We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia
Nearby Hotels
Cape View Motel and Cottages(Mavillette)(Great Value!)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Voyageur Motel(Yarmouth)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Rancho Motel(Yarmouth)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lakelawn B&B Motel(Yarmouth)(Great Value!)
US$111
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages(Shelburne)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wildwood Motel(Shelburne)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
123
24
9
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
24
9
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitglass of winefishget awayplan to returnday tripyogurttrout pointbreakfast was amazingbreakfast and dinnerthe riverhot tubwonderful placedirt roadcooking classguided hikeother travelers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We spent an amazing 4 days at Trout Point Lodge. The property is amazing, the food is out of this world, and the staff is one of a kind. The lodge is nestled in the middle of the forest, next to the river. The scenery is so spectacular, whether you stay on the property or venture out on their guided tours. The Forest Suite was unforgettable! We could not have picked a better place to honeymoon!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
11  Thank JaneJohn10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

This lodge is one of those magical places you almost don't want to tell anyone about. It is just heaven. I have never had more outstanding service in all my life--the attentiveness and true caring of an awesome staff is one of those things you wish all resorts did, but don't. There isn't anything they're not willing to do. The food is exquisite and the outdoor activities are superlative. If you want, they will send wonderful guides along with you hiking, fishing, biking, or kayaking. Every night there is live music in the great living room before dinner, and by the fire pit after dinner. Truly relaxing! The website just doesn't do Trout Point justice.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank cunnnnnning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We looked forward to visiting Trout Point for almost a year. It was to be the high point of our vacation. We stayed in the Forest Suite, which was incredible. It is a huge space with a lovely view all around it. It also comes with a full sized kitchen. I didn't think we needed that. However, after eating twice in the "restaurant," we found that we would have been much better off preparing our own meals.

We went to breakfast our first morning there. It consisted of a picked over buffet with a few pieces of tasty salmon, and then a wide array of what I would call "beef jerky." Our waitress informed us that we could order eggs, but that they were out of bacon. What kind of a gourmet restaurant is ever out of bacon?

It took almost 45 minutes to get poached eggs. In the meantime our waitress asked us at least thrice, "will you be staying for lunch then?" After a while, I wanted to answer, "At this rate..." The eggs were served over what I would call hardtack, but admittedly I did not serve in the Great War. Instead of bacon, they offered us heated up smoked meats. I'm just not a big jerky eater, hot or cold.

Still, we held out hope for the dinner. I got to meet the kitchen staff personally in the morning, because I had to go there to score a couple of lattes. I couldn't wait to have dinner because I figured the renowned chefs showed up then. It did strike us as odd that we could not get the concierge to commit to the advertised cooking classes. With the advantage of hindsight, I realized that my wife would have been the instructor.
Finally the dinner hour arrived. Wow. What a shocking disappointment. Instead of some kind of lovely pumpkin bisque, we were given what was called "Amish Chicken Noodle Soup." My wife and I have both spent significant parts of our lives in Pennsylvania. I was born and raised there. I wasn't too hip on this back then, and I am less so when I'm expecting top flight Acadian food. Maybe because I used to live in New Orleans, I'm just a snob.

The salad consisted of lots of raw garlic with undercooked lima beans. I wanted to launch that old Three Stooges chewing routine.

The main course was courtbouillon, which was very good. The fish was fresh.

We came back down to earth with the dessert (one choice.) It was some kind of bread pudding with last spring’s berries. By that point in time, the only choice was to return to the room and drink. What kind of a resort does not have a functioning bar?

If we could have locked ourselves away in the Forest Suite for three days, this would have been a great experience. However, I think the name for that is camping.

If only we had not eaten. Then again, what kind of review is that for a place that bills itself as an eating adventure in the wilderness? This is our second Relais and Chateaux property. We stayed at the Horned Dorset in Rincon, PR previously. It was difficult to fathom how the two properties were related in terms of food, service level and value for our money.

Upon check-out, I discovered that we were overcharged. After a good 35 minute ordeal, I was ready to let them keep the money. Only, we had been overcharged for the food, so, you know, I just couldn't.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank MarylandBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We have been going to Trout Point Lodge for the last five years and always find something new to love about it. The staff is amazing. The food is always exquisitely prepared. The owners are welcoming and thoughtful. The lodge is both grand and relaxing. We build more wonderful memories each time we go.

Trout Point is a must for anyone who wants to experience quiet Nova Scotia beauty in a five star luxury resort.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank HalifaxSlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Beautiful setting but they certainly do not live up to any Relais & Chateaux standards. There was no internet connection in the room when we arrived and we had to bring this up multiple times until it was resolved. The "restaurant" is completely overrated--and the wait staff is neither very attentive nor very bright which resulted in a big screw-up on my birthday.

Also keep in mind that there are no other restaurants in the vicinity, so once there, you are kind of stuck. The outdoor activities free-of-charge are also very limited.

And on top of everything, you have to sign some (in my eyes illegal) acknowledgement about a $3,000 fine if posting something about their establishment without their consent.

Very disappointing experience!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
66  Thank german_in_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
troutpoint, Owner at Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

We regret that this guest did not enjoy her stay. We were advised 10 minutes before the single 7:30 dinner seating that they wanted a private table for a birthday; this table was mistakenly given away by a waiter. We set up a private table for them on the terrace outside, gave them a complimentary drink, and were told that everything was okay.

In addition, the Lodge's privacy policy is not as described. The goal is guest privacy while at our secluded nature retreat. It states that in exchange and for the additional consideration of privacy protection while at Trout Point, the guest agrees to make no unauthorized public identification of any guests by name, photograph, or any other means; no publication that will invade or injure TPL’s status as a secluded, private nature retreat open to a select number of reserved guests; and no public disclosure of any guest by any other guest or third person.

The guest also agrees not to publish any message, information, text, photo, or any other material capable of defamatory meaning or being obscene, pornographic, indecent, lewd, harassing, threatening, invasive of privacy or publicity rights, abusive, inflammatory, fraudulent or otherwise objectionable relative to TPL or its guests; and grant TPL as the co-owner of copyright the exclusive right to demand the immediate removal of publications deemed offensive. There is no monetary penalty. We believe the policy is reasonable given today's invasive technology.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews