We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff and good restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Lake Charles
Certificate of Excellence
El Lago, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful staff and good restaurant”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The staff was so polite, friendly and accommodating. Indoor pool was fun. The restaurant was surprisingly good and, again, staff was great. Not the best location but certainly accessible to all parts of the city. We would stay there in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We're very happy you were able to enjoy your time here with us. We're proud of our property and agree with you - our team is fantastic. Thank you also for recognizing our restaurant. Ms. Melinda, our Food & Beverage Director, and her team do a wonderful job. We hope you will return to us for another visit. Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    34
    15
    13
    12
See reviews for
34
39
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We just spent 3 nights in the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Lake Charles, South. The staff is very friendly and the rates are reasonable but the rooms have a musty smell and there seems to be a problem with humidity inside the hotel rooms but not in the common areas. We had two rooms and asked to be moved from the one that had the worst odor. They happily agreed to move us and showed us other rooms in the hotel. Unfortunately all the rooms we saw seemed to have the same issue.

For the price of this hotel you would think a continental breakfast would be included with the room but it is not.

The pool and gym were both clean with fully working equipment. Towels are provided in the gym and at the pool.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for the feedback about your experience. I apologize that you encountered some issues with your room and want you to know that we are addressing your concerns. Thank you for recognizing our staff. It means a great deal. I hope you booked your room at the correct hotel. In the IHG brands, complimentary breakfasts are included with the room rate at Holiday Inn Express. Our hotel is part of the Holiday Inn & Suites brand, which has a restaurant for ordering off of the menu as well as room service. If you choose to stay with us again, especially if you are with your family, then you might look into our Best-For-Breakfast rate. For $10 more than a regular room rate, this plan will cover the first $20 of your bill in our restaurant for breakfast. In addition, children 12 and under are able to order off a special Kid's Menu and may do so with our compliments at no charge. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirzapur, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

30 Min drive from Lake Charles Airport. 100 Percent smoke free (100 percent non smoking hotel ). It really good Staff is very helpful. Worth for the money you pay. Location is good, shopping mals are near in vicinity, with a 2 miles of hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mishrarohit9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us! We're happy you felt there was value here and your money was worth the experience. We look forward to providing that again on your next visit. Until then we hope you will continue to stay with IHG hotels.

Best regards,
Mike Duhon
GM
Holiday Inn & Suites - Lake Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have been staying at this chain through the US as we travel. The staff where fantastic in service and friendly beyond belief nothing was too much. The rooms where clean and the pool area was excellent.
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belindahollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you very much for your nice review. Our team works very hard and it is a nice boost when their efforts are recognized. I agree - they are some of the friendliest people you can find. Thank you again for staying with us. We appreciate the recommendation and hope to see you here again soon!

Sincerely,
Mike Duhon
GM
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Lake Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlingen, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Mr. Rodney set the tone for the night...he was very friendly and our check in was fast and easy. Room was clean and beds were comfortable..only thing I have to say was that the room had a smell as if it once was a smoking room? None the less we got a good nights rest after getting back from the firework show downtown! Would stay here again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank julianerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinnlakecharle, Webmaster at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for your kind comments about our rooms and staff. I’m sorry that you experienced a strange smell. That’s unusual and not something that’s common. We take real pride in this hotel and hope it shows in everything we do. I hope you will indeed visit us again when you have the opportunity.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Checked in about 10:00pm and checked out about 6:00am the next morning so my experience with the hotel is somewhat limited. Nevertheless my welcome at check in was warm and genuine. Room was clean and very quiet. Bed was comfortable. The next morning the shower was easy to operate.complimentary coffee when I checked out. I would stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank frankhoustonTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear frankhoustonTexas,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am very glad that you appreciate the warm welcome and the accommodations you had. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to know that we have met your expectations.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alto, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel has an excellent staff, I made my reservation through Mrs. Loretta. She assured me everything would go smoothly. I checked in late and didn't feel like going to eat so I ordered from the restaurant.. Room service from the Kim's Restaurant and Bar was delicious. At breakfast everyone was friendly, willing to answer all my question. The front desk manager Rodney is a trip. Housekeeping kept my room clean and well stocked. I will call Mrs. Loretta or Mr. Rodney again to book my next stay. Happy Guest

Room Tip: Ask for Mrs. Loretta or Mr. Rodney they will make your stay great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Charles hotels
1.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lake Charles
Hampton Inn Lake Charles
#4 of 34 in Lake Charles
324 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lake Charles Casino Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles
1.7 mi away
Golden Nugget Hotel
Golden Nugget Hotel
#1 of 34 in Lake Charles
1,310 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake Charles Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South
Address: 2940 Lake St, Lake Charles, LA 70601-8220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites is the newest Full Service, upscale hotel in Lake Charles, LA. Location, Location, Location. The Holiday Inn and Suites, Lake Charles is in the heart of Southwest Louisiana. Business travelers will quickly realize the benefit of our location. We are near all Lake Charles , Westlake and Sulphur industries, which include Conoco Phillips, Citgo, PPG and Westlake PetroChemicals. We are the closest full service hotel to the Airport, Mcneese State University, historic downtown and Port of Lake Charles. Just moments from our front door our leisure guests will find attractions such as 5 Star Resort and Casino, Lauberge Du Lac and Sugar Cane Bay. If shopping is on your agenda, the Prien Lake Mall and many great restaurants are only a short drive away. Host your meeting or celebrate a special occasion in our state of the art meeting and banquet facility which seats up to 175 people. Our professional planning staff and outstanding catering service is sure to meet your needs. In addition to our contemporary, state of the art guest rooms our Lake Charles Holiday Inn and Suites features a business center, fitness center, indoor pool and whirlpool. Our food and beverage facility is anchored by Kem s Café bar and grill featuring outstanding American fare and your favorite spirits. Enjoy, relax and experience the serenity of the Holiday Inn and Suites, Lake Charles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Lake Charles South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing