We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stayed two nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nately Scures
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“stayed two nights”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Lovely two night stay room nice out door hot tub nice pool in conservatory
Booked a special deal with eve meal and wine but staff was not informed by head booking office. The food was OK but same menu every night could do with change of soup at least

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BasingstokeGM, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your review and I am so glad to see that you enjoyed your two nights with us.

Your suggestion is currently under discussion, we change our restaurant menu frequently but take on board that there are not typically dishes that vary day to day.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    291
    213
    162
    202
See reviews for
176
450
35
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Never again, reception staff couldn't have cared less, restaurant staff not very attentive, food poor quality and very poor value, undercooked chips piled up to look like Jenga, bathroom was mouldy, ventilation system sounded like a jet engine, very noisy between rooms, corridors and floors. Not very good attention to detail in maintenance or cleaning. Couldn't leave soon enough. maximum 3stars at a real push.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BasingstokeGM, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. It does not sound like you received our usual attention for which I apologise.

I will try to establish direct contact with you to discuss in more detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nately Scures hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Absolutely shocking!! My friend and I booked a treatment together, when we got there they we're 20 minutes late, a staff member was off sick, they didn't inform us, so as a result we didn't get our treatment together also we booked a 60minute treatment and only got half an hour and not what we wanted! The therapist went out of the room a couple of times and my nail varnish was smudged! Disgusting! I shall not be going again! We had a sorry excuse of an appoligy with no discount!!! :-( apporling no toilet roll in the toilets either!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Leanne580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BasingstokeGM, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

I will review your comments with our Beauty team to understand what happened and arrange for them to make contact with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed here on a two night spa break and had a great time. This hotel has great facilities and we had a relaxing stay. I have scored four stars because the check in was not great we were just given our room keys and were given no information about when breakfast was or dinner even though they were included in our deal. Also the room was not as clean as it could be as the throws on the bed and decorative pillows were filthy. Apart from this everything was great. I would like to say a big thank you to the waiter Andre in the restaurant who had superb manners and great interpersonal skills and we felt that we were being served at the Ritz. He is an asset to the hotel. The ladies in the spa were also excellent and very professional I spoke to someone called Charlie who was lovely and a young girl who had just started who gave me a great facial and massage.

The dinner served on both nights were excellent, breakfast was very good, I would suggest that individual pots of tea are served to guests as people like their tea at different strengths and also very hot. The pool, jacuzzi and sauna were lovely and clean but the ladies changing rooms just needs a Little more attention to regular cleaning. In addition, there should be more sunbeds as it is supposed yo be a crash and burn break we need somewhere to relax and there were not enough loungers. It would also be nice to have a later checkout for people on the spa break as it was bit of a rush after breakfast, we were also locked out of our room at 10.30 which was a little annoying.

All said and done I will return to this hotel. I normally prefer the hilton but this was as good as my previous hilton breaks.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misspickandmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BasingstokeGM, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you so much for your Fab review.

Great to read that Andris made you feel like you were staying at the Ritz and that the ladies made you fee pampered with your beauty treatments. I very much appreciate your acceptance of some of the niggles you experienced and I will review these with the management team.

We look forward to your return visit and I hope you will find the welcome more enthusiastic and will notice a number of other positive changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon tyne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed here for four nights as I couldn't get in my regular hotel due to farnborough air show. Basically would rather sleep in a tent next time. Lousy expensive food ( £13 for toad in the hole which was an aunt Bessie's Yorkshire pudding with sausages thrown in it) expensive beer £4+ for a bottle of beer, no shower gel left for 2 days and when I complained was given an aspirin sized bar of soap. The hotel hasn't seemed to have grasped the fact that most of the guests walk to the local pub (the hogget, fantastic service. Please google it!). It's apparently 4 star but I think that's because there is a jacuzzi and a lift. £180 per night, never again. And that goes for my 6 work colleagues who are also suffering

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BasingstokeGM, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
I was sorry to read that the bar menu was not to your liking and that you found our rates during the Farnborough Airshow expensive.

It is a shame that you didn't make it to the Pan Pacific night and Transatlantic Barbecue night that we put on that week to add more variety to our dining offering.

We recognise The Hogget as a quality pub nearby and we are pleased that this offers a good alternative for our guests, particularly staying multiple nights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Our trip was booked through Spabreak.co.uk for 6 of us to celebrate a friends 50th birthday, I did email the hotel directly to request that we have a round table for dining as it is really nice to be able to see everyone in the group when you are talking and to request rooms away from the the function room and for all three of our room to be on the same wing if possible and I was pleasantly surprised to find out all had been honored. We chose the hotel for the great deal that was offered for the money. We were very pleasantly surprised, from the minuet we arrived we were warmly welcomed and showned to our rooms which were all 3 in a row which was perfect. The staff were all very pleasant and always smiled and acknowledged you on greeting or passing you in the corridor. The rooms were very clean and had everything you required for you stay. Food was amazing, a great verity for breakfast and evening meals, all cooked to perfection and very well presented. The hotel is close to the Festival Place shopping centre appox 10mins drive with a great verity of shops. Our beauty treatments were carried out to a high standard and therapists where a lovely group of girls, cheerful and professional. We all had a fab time and can fully recommend The Basingstock Hotel for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank tinawest5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BasingstokeGM, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for choosing to spend your 50th celebrations with us and a belated Happy Birthday !

It was lovely to read that you and your 5 friends had such a good time here, being looked after by the beauty team and the restaurant team. The team will all be delighted to see that their efforts and their hospitality were recognised and that it meant so much to you during your stay.

Nice to see that you Festival Place so convenient, it is such a good spot for retail therapy!

I very much appreciate your review and we hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed here for wedding night, staff were very friendly, room was a good size, well equipped and clean, breakfast in bed was wonderful. Couldn't fault anything or anyone. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BasingstokeGM, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for such a positive review and Congratulations on your Wedding.

I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your wedding night with us and that it was topped off with Breakfast in Bed!

Come back for an anniversary stay, or before! We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nately Scures
3.9 mi away
The Basingstoke Hotel
The Basingstoke Hotel
#11 of 13 in Basingstoke
1,123 reviews
5.2 mi away
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
#9 of 13 in Basingstoke
805 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Audleys Wood Hotel
Audleys Wood Hotel
#3 of 13 in Basingstoke
727 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Basingstoke
Holiday Inn Basingstoke
#7 of 13 in Basingstoke
359 reviews
9.7 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa

Property: Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
Address: Scures Hill, Nately Scures, Basingstoke RG27 9JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke > Nately Scures
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nately Scures
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Basingstoke Country Hotel is surrounded by mature woodland and provides a serene, relaxing setting for any holiday or special occasion. Just off the M3 yet surrounded by thatched cottage villages, it has 100 air-conditioned bedrooms, including 12 premium rooms and 9 deluxe room. It is an ideal base for exploring the cathedral cities of Winchester, Salisbury and Chichester and the unspoilt beauty and wild ponies of the New Forest. With attractive landscaped courtyards, Health & Leisure Club with indoor swimming pool, and Scures Brasserie restaurant serving local food, it's a great spot for relaxing after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Basingstoke
Basingstoke Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing