We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nately Scures
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Most of the (small) wedding party stayed for two nights (Friday and Saturday), with the wedding taking place a few miles away at Tylney Hall.

Check in / reception generally across the weekend seemed understaffed, with frequent waiting necessary. My room was great: well laid out and adequately spacious, with everything I could wish for. I was glad that it was also on the quiet side of the hotel.

Breakfast was wonderful: a huge spread, catering to all tastes. We ordered dinner in the bar on Friday evening and were warned that there could be a delay due to food preparation for the prom in the function room, which irritated us slightly (surely paying guests should not be penalised?), however the wait wasn't too bad. The bar staff were great: incredibly hard working / over worked but still very friendly.

The gym was decent, as was the very large pool.

There were events hosted in the function room both nights that we stayed and I would not have been pleased if my room was near this area: the music was very loud and went on pretty late (can't recall if it was midnight or 1am). So it might be worth mentioning this on booking. Also, some of my party had problems with their room bookings. However, mine was fine so I can't really comment.

Generally a very comfortable and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyHighbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us while attending a wedding locally.

I am so glad that you found the breakfast to be so good and that you were not affected by the functions in the hotel, there are generally only a small number of rooms affected by noise from events in the hotel and we try as much as is practicable to allocate these to guests who are either attending that function or likely to be offsite when there is music.

Your feedback is valuable and much appreciated, hopefully you will have reason to return in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    290
    213
    162
    202
See reviews for
176
449
35
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I stay here regularly for business trips as it's convenient for work, has a gym and the staff are generally friendly.

Unusually, I was given a toon on the ground floor - but the smell of damp was horrendous! There was black mould on the windows and the net curtains. Being asthmatic, I requested a change of room and was upgraded to the rooms at the top of the hotel.

Staff responded promptly to my issues, but needs a bit of quality control as it was not even close to habitable.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the main part of the hotel, otherwise there are a lot of stairs and corridors to navi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJM70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback and for your ongoing support of the Basingstoke Country Hotel when staying on business in the area. I'm sorry that you found your first assigned room to smell of damp, I believe we were able to address this and I am glad that we were able to quickly resolve your stay with a change of room.

I hope that you will continue to enjoy the gym and the friendliness of the staff when on business in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed for 1 night on the dinner, bed and breakfast deal. The room was nice and spacious, the food excellent and the facilities very good.

The breakfast had a good selection and the 3 course dinner was particualrly nice. The hotel has a good pool, sauna, hot tub etc.

The staff was particularly good; very helpful and friendly and there seemed to be quite a lot of members so there was not waiting around for anything.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denzal23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Your feedback is very kind and the kind of positive recognition that motivates the team to keep giving the kind of experience that you enjoyed. We are so glad that you had a lovely stay and hope to see you again soon.

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed there for a family wedding. Rooms were comfortable. Although the bar needs more staff especially at peak times and the food menu was expensive. The scottish receptionist was friendly and attentive. The breakfast was fabulous. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you want a good nights sleep, make sure your room is not on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mich_mcn1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your review, it's fantastic that your overall experience was so positive that you plan to stay with us again, especially given that you found us to be light handed in the bar. You will be pleased to know that we have been able to increase the size of the bar team recently with some great new people joining the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Booked a package direct - Stayed 2 nights on a weekend special included meal on first night so worked out cheaper than booking just the room & breakfast with Booking.com. Price did go up as the date got closer, I wanted to add another room for my Son on to my booking, but it became out of his price range as he is a student so he stayed elsewhere which was a pity.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank RosemaryRose1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your review and glad that you were able to enjoy your break with us at Basingstoke Country Hotel. It is a shame that your son was not able to benefit from our early booking offer.

Your observation is absolutely right, the best deals are available on our advanced purchase rates, but these are limited in number and dates do fill quite quickly, particularly on popular weekends.

We hope next time, you will be able to share the weekend with your son.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is well situated just off junction 5 of M3. It has good facilities. The room was large and clean, robes and slippers were great for using when going to the leisure complex.
The leisure complex was great with friendly staff and excellent facilities.
We booked for location. It's near to RAF Odiham which we were attending for a family function. The restaurant has a varied menu with well cooked food.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank UK_DuchessDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us when visiting the RAF base at Odiham. We are glad that the hotel was just right for your visit.

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to RAF Odiham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A lovely hotel with friend and very efficient staff, particularly Amber. We were there for a wedding at the hotel, everything superb. Would definitely visit again, next time to try out the spa facilities.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sandrita35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Amber was delighted to see her name mentioned and we're so glad that you had such a good time at the wedding and an excellent stay overall.

We look forward to your return for a spa break!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nately Scures
3.9 mi away
The Basingstoke Hotel
The Basingstoke Hotel
#11 of 13 in Basingstoke
1,123 reviews
5.2 mi away
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
#9 of 13 in Basingstoke
804 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Audleys Wood Hotel
Audleys Wood Hotel
#3 of 13 in Basingstoke
727 reviews
9.7 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
1,106 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Basingstoke
Holiday Inn Basingstoke
#7 of 13 in Basingstoke
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa

Property: Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
Address: Scures Hill, Nately Scures, Basingstoke RG27 9JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke > Nately Scures
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nately Scures
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Basingstoke Country Hotel is surrounded by mature woodland and provides a serene, relaxing setting for any holiday or special occasion. Just off the M3 yet surrounded by thatched cottage villages, it has 100 air-conditioned bedrooms, including 12 premium rooms and 9 deluxe room. It is an ideal base for exploring the cathedral cities of Winchester, Salisbury and Chichester and the unspoilt beauty and wild ponies of the New Forest. With attractive landscaped courtyards, Health & Leisure Club with indoor swimming pool, and Scures Brasserie restaurant serving local food, it's a great spot for relaxing after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Basingstoke
Basingstoke Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing