We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Lake Charles”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Lake Charles
Certificate of Excellence
Austin Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Lake Charles”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

New hotel in the Lake Charles, LA area. Free breakfast included, bar opens at 4pm. New design of hotel for Springhill suites. Spacious rooms and very friendly and helpful staff. Free coffee in the lobby 24hrs a day! This will be where I stay when in the Lake Charles, Kinder area of Louisiana

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lornem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    66
    17
    12
    11
See reviews for
85
45
13
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Summit, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I spent two nights here for business. Since I travel quite a bit for work, I don't really expect much from the hotel that I stay in, however this hotel far exceeded my expectations. Every single member of the staff that I encountered was friendly and helpful and really made being on a work-related trip by myself much more enjoyable. The rooms were extremely spacious and clean. There were a few restaurants within walking distance and it was nice to have the small lobby bar to have a glass of wine at the end of the day. The only negative was being so close to the freeway and hearing road noise, but it would not be enough of a drawback to prevent me from staying here on future trips to the area.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room that faces the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naptown_nibbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I spent three weeks here on business from the UK. The hotel smelt clean as soon as you walked in the doors. All the staff always spoke to me whenever they saw me, and never refused to be as helpful as possible. The only drawback is the location as the interstate is on the back of the hotel therefore you should try to book a room on the front. I would definitely return if I was visiting the area in the future. Give it a try I don,t think you would be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voltbolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

New, clean hotel. Accomodating, friendly staff. Very nice hot breakfast bar. Convenient to the interstate. Freeway noise was the only negative.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marthae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

This is a beautiful hotel. It is new and very clean and the prices are reasonable. However, do not stay in odd numbered rooms. They face I-210 and the rooms are very noisy - especially at higher floors. The staff is outstanding and very friendly. Just make sure you get on the right side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose even numbered rooms only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasper298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We needed to break up our 12 hour drive home from Thanksgiving so I picked this hotel b/c it was #1 on Tripadvisor. I also read online that Marriott brands should have portable cribs. The hotel seems very new. It's right by I-10 interstate, but we stayed on the opposite side and it was very quiet. The hotel is right near a nice shopping center (we got take-out from Jo-Jo Chinese Bistro that was yummy). The crib was in our room upon arrival. We were told that it came with sheets but there were none. We asked and were told to use the sheets in the closet that go with the pull-out sofa. That was fine and worked well. The room was not huge but comfortable. The bath set-up is kind of modern with toilet and shower in separate little rooms. Shower/sink and toliet/sink room both has sliding rooms. So there are two sinks in the room. Shower is stand-up only. There is no tub. It was spacious though. Breakfast was average. Muffins and coffee were good. There is a little "marketplace" by front desk - like little vending area. I mainly noticed that they had Ben & Jerry's and Haagen Daas ice cream. Didn't see the prices.

Only bad really is that we asked for extra shampoo/conditioner and were given baby shampoo. When we asked for adult items, we were told that this is all they have. Also, we had to get our room keycards redone. Random guest opened door to our room. I guess they gave him our room by mistake. But it was quickly fixed.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms do not face the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
337 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I stayed here with my girlfriend and 4 kids over the Thanksgiving holiday visiting family. The rooms are very nice, with a hipsterish look and feel. The partion between the rooms is really a set of sliding glass panels. The bathroom is divided into two rooms, a WC and a shower room. I liked this but my girlfriend didn't. There was no bathtub, just a shower. Bedsheets, pillows, and comforter were real comfortable.

The indoor pool is heated just right and the hot tub is the hottest hot tub I've ever been in. This was a welcome change from most lukewarm hot tubs.

The breakfast buffet was simply wonderful. Eggs, sausage, pastries, cereal, oatmeal, grits, and a do it yourself waffle iron. Coffee was high quality as well.

The whole property is brand new and very close to the casino, Prien Lake Mall, and I-210.

My son got lost at this hotel and the staff were on it quick. He was found within 5 minutes (wandered into the hotel elevator accidentally). Every request I had to the front desk was granted (i.e. the boys wanted to watch cartoons while my gf and I were finishing up breakfast).

You can certainly do a whole lot worse, but I really don't think you can do any better.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazyAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Charles hotels
0.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lake Charles
Hampton Inn Lake Charles
#4 of 34 in Lake Charles
325 reviews
1.3 mi away
Golden Nugget Hotel
Golden Nugget Hotel
#1 of 34 in Lake Charles
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Lake Charles
Courtyard Lake Charles
#12 of 34 in Lake Charles
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Lake Charles
Residence Inn Lake Charles
#8 of 34 in Lake Charles
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lake Charles Casino Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles

Property: SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles
Address: 1551 W Prien Lake Rd, Lake Charles, LA 70601-8364
Region: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lake Charles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Charles
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles, guests stay in accommodations that are anything but ordinary. Our Lake Charles hotel's suites and public areas are made to offer comfort for business and leisure travelers, especially travelers on extended stays. But, our hotel is also stylish and it is full of color and helpful amenities. Stay with us at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles and take advantage of modern accommodations (all suites!) filled with many thoughtful amenities, all without an extra cost! Enjoy a spacious guest suite with a plush bed, pull-out sofa, flat-panel TV, and kitchenette. Also, relax knowing we have a refreshing indoor pool and heated whirlpool to unwind in, a free daily breakfast to fuel you up, and a chic Lobby bar offering cocktails until 10 p.m. Plus, you get a superb location when you stay with us, near casinos and right off the I-210. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Lake Charles Hotel Lake Charles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing