We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Surpise!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Lake Charles
Ferris, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surpise!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed here for my birthday because we thought it was really close to the Casino's. It was about a 10 minute trip that we didn't mind taking. Upon coming into my room I had a little personalized note saying Happy Birthday!!! That was sweet. Great customer service all the way around. From the maid, check-in, manager and maintenance personnel. The room was very spacious and clean. The bed was quite cozy. Will stay again if we travel these parts in the future. By the way visit Steamboat Bills Seafood down the road!!! Delicious!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjaytaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    35
    17
    4
    13
See reviews for
25
35
4
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Oh my god... where to start... ok, the area at night is very, very shady, I wanted to get a couple of beers before going to sleep and the receptionist told me to go to the nearest service station which looks to be right on the edge of a ghetto.

The place? well it is is old, smelly and not very well taken care of. The carpets have stains all over, the bathrooms are gross and everything just seems dirty everywhere you go.

The staff is kind of friendly, but they should be! they charged me 150 dollars for a 1 night stay... I've paid less in 5 star hotels.

Really, avoid this place if you can... the other hotels near the casino seem to be in better conditions.

Room Tip: To get a good room drive down the 210 and get off on Nelson Rd, right by the Wyndham sign and take y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WhitHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear WhitHouston,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Charles hotels

Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Tried to book a room, the staff were rude and we ended up leaving. I was highly disappointed because I love this hotel chain. But the location looked good and it appeared very clean. So maybe you will have better luck.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellanebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Bellanebraska,

Thank you for leaving us a feedback. We give the utmost importance to our guests' comments as they help us improve and continually provide the best guest experience possible.

I am sorry to hear that your expereince was not what you expected. I sincerely apologize for the level of service provided by our staff fell short of your expectations. Our team pays special attention to each and every guest and deeply regret that we have failed to deliver the highest level of service and customer care that you deserve.

We appreciate all guest feedback, and strive to provide excellent service to all of our guests. We hope that you give us another chance and allow us to redeem your faith in our award winning service.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

We spent five nights at this location. It was a good location: close to interstate, downtown historical area, and shopping needs. You do need a car to get around. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast has a small selection with a great pancake machine. The gym is small, but useable. We will stay there again.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. We are glad you and your family enjoyed your time with us and look forward to hosting you again soon. Until then, have a wonderful summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Im here for business from time to time and always stay here. Good room/rate as Holiday inn normal. Felt like a safe area. Hop on/off freeway easy. Casinos short drive. Will stay here everytime. Typical HI breakfast.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasFight1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us...again and again! We appreciate the business but all of our staff members enjoy seeing the "regulars", whether it is every week, or 4-5 times a year. We hope you continue to experience the type of stay we aim to provide. We look forward to your next stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

I just want to say that Mike and the rest of the folks at the Holiday Inn Express on MLK, Jr. Hwy in Lake Charles go out of their way to make your stay flawless! I have lodged crews there several times recently for extended projects, and couldn't ask for better service. We will definitely continue to use their services in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PKL62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike D, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you so much for acknowledging the efforts of our staff. They work very hard each day and a compliment from a guest is like ten from a manager. We hope you continue to have great stays with us and allow us to provide the level of service to which you have become accustomed. Thank you again for choosing us and have a great rest of your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
120 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

Hotel is just ok. Probably needs a updating of the rooms. Staff was ok, not overly friendly. Breakfast was the usual holiday inn express spread. I am elite status, staff did not seem to recognize it. Would not upgrade me.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank temple1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear temple1120,

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am glad you found our staff commendable. I am sorry to hear you did not receive the full IHG Rewards Club recognition that you should be entitled to and apologize that the breakfast was less than satisfactory. I have passed this feedback on to our team and have implemented new procedures to ensure this does not occur in the future.

We hope that you will consider giving us another chance in the future. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Charles hotels
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Prien Lake Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#16 of 33 in Lake Charles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
4.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lake Charles Casino Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South
4.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lake Charles
SpringHill Suites Lake Charles
#6 of 33 in Lake Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles
Address: 402 Martin Luther King Highway, Lake Charles, LA 70601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Lake Charles the finest hotel in Southwest Louisiana. Our hotel offers 81 spacious rooms or you can treat yourself to one of our suites equipped with a Jacuzzi bathtub. We can host your next meeting or small reception in our meeting room that can accommodate up to 50 guests.Our Lake Charles hotel is centrally located with easy access to I-10, Conoco, PPG, Sasol, Cit-Con, Westlake Petrochemicals, Citgo and Westlake Polymers. Try your luck at the nearby Lake Charles Casinos, Isle of Capri, L'Auberge Du Lac and play golf in their Tom Fazio designed golf course. Take a relaxing stroll through downtown Lake Charles or experience one of Lake Charles area golf clubs, Pine Shadows, Mallard Cove or Graywood Plantation Golf Course. We are in close proximity to McNeese State University and Lake Charles Regional Airport. Our dedicated staff at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is here to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Hotel discounts available for AAA members and senior citizens with a valid ID at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lake Charles Hotel Lake Charles
Holiday Inn Lake Charles
Lake Charles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing