We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short stay - good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nately Scures
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Short stay - good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Good food, dinner was very nice & breakfast too. All staff were friendly & helpful. Hotel room was acceptable, clean even if a bit on the small side. Bar area ok but a little short on style - no pictures on the wall etc.
Pool and gym looked very nice although we didn't use. Would go back for a short stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ploddy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BasingstokeGM, Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for the review, we hope you see you for another short break soon.

Kind Regards
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    286
    202
    158
    193
See reviews for
175
437
33
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights whilst travelling on business.

The hotel was well located, only a 10 minute drive to the site I was working on in Basingstoke although quite difficult to see when arriving at night in the rain.

The room (101) was comfortable and although was next to a major thoroughfare was quiet once things had settled down for the evening.

Food was OK, nothing hugely imaginative, but my room service was delivered quickly, accurately and warm.

Overall a pleasant stay at a reasonable price for the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaseKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BasingstokeGM, Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we welcome guest reviews so we can enhance the service where possible. We hope to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Very impressed All staff were very friendly and courteous. The food was amazing beautifully cooked and well presented. The lamb was my favorite cooked perfectly tender and the red currants burst in your mouth, yum yum Amazing breakfast with so much choice thank you it was a very enjoyable experience.I would have liked a room with a bigger window for more light. There were other rooms with larger windows but we didn't request a change of room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kaymcdonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BasingstokeGM, Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback. The kitchen team are especially delighted with your comments about the food.

We have AA Rosette restaurant open 7 days a week at the Hotel. Well worth a visit.

Kind Regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Outside Basingstoke
Level Contributor
175 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Positives: a good-sized standard room, clean, quiet and comfortable allowing a good night's sleep; friendly service; minutes from J5 on the M3 and lots of parking.
Negatives: they lost our booking and we waited nearly 3 house for our room to be ready (after a wedding party late check-out?); steam room closed, lockers jamming, towels unavailable and a class occupying the pool.

Room Tip: ground floor in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BasingstokeGM, Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for your review. We welcome all feedback so we can make improvement for the future.

We are very lucky to be so accessible from both the M3 and M4.

Kind Regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had a wonderful weekend getaway. The staff were friendly and helpful, room was clean and comfortable and the food was delicious. Would recommend and hope to return. There was a wedding on but we asked to have a room away from the noise and weren't disturbed by it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fanackapan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BasingstokeGM, Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are delighted you had a wonderful weekend.

We look forward to welcome in back again soon and maybe seeing you at one of the other Puma Hotels.

Kind regards
The Management Team
Basingstoke Country Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

This hotel is very simple and very nice. There are busses that stop right in front of it so you need not take you vehicle. The grounds are well maintained and the rooms are very clean. It is a comfortable stay. Also with a short walk you can be in the town of Hook. Walking the side streets gives you a lovely feel for the English countryside. In hook there is a Train station. We utilized and and the bus to take a day trip to Chawton to visit the Jane Austin House Museum. We stoped at The Raven pub for a pint and some fish and chips on our return. It is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler0725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BasingstokeGM, Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
We are delighted you made the most of our great transport links that can be easily accessed from the Hotel. The train from Hook can take you straight into London if you want a little capital city shopping time.

Kind regards
The Management Team
Basingstoke Country Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxshott, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed overnight for a wedding reception. We booked and paid for their top level room about 6 weeks previously. But were provided a lesser room, when we asked where were the advertised fittings, bathrobes etc - we were told the hotel was full and a supervisor would call us. Two bathrobes turned up, but no supervisor. We enjoyed the wedding reception and asked what they were going to do about their error as we were checking out. The receptionist was very unwilling to make any recompense - stating that someone would tell him off! Eventually we convinced him to cancel our bar bill - worth about £5 more than the difference in the room rates.

The sad thing is that the hotel is a little tired, but reasonable value. the conservatory/pool was nice (but desperately needs more chairs), and the bar only had one person serving (for a wedding when the hotel was full!).

With a little more care and allowing the staff some responsibility, it could be a decent country hotel.

But poor service and a 1950s management attitude ensures that we won't be rushing back

Room Tip: don't take a room on the ground floor - some are next to the wedding suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaelmjohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BasingstokeGM, Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We take all feedback very seriously and always use it to make improvements where possible. I am sorry that some aspects did not meet your expectation and for any areas we did not deliver on. This is never our aim.

We are pleased you enjoyed the wedding reception.


Kind regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nately Scures hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nately Scures
3.9 mi away
The Basingstoke Hotel
The Basingstoke Hotel
#11 of 13 in Basingstoke
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
5.2 mi away
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
#9 of 13 in Basingstoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Basingstoke Town Centre Hotel
1.2 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa

Property: Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
Address: Scures Hill, Nately Scures, Basingstoke RG27 9JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke > Nately Scures
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nately Scures
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Basingstoke Country Hotel is surrounded by mature woodland and provides a serene, relaxing setting for any holiday or special occasion. Just off the M3 yet surrounded by thatched cottage villages, it has 100 air-conditioned bedrooms, including 12 premium rooms and 9 deluxe room. It is an ideal base for exploring the cathedral cities of Winchester, Salisbury and Chichester and the unspoilt beauty and wild ponies of the New Forest. With attractive landscaped courtyards, Health & Leisure Club with indoor swimming pool, and Scures Brasserie restaurant serving local food, it's a great spot for relaxing after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Basingstoke
Basingstoke Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing