable and clean room.

Only negative....other clientele....kids sports clubs. At$150 a night one should not have to endure kids running the halls nor their parents who could care less.

Room Tip: Hopefully the soccer/baseball/gymnastics team will not be there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ftcawo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

The restaurant was pretty good, ribeye and salad were great, not to mention we got there and ordered at 9:30 pm. The smell of smoke in my room completely hit me in the face when I walked in my room. Also, found a giant spider on my bed right before I went to sleep. I'm sure there are better places to stay in Lake Charles.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mick751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Mick751,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced particularly with the the spider and with breakfast. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into and take actions accordingly. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

First, I will start by saying I created a TripAdvisor account just to write this review. I rarely offer feedback unless it is merited. I am a business man from Houston who decided to come to Lake Charles to partake in some gaming with my wife and a friend. L'auberge was booked up, so this property along with a few others accommodate overflow. With that, supply and demand is in their favor so your typical night at this property will run you ~$200 inclusive of tax. I am a bit put off by that just having stayed at a variety of other Holiday Inn Express hotels. The parking lot was somewhat empty so I did question the advertised limited availability as depicted online when booking. I showed up on a Friday night with intentions to check out early, drive to the casino, play and then head back to Houston. Positives: The parking lot was spacious and the hotel lobby was rather grandioso for a Holiday Inn Express. You can tell this isn't your standard lobby and the franchise owner was really aiming to set their hotel apart. Negatives: The walls are paper thin. We had quite a few kids on our floor as well as above us that were just simply running and/or jumping around. The architecture of the hotel turns each room into speaker box when heavy feet are above you in another room. I managed to get over that, but the WiFi was the annoying thing. I see another reviewer in January of 2014 had a similar complaint. Management is suggestive that it was fixed? It was not and I had the same issues as described by that reviewer. This tells me that even after two months, no true action was taken. I now question how genuine or proactive these responses are by management on trip advisor. I will give them the benefit of the doubt regardless. We also noticed that kids were being left unattended. The idea here is that mommy and daddy go to the casino to play while the youngsters (9-13 year olds) are left behind to play at the pool or stay in the hotel room. I can't blame anyone but the parents, but wrap it all up and on my end, I spent way too much money to deal with a loud environment coupled with no WiFi. The room itself was "OK" but you could tell that things were getting worn with time. There was an award in the lobby suggestive of a 2013 TripAdvisor Honor. Not this year in my opinion! The frequency of negative reviews are picking up. You guys should have solved the WiFi issue weeks ago. My recommendations: Lower your price point. In a future event I would turn this hotel down at a base rate of $170. The accommodation is not worth that price point. Fix the WiFi. Have the owner shell out the cash and get it done correct the first time. If you are having to reboot the modem and have signals go in and out then something is wrong. Hire a pro. The other item would be to notify casino goers that kids can not be left unattended. Holiday Inn Express is not the McDonalds play land while Mom and Dad venture off to lose money at a roulette wheel.

Room Tip: I would opt for the highest walls as the ceilings are paper thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelNinja333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinnlakecharle, Webmaster at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments and for your recommendations. I sincerely apologize that we fell short of your expectations in this case. Rest assured that we are working to correct most of the issues you mentioned. Your comments are very valuable because they help us see where we’re going wrong so we can approve. I offer my apologies once again and sincerely thank you for taking time of offer comments and advice.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Charles hotels
1.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lake Charles
Hampton Inn Lake Charles
#4 of 34 in Lake Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Lake Charles
Courtyard Lake Charles
#13 of 34 in Lake Charles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake Charles Inn & Suites
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles
1.7 mi away
Golden Nugget Hotel
Golden Nugget Hotel
#1 of 34 in Lake Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South
Address: 2940 Lake St, Lake Charles, LA 70601-8220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites is the newest Full Service, upscale hotel in Lake Charles, LA. Location, Location, Location. The Holiday Inn and Suites, Lake Charles is in the heart of Southwest Louisiana. Business travelers will quickly realize the benefit of our location. We are near all Lake Charles , Westlake and Sulphur industries, which include Conoco Phillips, Citgo, PPG and Westlake PetroChemicals. We are the closest full service hotel to the Airport, Mcneese State University, historic downtown and Port of Lake Charles. Just moments from our front door our leisure guests will find attractions such as 5 Star Resort and Casino, Lauberge Du Lac and Sugar Cane Bay. If shopping is on your agenda, the Prien Lake Mall and many great restaurants are only a short drive away. Host your meeting or celebrate a special occasion in our state of the art meeting and banquet facility which seats up to 175 people. Our professional planning staff and outstanding catering service is sure to meet your needs. In addition to our contemporary, state of the art guest rooms our Lake Charles Holiday Inn and Suites features a business center, fitness center, indoor pool and whirlpool. Our food and beverage facility is anchored by Kem s Café bar and grill featuring outstanding American fare and your favorite spirits. Enjoy, relax and experience the serenity of the Holiday Inn and Suites, Lake Charles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Lake Charles South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing