We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Generally a good stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Lake Charles
Deton, tx
Level Contributor
150 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Generally a good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

This property is next to the highway, so you get a little highway noise, but it wasn't enough to bother me. We had a king suite and it was a nice large room. The color scheme didn't wow me, but it was a nice clean room. Very comfortable room. My wife even commented that she wanted to take the bed with her.
Breakfast was typical for HIE hotels. Pancake machine that turns out edible but leathery pancakes, some form of egg, and some saugages. The cinnamon rolls are the same at every place in the chain. In other words, a filling if not delicious breakfast.
One of the best things about the place was the friendliness of the staff. Everyone smiled and said hello and seemed genuinely interested in making your stay as pleasant as possible. 5 stars to the staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tcs6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    35
    17
    4
    13
See reviews for
25
35
4
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

In my travels this year, I have not seen a staff as "on their game" as this staff. The housekeepers not only do an excellent job, but they are friendly and actually make you feel that they are glad you are there and take pride in their job.
Desk staff was efficient and had an excellent name recollection ability. I was there for a conference for 4 days. The day desk clerk greeted me by name each time I walked by. Typical Holiday Inn Express rooms and quick start breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LDE53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinnexpresslak, Webmaster at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for these kind comments about your stay and our staff. We take pride in hiring only the best people to match our clean, comfortable and affordable facility. If you should come this way again, I hope you’ll consider staying with us again. It sounds like we provided the perfect experience in this case, and that’s what we strive to do in all cases.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We went on an birthday get away and was pleased with this hotel. Very clean and spacious rooms. A short drive to the casino but was not a bad trip to take. Not near the casino but reasonably priced so that made the drive worth it. Breakfast was good and well maintained. Would certainly recommend and stay again....really an enjoyable experience!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
306 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

This was a one night stay on our way to New Orleans.

Front counter staff very nice and courteous and met our needs.

Rooms were spacious and clean and furnished very nicely.

No road noise and rooms were very quiet.

Washroom good size and clean with all amenities and good shower pressure.

Breakfast was the usual fare but seemed fresher and better than others and replenished well. Just a note coffee was very good!

We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: All rooms are good and building is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TangoForFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferris, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed here for my birthday because we thought it was really close to the Casino's. It was about a 10 minute trip that we didn't mind taking. Upon coming into my room I had a little personalized note saying Happy Birthday!!! That was sweet. Great customer service all the way around. From the maid, check-in, manager and maintenance personnel. The room was very spacious and clean. The bed was quite cozy. Will stay again if we travel these parts in the future. By the way visit Steamboat Bills Seafood down the road!!! Delicious!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjaytaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Oh my god... where to start... ok, the area at night is very, very shady, I wanted to get a couple of beers before going to sleep and the receptionist told me to go to the nearest service station which looks to be right on the edge of a ghetto.

The place? well it is is old, smelly and not very well taken care of. The carpets have stains all over, the bathrooms are gross and everything just seems dirty everywhere you go.

The staff is kind of friendly, but they should be! they charged me 150 dollars for a 1 night stay... I've paid less in 5 star hotels.

Really, avoid this place if you can... the other hotels near the casino seem to be in better conditions.

Room Tip: To get a good room drive down the 210 and get off on Nelson Rd, right by the Wyndham sign and take y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WhitHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear WhitHouston,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Charles hotels

Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Tried to book a room, the staff were rude and we ended up leaving. I was highly disappointed because I love this hotel chain. But the location looked good and it appeared very clean. So maybe you will have better luck.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellanebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Bellanebraska,

Thank you for leaving us a feedback. We give the utmost importance to our guests' comments as they help us improve and continually provide the best guest experience possible.

I am sorry to hear that your expereince was not what you expected. I sincerely apologize for the level of service provided by our staff fell short of your expectations. Our team pays special attention to each and every guest and deeply regret that we have failed to deliver the highest level of service and customer care that you deserve.

We appreciate all guest feedback, and strive to provide excellent service to all of our guests. We hope that you give us another chance and allow us to redeem your faith in our award winning service.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Charles hotels
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Prien Lake Inn & Suites
5.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#16 of 33 in Lake Charles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South
4.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lake Charles Casino Area
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Lake Charles
Hampton Inn Lake Charles
#3 of 33 in Lake Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles
Address: 402 Martin Luther King Highway, Lake Charles, LA 70601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites - Lake Charles the finest hotel in Southwest Louisiana. Our hotel offers 81 spacious rooms or you can treat yourself to one of our suites equipped with a Jacuzzi bathtub. We can host your next meeting or small reception in our meeting room that can accommodate up to 50 guests.Our Lake Charles hotel is centrally located with easy access to I-10, Conoco, PPG, Sasol, Cit-Con, Westlake Petrochemicals, Citgo and Westlake Polymers. Try your luck at the nearby Lake Charles Casinos, Isle of Capri, L'Auberge Du Lac and play golf in their Tom Fazio designed golf course. Take a relaxing stroll through downtown Lake Charles or experience one of Lake Charles area golf clubs, Pine Shadows, Mallard Cove or Graywood Plantation Golf Course. We are in close proximity to McNeese State University and Lake Charles Regional Airport. Our dedicated staff at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is here to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Hotel discounts available for AAA members and senior citizens with a valid ID at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lake Charles Hotel Lake Charles
Holiday Inn Lake Charles
Lake Charles Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing