We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Lake Charles
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Lake Charles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

No cookies in the evening....what kind of Hampton Inn is that....l :( Talked to several people who chose to do nothing. Young staff seemed to be unaware of Hilton Honors programs. Two persons aware of various problems could have done something but chose to ignore it. Hotel is brand new and smells new,new furnishings,etc. Sad service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jeffry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Lake Charles, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience as it helps us getting better. I am sorry we did not deliver the kind of service you deserved. We are still very new and the staff is still learning, but I agree with you on everything you said. On a positive note, the cookies in the evening will make their way to the hotel very soon. We hope that you will be willing to give us another chance.

Sincerely,

Quentin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Looks like brand new hotel, rooms and everything was nice but only thing that made my stay horrible was we couldn't sleep at night because of the people walking, running In the hallway and some loud door slamming. Plus we had hard time finding the hotel since it wasn't visible from the road.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackrosario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Lake Charles, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear guest,
We are extremely sorry the noise level prevented you from having a relaxing stay. We understand this might be quite inconvenient for some. We are still training our staff, and this issue will be addressed. We should walk the hallways at night to make sure guests are respectful of others.
We truly hope you will accept our apologies, and will come back to visit us in the future.
Sincerely,
Quentin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

New Hampton glad to see it open in the area needed a Hilton property in that location of Lake Charles. Hotel is nice, clean, fresh like you'd expect any new property to be. I stay at a lot of Hamptons and find them to be all over the place in consistency and quality. Some are good. Some not very good. This one is fine.

The location is tucked away behind some trees so it is quiet as far as the road is concerned. I did notice I can hear the person above me walking around so the sound proofing inside the hotel may be an issue if you have noisy neighbors but that is all the noise I heard during my stay so it wasn't too bad.

The room itself is nice again it is new so you'd expect it to be fresh and everything in good order which it is. Lobby and all is very nice. If you are a hhonors member be sure to ask for your goodies (water bottles or snack etc.) if earned as I didn't get them and had to ask to receive them. Usually you are offered this at check in by the staff. Not here this time for me. Upon request they were given to me.

The hotel has a small sign on the road entrance it looks to be a temporary sign easy to miss it. Careful coming in and out exiting and making a left turn is tough in traffic. Hotel just isn't visible until you are right up on it.

Tip-Not all the rooms have fridges which was very strange to me. I cannot remember the last time I stayed in a Hampton that didn't have a fridge in the room. I had a king room with a nice walk in shower and downgraded myself to a double room to get a fridge since I needed and expected that feature especially in a new property. That was disappointing. I think they really missed it on this one not sure why in the design they would have rooms without fridges. So be sure to clarify and understand exactly what room you are getting.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sk225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Lake Charles, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for the extensive review. I am sure it will help a lot of travelers.
As a brand new property, we are still figuring out the things that work and the ones that don't, so we appreciate any kind of feedback. We are glad you found our hotel good overall, despite the minor "bumps". Sorry you felt the sound proofing was not optimum, and we will look into that. Regarding the fridges and microwaves, I am glad to mention that we will soon have them in every room. As for the drink and snack, we are following the Hampton standards to the "T". Gold and Diamond members get to choose between a drink and snack or 250 bonus points in addition to the regular points accrued. Blue and Silver members only accrue points. We are also studying a better way to be visible from a distance.
Again, we are glad you chose us and hope you will return soon.
Sincerely,
Quentin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I am a hhonors member and stay at a lot of Hampton hotels. We started calling for rooms north of NOLS and the first place we got a room is this hotel. I thought it was very pricey for a Hampton but at 1AM I wasn't picky. $169 was not something I would pay for this hotel, it's off the highway I was traveling and no different than any other Hamptons. It was in a pretty location in the woods, close to shopping, casinos but since I wasn't staying there for that purpose wasn't something I cared about. The king room was very spacious. Since the hotel was almost booked that night parking was VERY difficult to find a spot. Only a couple spots left when I parked.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbarthels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Lake Charles, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for the review.
We are glad you found us during your trip. Please know that our rate is very competitive with the rest of the market. We are sorry you felt it a little high, but we feel our brand new property has a lot to offer. We are sorry parking was a challenge. This may improve in the future as a redesign of the road and entrance is under review. We would love to have you back if you travel this way.
Sincerely,
Quentin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel was opened 2 weeks ago. Great staff! Wonderful relaxing place to stay! Gave you the Louisiana feel. This hotel was close to all the swamp tours and siteseeing places in Lake Charles. Didn't take long to get to the casnio.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Lake Charles, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed a quiet stay, yet convenient to what you wanted to visit. We hope you will come back very soon.
Sincerely,
Quentin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Great staff, location is very serene,nestled in the trees, but don't expect much from the room. (Shower was the only highlight). The complimentary breakfast left a lot to be desired. close to restaurants and shoppting.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Lake Charles, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review online. Visibility for a new property is crucial, and you are contributing to it. I am saddened to hear the room didn't "wow" you. We find them superb! I am glad you complimented the staff, and I thank you for that. We hope you will return.
Sincerely,
Quentin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

While the hotel was very clean and new, I was surprised at the insulation between floors and in the hallways. You could hear every single footstep in the hallway outside and the ceiling for the floor above us. We stayed on the third floor. Thank goodness we were at the end of the hall because we would have to hear every person that walked by our room to get to the elevator. Also the doors slamming are very loud. We moved to Lauberge hotel the 3rd night we did not hear any footsteps in the hallway or slamming doors of the neighbors. My husband found a wasp in the bathroom and killed it for me. When we checked in, the customer ahead of me inquired about the snacks on the counter. The clerk was kind of snippy and told him that he could have them if he was prepared to exchange the points he would have earned. I didn't even want to ask for a water because I am sure they would have charged me. But the bed was comfortable and the room was nice and cold. Since this is a brand new hotel, the rooms were very clean and the towels were very soft.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quentin G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Lake Charles, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you the feedback.

We are glad you chose to try our brand new hotel. We are sorry to hear you had a few hiccups during your stay. A brand new hotel, just like a brand new machine, takes some time to get his cruising speed. We are paying very close attention to all comments to try to make the hotel run smoothly. Everything you mentioned is going to be addressed with the proper departments.

We hope you will be willing to come back.

Sincerely,

Quentin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Charles hotels
0.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake Charles Casino Area
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lake Charles
1.4 mi away
Golden Nugget Hotel
Golden Nugget Hotel
#1 of 37 in Lake Charles
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Lake Charles
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake Charles Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Lake Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Lake Charles

Address: 3175 Holly Hill Rd, Hotel is directly off W Prien Lake Rd, Lake Charles, LA 70601-8501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Lake Charles
Price Range: £75 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Lake Charles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting an authentic Louisiana setting near Lake Charles’ business district, the Hampton Inn Lake Charles hotel offers easy access to the city’s downtown lakefront boardwalk and the Charpentier Historic District. Guests at our hotel in Lake Charles, Louisiana enjoy proximity to Cajun restaurants, lively bars and dance halls, museums, championship golf courses and impressive casinos. Our Lake Charles hotel is just minutes from casinos including L’Auberge, Golden Nugget and the Isle of Capri. Visit popular attractions including Bord Du Lac Park, Adventure Cove and the Mardi Gras Museum of Imperial Calcasieu. Our hotel also offers free shuttle service to and from Lake Charles Regional Airport, L’Auberge and Golden Nugget Casinos. Feel at home in a comfortable guest room. Check emails with free WiFi at the spacious desk, watch free in-room movies on the LCD TV and relax on the clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Utilize our in-room microwave and refrigerator. Wake up to Hampton’s free, hot breakfast or grab Hampton’s On the Run™ Breakfast Bag, available Monday through Friday. Our 24-hour Suite Shop® stocks a variety of snacks, drinks and chilled meals. Enjoy free tea, coffee and helpful advice on things to do in Lake Charles, Louisiana, available 24-hours in our lobby. Refresh in the indoor swimming pool or energize in the free fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Lake Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing