We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Excellent Substitute When Casino Hotels Were Booked!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Lake Charles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Lake Charles
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Lake Charles
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An Excellent Substitute When Casino Hotels Were Booked!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Room type – Suite with two queen beds (looked like full sized beds) and sofa bed separated by divider. There were three areas with a pocket door - toilet with a “lil” sink, closet, and a sink/shower area. There was also a mini refrigerator and microwave in the room.

Pros:
• Close to casino and mall
• Excellent customer service
• Comfortable beds
• Free breakfast
• Free Wi-Fi
• Early check-in
• Good cell phone reception (ATT and BoostMobile)

Cons:
• Only one television (37”) for entire room. The television cannot be situated for everyone in the room to view it simultaneously
• Shower only; no bathtub
• Towels were new but rough

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sujag1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    63
    15
    8
    9
See reviews for
79
42
12
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Normally my wife and I stay at the L’Auberge du Lac so that our room is near the casino. But at $159 + tax a night to roll there, we thought it worth the gamble to see what others on TripAdvisor were hitting on. After parking for free right next to the main entrance, we entered SHS's modest, clean and brightly colored lobby with our best poker faces on, expecting the worse. But, Amanda at check in was as cool as a high stakes dealer. She scored us the best room at the end of the hall on the side away from the highway (a bit noisy).

When we opened the room door, never having stayed in a Spring Hills Suite, we were quite apprehensive about what number we would land on. (We felt a bit of luck could be riding with us since the key color throughout the hallways and rooms is dollar bill green.) To our surprise we scored a modest jackpot for a hotel less than 2 months old. Comfy queen bed with comforter, pullout sofa, pro desk chair/desk, great lighting (no neon though), free WI-FI throughout, free breakfast and newspaper, lots of light wood accents and frosted glass throughout the suite. Even got a microwave and an iHome radio that you can dock your iPod into. Widescreen LG tele with decent channels for Bayou Country. High quality treadmills and cross-trainers, and an indoor pool/jacuzzi for us triathletes, although the pool size is tighter than the odds on a crooked roulette wheel.

My wife and I often stay at Hyatt Place for personal travel or at the casino itself because they are generally safer bets. But, if the other SpringHills are like this one in Lake Charles, we could be convinced to play at Mr Marriott's tables more often.

Room Tip: Book way in advance. A new property this good will sell out fast once people know it's open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N/A
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

I had booked 2 rooms a few weeks in advance of my visit from out of town. It was very important that both rooms were in close proximity and I did tell the reservation clerk of my need. She stated that it shouldn't be a problem but stated that it is not uncommon to check in and find out that such requests are not honored. Well, upon check-in the rooms were NOT even close to one another. I kindly asked the desk clerk to please help by putting them closer. She actually sighed and grudgingly started to peck away at her computer. She said that it wasn't possible. I went up to my room and noticed that the room directly next to mine was being cleaned. I called down to the desk and asked if we could have THAT room. I met with resistance but pushed a little harder until I finally got another peevish sigh and testy response. We two adults waited patiently in my room until the other was cleaned...about 15 min.
We left soon to go to a festival. Arriving into the empty lobby we noticed the manager giving the desk clerk a shoulder/back rub. Really?! The next day upon check out there was a new person at the desk. He was a great kid who had obviously had training with the public. The manager from the day before showed up and I mentioned to him that we had a difficult time with the woman desk clerk. He clammed up and didn't say anything...just walked away. I never raised my voice or was curt my entire stay. The whole thing was weird.
OTHER than THAT: The rooms were very clean. The free breakfast was one of the better I have had in a chain hotel. It also seemed to be in a safe and well monitored area.
(The pool, by the way, is very very small)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kashmirohio2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

We were in town for my son's World Series in Sulphur and our team stayed at this hotel. The staff was more than accomodating! We had 11 families staying here with several kids in each family. They were so easy to work with. Always offering to help out in anyway that they could - helping us with trash from our team dinners, letting us sit inside to eat so the bugs wouldn't get us, and taking the time to talk to the kids and not treat them as a nuisance. I would stay here again without any qualms whatsoever! Great rooms and great staff! The place was so clean. The breakfast was good and had a lot of variety.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baseballmama98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
123 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

This is a new hotel near the interstate and casino. It is hands down the cleanest, most up to date, comfortable and surprisingly modern hotel I've ever stayed in. The rooms are awesome with separate sitting area/work area. The bed was super comfortable and the entire hotel smelled clean and fresh. Kudos to Marriott on this one. I will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank firemshll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

Brand new hotel (1 week old). Extremely nice staff. European style rooms with extra comfy beds. Wifi, good AT&T and Sprint reception. Good breakfast with waffles, hot scrambled eggs and more. The only very minor issue was that they did not do a good job of keeping up with the breakfast rush. They ran out of spoons, cups, coffee stirs, etc. I have stayed at a couple of other SpringHill suites and so far this one is my favorite.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AustinBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

We were celebrating our 31st wedding anniversary and only had time for a quick getaway. This hotel had only been open 8 days when we arrived. Everything was running smoothly except for having to log on several times a day to the wireless internet, but they were working on it. Breakfast was good and comparable to other complementary breakfasts. Walk-in shower, well lighted sink, and separate toilet with mini-sink was novel. Stand-alone closet was smaller than a usual closet, but still held all our clothes. Pillow-top bed was very comfortable and supportive, and not very hard like most hotels. 40+ inch flat screen TV--just like ours at home. Excellent room cooling for those 95+ degree days. Well-lighted room and desk with multiple plugs and great office chair for computer work. Close to nearby casino (Lauberge du Loc) and several restaurants. Don't know if other rooms have tubs or if all have showers only. We were provided with plenty of towels and washcloths, too. My only regret was that we could not stay longer--I might get some work done on my book! For the first time in a long time, this hotel met ALL of my high standards (if they get that pesky wireless internet log-on fixed!).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissHighStandards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Charles hotels
0.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area
1.2 mi away
Golden Nugget Hotel
Golden Nugget Hotel
#1 of 33 in Lake Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lake Charles
Hampton Inn Lake Charles
#3 of 33 in Lake Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Prien Lake Inn & Suites
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Lake Charles
Residence Inn Lake Charles
#7 of 33 in Lake Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lake Charles Casino Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Lake Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Lake Charles

Property: SpringHill Suites Lake Charles
Address: 1551 West Prien Lake Road, Lake Charles, LA 70601
Region: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Charles
#2 Business Hotel in Lake Charles
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Lake Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles, guests stay in accommodations that are anything but ordinary. Our Lake Charles hotel's suites and public areas are made to offer comfort for business and leisure travelers, especially travelers on extended stays. But, our hotel is also stylish and it is full of color and helpful amenities. Stay with us at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles and take advantage of modern accommodations (all suites!) filled with many thoughtful amenities, all without an extra cost! Enjoy a spacious guest suite with a plush bed, pull-out sofa, flat-panel TV, and kitchenette. Also, relax knowing we have a refreshing indoor pool and heated whirlpool to unwind in, a free daily breakfast to fuel you up, and a chic Lobby bar offering cocktails until 10 p.m. Plus, you get a superb location when you stay with us, near casinos and right off the I-210. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Lake Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Lake Charles Hotel Lake Charles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing