We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Lake Charles
Bulverde, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Room was clean, great water pressure, and the breakfast coffee were great. Good Job!!!! The only problem we encountered is getting in and out of the parking lot onto cross roads. Only one way to enter property...Had to make alot of uturns to get in....Thank you!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    37
    17
    4
    14
See reviews for
27
36
4
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elysian Fields, TX
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I am a little perplexed by the reviews regarding rude service. I have stayed at this location quite a number of times (I work in L.C. a week each month). I have been staying at the Southside location for a few months but decided to stay here again just for something different. I had honestly forgotten how nice this location was.
If you are one who likes to notice things like hallways, this one is the most attractive of all in town.
I was upgraded to a beautifull room; something NONE of the other Lake Chas/Sulpher HIEX have (ever) done-and should have, considering the amount of money I spend each month and that I am a Platinum member.
Anyway, as has always been the case, service has always been top-notch.
I see no reason you would not enjoy your stay here if passing through. Oh, and this location is always the best priced of all the HIEX in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Rio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Upon arrival at Lake Charles, we proceeded to the Holiday Inn Express where we were met by a very nice young lady, who reviewed our reservation papers, as you had made reservations through the Holiday Inn web site. The young lady told us that our room were not ready, but would be by 2:30-3:30 pm, so we decided to grab lunch and return at that time.
When we returned the young lady was gone and had been replaced by a elder lady by the name of "Rebecca". We had to wait because there was another couple in front of us, and the lady named "Rebecca" was nice to the couple by answering Yes Sir, No sir. When it came our turn, her attitude changed 180 degrees. Why ?? All we said was Good Afternoon and showed her our reservations.
She proceeded to tell us that she would not be able to honor what was priced over the phone, when we made the reservations. When we started to question her, she yelled at us and told us that the people that made the reservation for us did not know what they were doing, and that she was in charge, and if we did not like the price she was coming up with we should leave. Upon further questioning on her pricing by us she flat out yelled at us, again, and told us to leave.
We have used Holiday Inn Express web site before and the price given to us is always honored what out question.
I do not know what "Rebecca" problem was, but I feel that because we were Hispanics all of this occured. Why treat someone like they own the place, and in less than two minutes treat us like d
After being told to leave we spent the next three hours looking for a room on Memorial Holiday week-end; we finally had to travel 60 miles to find a room for 20% higher than we had expected, and only for one night. Sunday morning, back to see if we could find a room.
By "Rebecca's " actions our week-end was shot. I will never stay here again and if I could warn others that as long as "Rebecca" is working here, you might as well look for anyother place to stay. The attitude displayed by "Rebecca" the Holiday Inn Express would be better served by having her clean the parking lot, or in some back room that does not deals with the general public.
BOTTOM LINE, IF YOU ARE HISPANIC, AND THE PERSON BY THE NAME OF "REBECCA" IS AT THE FRONT DESK, YOU MIGHT AS WELL JUST LEAVE, BEFORE SHE RUNS YOU OUT.

Room Tip: Unable to rate as I never got passed the front desk. Do Not Stay Here
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Fernan12234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear Fernan12234,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take comments such as these very serious and would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Charles hotels

Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

First of all, getting luggage into the motel takes two people: one to hold the two sets of manual doors, and the other to negotiate the luggage cart through the narrow openings. Secondly, the desk clerk's greeting was quite mediocre. She barely spoke beyond asking the necessary check-in questions and, as Priority Club members, we were not offered the gift bags containing water and snack. In addition, the rooms were overly cluttered with furniture and appliances in trying to keep up with the newer Holiday Inns. Lastly, this motel was the most expensive and offered a most sleepless night - very noisy with floor-wide parties and socializing. Not a place for the tired traveler.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gasunflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Dear Gasunflower,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Member and taking time to leave us a review. Please accept my sincerest apology for any inconvenience the staff may have caused. We will follow up with the hotel to ensure similar incidents won't happen again in the future.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource of improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamo, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

We are travelling across the country and have found Holiday Inn Express hotels to be an acceptable choice. The room we had at this 9 year old hotel had obviously been redone recently. Room was very clean, hotel had laundry facilities, and the front desk staff was very cordial. The cleaning ladies even offered to help us unload our van!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lgrif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We just checked in. Normally, I do not leave views, however, I felt compelled to do so this time. The hotel is under construction which is fine and a normal part of business. However, the associate, "Rebecca," working at the front desk was extremely rude to my father when he did not hear her and did not understand that it was under construction. He asked for an accommodation for my mother who has a disability. He requested that she be on the first floor. She used a very angry tone when and told him that they were under construction and could not do that. He then asked if he could be near the elevator. She was continually rude to him and used a very demeaning tone. She told him that he could not read because it was under construction. The sign read "Men with toolbelts" or some other unclear statement. It was not very clear that it was under construction. Even so, she needs a lesson in patience and understanding and should not have been rude to my father especially when he was asking for accommodations for my mother. It saddens me that to this day that there are people ignorant and rude and continually treat people with disabilities in such a fashion. I hope that the manager and owner provides training at this location or at most fires this inconsiderate person.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Thisisme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinnexpresslak, Webmaster at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Holiday inn, Lake Charles!

Thanks for your stay and the review.

We shall definitely check and take action on your remark.

We won’t justify, but shall investigate on this and take necessary actions.

The concerned hotel staff, Rebecca has been taken to task.

Guest reviews always help us to improve.

You are always welcome to stay with us and we will offer you the best hospitality.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Showed up there late as we were driving. When we tried to check in found out that according the "Louisiana State Law" no room can be rented to anyone under 21. I was travelling with some kids and cannot be in the same room as them for obvious reasons.

Funny that in all my stays in Louisiana, this has never happened. So on the next two nights, asked hotel staff and GM's and they never heard of such a law.

Terrible staff, very rude and was surprised. This year, will book over 100 hotel nights and thought of using Holiday Inn's, but have since changed my mind and will stay with Hilton's and Marriott's where customer service is top notch.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinnexpresslak, Webmaster at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for the stay at the Holiday Inn and writing the review with observations.

We apologize for whatever may have happened howsoever.

Please note that we have investigated the unfortunate trouble you had, but have taken remedial steps to see that it never happens again to any of our guests.

Once again we are sorry for the same and please do rethink and visit us.

We will see that you get a nice experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Charles hotels
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South
4.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lake Charles Casino Area
5.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Lake Charles
Comfort Inn Lake Charles
#10 of 35 in Lake Charles
141 reviews
4.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake Charles Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles
Address: 402 Martin Luther King Highway, Lake Charles, LA 70601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Lake Charles the finest hotel in Southwest Louisiana. Our hotel offers 81 spacious rooms or you can treat yourself to one of our suites equipped with a Jacuzzi bathtub. We can host your next meeting or small reception in our meeting room that can accommodate up to 50 guests.Our Lake Charles hotel is centrally located with easy access to I-10, Conoco, PPG, Sasol, Cit-Con, Westlake Petrochemicals, Citgo and Westlake Polymers. Try your luck at the nearby Lake Charles Casinos, Isle of Capri, L'Auberge Du Lac and play golf in their Tom Fazio designed golf course. Take a relaxing stroll through downtown Lake Charles or experience one of Lake Charles area golf clubs, Pine Shadows, Mallard Cove or Graywood Plantation Golf Course. We are in close proximity to McNeese State University and Lake Charles Regional Airport. Our dedicated staff at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is here to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Hotel discounts available for AAA members and senior citizens with a valid ID at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lake Charles Hotel Lake Charles
Holiday Inn Lake Charles
Lake Charles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing