We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upscale but in a very congested area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Lake Charles
Certificate of Excellence
Slidell, La
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Upscale but in a very congested area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The hotel itself is fairly new and very modern. Rooms were nicely decorated, clean,and of average size. Beds were very comfortable. The air conditioner presented somewhat of a problem in that the bed closest to the unit was too cold while the sitting area much further away was on the warm side. The breakfast was above average in regard to the number of items offered as well as the number of. Healthy food items. There is a nice indoor pool (very small) as well as a well equipped gym. The staff (as is usual in Marriot facilities) were friendly and helpful.
Location wise it is in a very congested suburban area. The front of the hotel is on a street with nonstop traffic and the back is very close to the interstate. There is quite a bit of traffic noise which we were able to partially drown out by keeping the fan running continuously. There are several restaurants within walking distance (Olive Garden and O'Charleys to name a few) but if you go to one across the street it's very difficult to cross.
Price wise it seemed a little on the expensive side. However, despite these issues, we would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: A higher floor might be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudySlidell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHill Suit... L, Sales Coordinator at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. We apologize for any problems you might have had during your stay. We hope that you will come back and give us another chance to “OVERWOW” you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    65
    16
    9
    10
See reviews for
82
43
12
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed here for a three day, three night meeting in Lake Charles. The property is very new, bright, and clean. The rooms are spacious, and as a suite property, all have sitting area/desk areas partially separated from the sleeping area. One unique feature is that the bathrooms are split into two separate spaces - one with shower and sink and a second with toilet and mini-sink. That's a nice arrangement if you have a roommate on a business trip. If you're alone, its a bit strange to not have an all-in-one bathroom. Not a negative, just a unique arrangement. The complimentary breakfast is very average. If you have choices in Lake Charles and want to earn Marriott Reward points, this is a good option for a new, clean hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank changeslattitudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHill Suit... L, Sales Coordinator at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was! We are so excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We hope that you will come back and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Sprint Hill Suites and meeting room was fabulous. Very clean, comfortable, spacious suites. We will definitely keep this on our list for future business meetings.

Mary-Kate and Mischa was very helpful and informative when setting up our event! I appreciated the follow up after follow up after the event. Great Team!

Thank you, Karen H.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHill Suit... L, Sales Coordinator at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed every part of your stay! We hope that you will come back and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Charles, Louisiana
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

This hotel is a very beautiful facility, very nice! But the room I had a really thick mildew smell. And you wouldn't expect such because the hotel itself has a wonderful aroma is very well kept and clean. Thankfully I travel with air freshener, but then in this case the air conditioner didn't quite blow cool so it wasn't too good of a combination. I'm thinking the mildew smell is maybe just the carpet or chemical used to clean the carpet. The rooms are very nice and clean and the staff is so friendly and welcoming! The facility also offers great amenities.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsAnonymous2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHill Suit... L, Sales Coordinator at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. We apologize your room wasn’t as fresh as we would have liked it to have been. We take pride in making sure every detail is perfect. We hope you come back again and let us show you what we are all about!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I meet two employees that really helped me name Mary Jones and Naomi Faulk. My husband got sick and they ask us if we needed any thing I told them we we're here from California they gave me a prayer line card and they prayed with us and they also said they well pray for us in y'all daily meeting. God sent them to me and I'm so thankful for the stay and y'all have a wonderful stay. Those two ladies really touched my heart

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrygodlife2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHill Suit... L, Sales Coordinator at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. We are sorry to hear about your husband getting sick. We hope that he got better quickly and that you eventually enjoyed your stay. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again and that everyone traveling with you will be 100%!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We just had a wonderful time at this hotel. It was very close to everything. We had a party in one of the rooms and everyone worked great with us. The staff is outstanding. From Nathan who helped with the room to the great breakfast staff ( Naumi, Natalid, and Aerion) to Getting our rooms ready to the wonderful staff at the front desk ( Satarie)! This is one of the most friendlist staff and we will be back. The hot tub was just great. Thanks for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hartgillaspie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHill Suit... L, Sales Coordinator at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for letting us know how your stay was. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and what our hotel has to offer! We pride ourselves on our one of a kind customer service and are so happy that you had the chance to experience it! We hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

The full breakfast was very nice, with very helpful staff. We were here three days, and especially appreciated the help of Mary, Naomi, Aerion, and Nahalia. They even offered to put together a going-away meal for us to take on our departure day. Our housekeeper Johanna was excellent. The hotel is new (about 3 yrs old), extremely clean, and in excellent condition, with very nice and helpful staff in all positions. They are genuinely caring people. The rooms are beautiful with a great arrangement. We did not encounter any one here who was less than 100% interested in our having a good stay. We had a couple small problems with the room, and their very efficient maintenance man promptly fixed them up. We appreciate the fact that they have a corporate chaplain, and a morning "Celebration" for the employees, which met in the lobby. They are very willing to pray for guest's special concerns if requested. The guest laundromat was very clean and convenient. The central location of the hotel near the freeway is very convenient. We definitely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling in this area.

Room Tip: We are light sleepers, so our room on the front side of the hotel was a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHill Suit... L, Sales Coordinator at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how your stay was! We are so happy to hear that you received our one of a kind customer service! One of our core goals is to make sure that every guest has a stay like you did. We hope that you will come back and visit with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Charles hotels
0.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area
1.3 mi away
Golden Nugget Hotel
Golden Nugget Hotel
#1 of 33 in Lake Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lake Charles
Hampton Inn Lake Charles
#3 of 33 in Lake Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Prien Lake Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Lake Charles
Courtyard Lake Charles
#13 of 33 in Lake Charles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Lake Charles
Residence Inn Lake Charles
#6 of 33 in Lake Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles

Property: SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles
Address: 1551 West Prien Lake Road, Lake Charles, LA 70601
Region: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Charles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Charles
#2 Business Hotel in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles, guests stay in accommodations that are anything but ordinary. Our Lake Charles hotel's suites and public areas are made to offer comfort for business and leisure travelers, especially travelers on extended stays. But, our hotel is also stylish and it is full of color and helpful amenities. Stay with us at SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles and take advantage of modern accommodations (all suites!) filled with many thoughtful amenities, all without an extra cost! Enjoy a spacious guest suite with a plush bed, pull-out sofa, flat-panel TV, and kitchenette. Also, relax knowing we have a refreshing indoor pool and heated whirlpool to unwind in, a free daily breakfast to fuel you up, and a chic Lobby bar offering cocktails until 10 p.m. Plus, you get a superb location when you stay with us, near casinos and right off the I-210. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Lake Charles Hotel Lake Charles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing