We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is Great but the Hotel needs updating!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Richmond Suites Hotel
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Lake Charles
Cleveland, Tennessee
1 review
“Service is Great but the Hotel needs updating!!!”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The hotel service was excellent! The front desk and cleaning ladies were very friendly and did not complain. The hotel needs a renovation! The rooms do not have good locks! They need new carpet, new cabinets for the TV's and a lock for the doors outside that will make the residents feel safe. The hotel residents need to be able to use their key cards to get in to the lobbys of each hotel! This nicest looking part of the hotel is the lobby! The breakfast was pretty good but they need to add 2 choices of meat like a)pork 1)bacon or sausage and 2)beef or turkey for people who don't eat pork! The selection of breakfast pastries was no great! Their needs to be more choices for breakfast even though it is considered a continental breakfast there just needs to be more of a variety. I think this hotel needs to contact Hotel Impossible(on the Travel Channel)!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tranajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    28
    8
    13
    48
See reviews for
41
25
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Very nice hotel.Room was very clean and comfortable! Front desk employee was friendly and polite. Had a very nice breakfast served with a choice of waffles, oatmeal, cereal, juice, milk, coffee (regular or decaf), pastries etc. Used a coupon from Hotels.com book, which made it very affordable. Will definitely stay here again on my next trip!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeRidder, Louisiana, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The staff were very friendly. The atmosphere was great. The room was clean. The mattress was very comfy. The most important thing of all.....I felt safe!!! The free breakfast consisted of - Boiled eggs, oatmeal, grits, toast, bagels, cereal, pastries, juice and milk. No complaints from me. For the price that I paid. EXCELLENT!!!!!! I will stay here again!!! Owners-Please give your staff a pat on the back. I appreciate their kindness!!

Room Tip: I stayed on the second floor- on the side located closest to highway. I had no issues with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I have been staying at Richmond Suites for about 4 months. The staff has been very helpful and professional. Ms. Karen has taken care of me when I forgot something. The rooms are affordable and clean. Anytime something need to be taken care of, it was taken care of immediately. I never had any problems while staying there with the neighborhood or noise. It may be a little out dated but for an extenced stay it worked perfect. I would recommend it to anyone that will be in Lake Charles for an extended period.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Safetypro1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ms Gulfcoast
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The best things about this place was the big room, big inviting pool, comfortable beds and fluffy towels. Easy access from I-10, the bathroom has been updated, the room smelled fresh, and the desk personnel was friendly and efficient. The worse things were the place was dated, the breakfast was skimpy, needed some paint touch ups and the hall smelled musky. If you need a convenient, cheap, comfortable place to sleep while traveling this place is it but I don't think I would care to stay for a week.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mississippigal43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My wife and I came to Lake Charles on business, the first hotel we stayed at was horrid. Then we found Richmond Suites, and what a gem it was. Ms. Karen was so helpful and welcoming that she literally changed our view of the town. We had a problem with our first room and Ms Karen and Ms Tisha from housekeeping went above and beyond to make us comfortable. We were so happy that it's now the only hotel that I would stay at here in Lake Charles. The amenities have a few issues but the friendly and helpful staff more the make up for the lack. To top it all off the rates are more then reasonable. But the staff is by far the most welcoming and helpful I have ever encountered. Definitely a diamond in the rough, with a homey feel. I would recommend staying here to anyone. Always ask for Ms Karen and you'll always have a good experience...

Room Tip: Inside SKL suites are awesome especially poolside
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moondog913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houma, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I made a reservation. And cancelled 2 days after on 3 sepearate roooms. I HAD to cancell they still
charged me for it. If they had warned me and said we can't cancel your rooms I would had apriciated that so thank you for nothing.

Room Tip: Make real sure you want to go and no upcomings can pop up or don't even bother.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sergio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake C, General Manager at The Richmond Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Mr.Sergio Sanchez - while reviewing your account with Expedia you made a reservation on July 20 for 1 room for 2 adults for 1 night and then on July 22, 2013 you had Expedia cancel the reservation for your arrival on July 27, 2013. Therefore there was NO room charge since it was cancelled thru Expedia. Should you have any questions please consult with Expedia. Now with regards to your 2nd reservation for the same date of arrival it was made on July 20 and cancelled thru Expedia on July 22, again NO room charge, You can contact your booking source which is Expedia for any further information since they made your reservation and also cancelled the reseravtion within the guidelines of our contract from Expedia. Thank you for brining this matter to our attention and I am sure Expedia will correct any issues that you have. David Bartlett, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Charles hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Charles hotels
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Lake Charles
Econo Lodge Lake Charles
#21 of 35 in Lake Charles
33 reviews
3.4 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Lake Charles
WoodSpring Suites Lake Charles
#27 of 35 in Lake Charles
22 reviews
3.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lake Charles
Red Roof Inn Lake Charles
#8 of 35 in Lake Charles
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
#23 of 35 in Lake Charles
37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#13 of 35 in Lake Charles
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Lake Charles Northeast
Super 8 Lake Charles Northeast
#22 of 35 in Lake Charles
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richmond Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmond Suites Hotel

Property: The Richmond Suites Hotel
Address: 2600 Moeling St, Highway 171 & I-10, Lake Charles, LA 70615-2055
Region: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Richmond Suites Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests staying at this Lake Charles, Louisiana hotel will find convenient access to McNeese State University, the Lake Charles Beach and the Creole Nature Trail.Experience true Southern hospitality at an affordable rate while staying at the The Richmond Suites Hotel. Located near Interstate 10 in Lake Charles, Louisiana The Richmond Suites Hotel is minutes away from corporate locations , such as the Northrop Grumman Company and Petro Chemical Industries.The Richmond Suites Hotel offers 140 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms and suites each featuring cable satellite television with HBO® and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will wake each morning to a complimentary hot breakfast buffet before enjoying an array of hotel amenities including an outdoor swimming pool and spa, fitness center, playground for children, guest laundry and a courtesy airport shuttle to Chennault International Airport, only four miles away. Business travelers will appreciate the full business services and meeting facilities accommodating up to 150 people.This Louisiana hotel is just three miles from casino gaming at the La Barge Casino and the Isle of Capri Casino. Guests will find an array of local restaurants nearby serving authentic Cajun and Creole delicacies. Visitors will also enjoy local events such as sports tournaments, family and class reunions, Contraband Days, Mardi Gras Festivals and the Marshland Festival.The Richmond Suites Hotel is proud to offer superior customer service and a convenient location in Lake Charles. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Richmond Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Richmond Hotel Lake Charles
Best Western Lake Charles
Lake Charles Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing