We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freshness not the bestest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Lake Charles
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Charles, Louisiana
2 reviews
“Freshness not the bestest”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This hotel is a very beautiful facility, very nice! But the room I had a really thick mildew smell. And you wouldn't expect such because the hotel itself has a wonderful aroma is very well kept and clean. Thankfully I travel with air freshener, but then in this case the air conditioner didn't quite blow cool so it wasn't too good of a combination. I'm thinking the mildew smell is maybe just the carpet or chemical used to clean the carpet. The rooms are very nice and clean and the staff is so friendly and welcoming! The facility also offers great amenities.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsAnonymous2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHill Suit... L, Sales Coordinator at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. We apologize your room wasn’t as fresh as we would have liked it to have been. We take pride in making sure every detail is perfect. We hope you come back again and let us show you what we are all about!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    68
    18
    14
    11
See reviews for
88
47
14
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I meet two employees that really helped me name Mary Jones and Naomi Faulk. My husband got sick and they ask us if we needed any thing I told them we we're here from California they gave me a prayer line card and they prayed with us and they also said they well pray for us in y'all daily meeting. God sent them to me and I'm so thankful for the stay and y'all have a wonderful stay. Those two ladies really touched my heart

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrygodlife2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHill Suit... L, Sales Coordinator at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. We are sorry to hear about your husband getting sick. We hope that he got better quickly and that you eventually enjoyed your stay. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again and that everyone traveling with you will be 100%!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We just had a wonderful time at this hotel. It was very close to everything. We had a party in one of the rooms and everyone worked great with us. The staff is outstanding. From Nathan who helped with the room to the great breakfast staff ( Naumi, Natalid, and Aerion) to Getting our rooms ready to the wonderful staff at the front desk ( Satarie)! This is one of the most friendlist staff and we will be back. The hot tub was just great. Thanks for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hartgillaspie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHill Suit... L, Sales Coordinator at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for letting us know how your stay was. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and what our hotel has to offer! We pride ourselves on our one of a kind customer service and are so happy that you had the chance to experience it! We hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The full breakfast was very nice, with very helpful staff. We were here three days, and especially appreciated the help of Mary, Naomi, Aerion, and Nahalia. They even offered to put together a going-away meal for us to take on our departure day. Our housekeeper Johanna was excellent. The hotel is new (about 3 yrs old), extremely clean, and in excellent condition, with very nice and helpful staff in all positions. They are genuinely caring people. The rooms are beautiful with a great arrangement. We did not encounter any one here who was less than 100% interested in our having a good stay. We had a couple small problems with the room, and their very efficient maintenance man promptly fixed them up. We appreciate the fact that they have a corporate chaplain, and a morning "Celebration" for the employees, which met in the lobby. They are very willing to pray for guest's special concerns if requested. The guest laundromat was very clean and convenient. The central location of the hotel near the freeway is very convenient. We definitely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling in this area.

Room Tip: We are light sleepers, so our room on the front side of the hotel was a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHill Suit... L, Sales Coordinator at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how your stay was! We are so happy to hear that you received our one of a kind customer service! One of our core goals is to make sure that every guest has a stay like you did. We hope that you will come back and visit with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Charles, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I really liked the split bathroom, but the mirror in it is not functional. The beds were very comfortable. Suggest upgrading your TV provider so the remotes have a guide to find channels especially the HiDefinition ones. The kitchen staff were all on their toes and kept food on the line. Natalia Naomi and Aerion were constantly stocking, cleaning and checking on guest. Your staff from the maids to management were neat in appearance and friendly and projected that they truly cared and enjoyed their jobs.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHill Suit... L, Sales Coordinator at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay was. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful staff! We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willis, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2014

All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. During breakfast Naomi made sure everyone was happy and offered any assistance if it was needed.

The rooms are very spacious and clean. Check-in was quick and easy.

The breakfast variety was good as well.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHill Suit... L, Sales Coordinator at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you had the chance to experience our one of a kind customer service! We have revamped our breakfast options and are so excited that you liked them! We hope that you will come back and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We normally stay further west at the Fairfield Inn in Sulphur but decided to redeem a freebie night at this property on this trip. It turned out to be a good choice. The lobby is of the new modern design with the dropped gauzy blue curtains. It does present a different ambience than that most other hotel lobbies.

Brittany checked us in with a friendly smile and answered our questions about the hotel and area. We were on our way to room 425 in a flash. The room was fine. It was clean, cool and laid out for efficiency. Everything worked and although the room corner faced the 210, the road noise was not a factor during the night.

This location has a full bar in the lobby and because this was Lundi Gras (Monday before Mardi Gras) there was a happy hour (2 for 1) drink special from 5-7 PM. There was a spin-for-a-gift wheel going on and gifts ranged from a simple cup to a free night. We won some beads, a cup and a travel water bottle. They also laid out some boudin sausage bites and several King Cakes, both of which were quite tasty. Breakfast the next morning was the usual SHS fare and we easily found enough to satisfy our appetites.

Overall, this is a nice place to stop and all of the staff are very cordial, helpful and proficient in their positions. There was even a nice young man in the lobby offering to scrape the ice from our windshield if we wanted. I haven't had that offer since I stayed at the Mclean Hilton in Tyson's Corner years ago. A nice touch. The rates are quite a bit higher than the Farifield down the freeway but if you want to splurge a little, stay here in Lake Charles.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lonestarlizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHill Suit... L, Sales Coordinator at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay was. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our many amenities! Lundi Gras was something new and exciting that we tried and got a really good turnout for it! We will definitely do it again next year with many more events like it to come this year as well! We hope that next time you are in town you will choose to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Charles hotels
0.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area
1.3 mi away
Golden Nugget Hotel
Golden Nugget Hotel
#1 of 34 in Lake Charles
1,351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lake Charles
Hampton Inn Lake Charles
#4 of 34 in Lake Charles
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Lake Charles
Residence Inn Lake Charles
#8 of 34 in Lake Charles
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lake Charles Casino Area
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Lake Charles
Courtyard Lake Charles
#10 of 34 in Lake Charles
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles

Property: SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles
Address: 1551 W Prien Lake Rd, Lake Charles, LA 70601-8364
Region: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lake Charles
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Charles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles, guests stay in accommodations that are anything but ordinary. Our Lake Charles hotel's suites and public areas are made to offer comfort for business and leisure travelers, especially travelers on extended stays. But, our hotel is also stylish and it is full of color and helpful amenities. Stay with us at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles and take advantage of modern accommodations (all suites!) filled with many thoughtful amenities, all without an extra cost! Enjoy a spacious guest suite with a plush bed, pull-out sofa, flat-panel TV, and kitchenette. Also, relax knowing we have a refreshing indoor pool and heated whirlpool to unwind in, a free daily breakfast to fuel you up, and a chic Lobby bar offering cocktails until 10 p.m. Plus, you get a superb location when you stay with us, near casinos and right off the I-210. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Lake Charles Hotel Lake Charles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing