We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed by the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Bayou Inn & Suites
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Lake Charles
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
267 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Impressed by the staff”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The hotel was fine and well kept. The first room had just one towel and the bathroom light was blinking, so another room was immediately offered and accepted. Breakfast was as usual. I appreciated the gift of a Crunch bar and a bottle of water at check-in. Small things like that, and the smile of the staff, do make a difference.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mojave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal C, Manager at Best Western Bayou Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
We really appreciate your business and thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    57
    23
    16
    12
See reviews for
50
70
7
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
314 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Advertised as non-smoking rooms, but room smelled of smoke AND there was an ashtray right next to TV.

At check-in at 3 AM requested late check out. Was told that wouldn't be a problem. Housekeeping woke us up at 11 AM (normal check out time). When we told them we had late check out they said that couldn't be right. We called front desk, she asked who told us we could have it (obviously not trained in customer service) and we described person from shift just before hers. She then replied, "If you aren't out by 12 we will charge you."

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarfishandSeashells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal C, Manager at Best Western Bayou Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
We thank you for your feedback on your stay and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We use all feedback as a learning and training tool.
Thank you for taking the time out to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Overall the hotel was fine - room was clean, beds were comfy. One of the staff members was not very knowledgeable about the hotel rooms as we had a problem with our room and she offered to move us to a similar room - which was not similar at all. We had a King Suite and she was going to move us to a 2 queen bed room without a separate seating area. We ended up fixing the problem ourselves as we were staying for 3 nights and did not want to change rooms. The breakfast area was not kept very tidy, but it appeared there was only one person on staff and she was manning the front desk and the breakfast. The hotel was full so another staff member would have been helpful. I can't say it was her fault. Overall we would return. I think the biggest problem was the hotel clerk we were dealing with was new and she was on her own - the maintenance person was not answering his phone, so maybe he could pull up his socks a bit in the customer service area of his job!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal C, Manager at Best Western Bayou Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
We thank you for your feedback on your stay and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We use all feedback as a learning and training tool.
Thank you for taking the time out to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
temecula, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Nice hotel, has a gate around it for security and well lit, but my room smelled like smoke. I asked for another and the second one smelled like smoke too. They should charge more for people smoke to offset cleaning costs.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal C, Manager at Best Western Bayou Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
We thank you for your feedback on your stay and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We use all feedback as a learning and training tool.
Thank you for taking the time out to respond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurich, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Bad Management-no one checked on staff service. Bed not made in four days-clean sheets after 2 days-forget it. Business centre not working all four days. Room not cleaned at all on one day. Every day had to ask for milk/bread/coffee cups at breakfast time.It needs anew management

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal C, Manager at Best Western Bayou Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
We thank you for your feedback on your stay and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We use all feedback as a learning and training tool.
Thank you for taking the time out to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

A fair rating for this hotel. Rooms are narrow and to my wife and I laid out weird. Room rate was acceptable but it is a basic motel. Ice machine on 1st floor out of order. Breakfast is a standard waffle maker (1), coffee, cereal (3), juice (2), pastries, bagels, fruit. Nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lawrence R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal C, Manager at Best Western Bayou Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
We thank you for your feedback on your stay and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We use all feedback as a learning and training tool.
Thank you for taking the time out to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

I was traveling solo with my children and the front staff was so accommodating!! The room was very nice and clean and breakfast was delicious! They also gave me a great rate which was a huge bonus! We will definitely save this place on our map as a great place to stay:)

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Miranda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal C, Manager at Best Western Bayou Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
We really appreciate your business and thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Charles hotels
3.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lake Charles
Red Roof Inn Lake Charles
#5 of 34 in Lake Charles
337 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake Charles Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#15 of 34 in Lake Charles
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lake Charles
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Lake Charles
Comfort Inn Lake Charles
#12 of 34 in Lake Charles
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bayou Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bayou Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Bayou Inn & Suites
Address: 1320 N Martin Luther King Hwy, Lake Charles, LA 70601-2051
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Bayou Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Bayou Inn & Suites is located in Lake Charles, Louisiana off of Interstate 10 at Exit 33 North. We offer easy access to local restaurants, shopping, beaches, attractions, and casinos. Lake Charles provides recreational opportunities such as boating, fishing, and swimming and hotel guests will appreciate the eclectic selection of restaurants located nearby with a variety of cuisines from which to choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Bayou Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing