We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine but nothing around - need your car to get about” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nately Scures
Midlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fine but nothing around - need your car to get about”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

Good service at Reception and we managed to get an upgrade because we are Barcelo members. However, the room was very hot and when the window was open all we could hear was the heavy traffic on the busy main road outside.
Breakfast and dinner were okay but Barcelo is a little under par with Menzies.
Pity they don't incorporate tea/coffee in the dinner menu, seems a bit mean.
£2.95 each every night could run up a fair bill.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerikaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarceloGM, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 August 2010
I'm pleased you enjoyed the service at the hotel during your stay. The hotel is well set back from the main road and is only busy at rush hour. All bedrooms are equiped with air-conditioning so noise is rarely a problem, however I am sorry that you were disturbed on this occasion.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    281
    201
    157
    180
See reviews for
171
435
33
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

We booked our family room the night before we stayed, so we were pretty chuffed to discover that we had been allocated a suite. I think the hotel was pretty busy and that's all they had left. This was fine by us as the room was huge, with a massive bathroom. Plenty of room for all of us. The best bit of all was that we had a really quiet night. This might have been because there was no wedding at the hotel that weekend, which I find is nearly always a recipe for interrupted sleep.

Another bonus were the friendly staff who gave our little daughter a challenge to find all the hidden cartoon dogs around the hotel. We had great fun doing this and she got a prize at the end which she went down well. The receptionists, breakfast staff and pool attendants were all really nice and helpful.

The pool was very warm which was great for us with a little kid, but if you want serious swimming, then it might not be for you.

The decor is a little dated in parts, but not offensive and everything was very clean.

All in all, this seems like a well run hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MtotheC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarceloGM, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 August 2010
Thank you for your lovely review. I hope we will see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seaford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

We booked on the phone as the internet was down. From the reservation staff right through to the waiters all were really helpfull. It was apleasure to stay here. Our room was clean and comfortable. We stayed on their summer sale deal that gave us dinner bed and breakfast all for just £79 per room. The food was very well presented and tasted great.
I would certainly stay here again.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chrisdSeaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

I stayed for a few night with friends.i found the staff so attentive and very friendly.it has really nice surroundings and you can relax out side with a nice drink.it has a nice woodland next to it for a nice stroll.the bedrooms are nice and clean.and good facilities.the gym is well equiped and again the staff very nice.i would love to visit again when im on business in basingstoke its a lot better than a lot of hotels i have stayed at.most seem to have staff that are very stuffy and cat be bothered to help with the slightest thing.i was offered help with my luggage and and the receptionest,who i think was nick and adi was so helpful.so a big thankyou to all the well mannered staff.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welltravelledallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarceloGM, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2010
Thank you so much for your kind comments. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and that my great team looked after you so well!
Hopefully we will see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

Myself and my partner had a great time at this friendly hotel. Pool and gym facilities were great and we really enjoyed a couple of relaxing beauty treatments. Can't think of anything bad to say about the place, yeah maybe it could do with a bit of updating in certain areas but the service and food far outweighed this. The staff were great, really friendly and couldn't do enough for us.

Can't wait to return in the very near future.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tocanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarceloGM, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2010
I was so pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I hope we see you at the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

Truly awful experience, the staff were snotty and that’s the ones that weren’t preoccupied and ignoring you. The service was slow to say the least and nothing seemed to be of good quality or value for money.

The hotel itself is in need of some serious TLC including the rooms.

Definitely not the 4 star rating we were expecting.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FussyTraveller085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarceloGM, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2010
I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us, it is disappointing to learn that guests have not had a good experience, so please accept my apologies.
As numerous previous reviews will confirm, it is unheard of for any of my staff to be described as "snotty", in fact the numerous reviews will confirm that I have a fantastic team of friendly, dedicated and genuinely nice people working here so I am bemused by your comments. We work hard to make our valuable guests stays enjoyable, we do sometimes make mistakes, but I can assure you my entire team have a reputation for trying their hardest to be a friendly and professional bunch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nately Scures hotels

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

We wanted somewhere an hour's drive from home to take granddaughter and partner to recover from her 18th birthday celebration....so 2 nights here. Lucky with the weather, and with choice of hotel. Nothing flash, nice rooms, nice pool (very warm!), and lovely garden areas behind to relax in. Staff just right, friendly but not over-familiar. Obviously a popular wedding reception venue, although the bride did have to sit in the bar to watch the England match!
Only adverse comment is the value-for-money on dining; food was OK-ish but not dramatic but at £20.95 for 2 courses, £24.95 for 3 courses expensive. Didn't mind that too much, it was all in as part of the deal, but too many items on the menu were extra cost. Even worse, apart from some garnish, veg was extra, at choice of any 2 for £5, and this applied even to chips. Neither chips nor veg were very good, and the principal of charging extra died out ten years ago in most places...........so be warned!.....if you want steak with 2 veg, it will add £11 to the meal.
Good location, close enough to M3 /A30 for convenience, but far enough off to feel in the country. Basingstoke shopping centre is BIG!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ppnumerianus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarceloGM, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2010
Thank you very much for your positive review, I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I just thought it sensible to confirm the dining arrangements as you mention this in your review. Many of our guests, including yourselves, stay on a Dinner, bed and Breakfast basis, particularly over a weekend. We offer a variety of packages, some include Beauty Treatments, some include local attractions, some are romantically focused, but importantly most include Dinner, as we believe this offers our guests the best value for money. Dinner inclusive guests are entitled to 3 courses - a choice of starter, main and dessert. Our current Summer menu offers a choice of 7 starters, 18 main courses and 7 desserts (just for clarification, there is 1 supplemented starter, 4 mains and 1 dessert). All main courses from the Grill section of the menu are accommpanied by mushrooms and tomatoes as standard along with a choice of 1 side dish. So for example, if one was to chose Grilled Chicken of Salmon Fillet it could be accompanied by either chips, or new potatoes or salad to name just a few of the choices of side orders.
However, my Head Chef and I have reviewed our Restaurant offering following your feedback and that of other valuable guests and have decided to include additional vegetables with all main courses as we certainly dont want our guests to feel let down.
Thank you again for your valuable feedback. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nately Scures
3.9 mi away
The Basingstoke Hotel
The Basingstoke Hotel
#11 of 13 in Basingstoke
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
5.1 mi away
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
#9 of 13 in Basingstoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
4.8 mi away
Audleys Wood Hotel
Audleys Wood Hotel
#5 of 13 in Basingstoke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa

Property: Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
Address: Scures Hill, Nately Scures, Basingstoke RG27 9JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke > Nately Scures
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nately Scures
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Basingstoke Country Hotel is surrounded by mature woodland and provides a serene, relaxing setting for any holiday or special occasion. Just off the M3 yet surrounded by thatched cottage villages, it has 100 air-conditioned bedrooms, including 12 premium rooms and 9 deluxe room. It is an ideal base for exploring the cathedral cities of Winchester, Salisbury and Chichester and the unspoilt beauty and wild ponies of the New Forest. With attractive landscaped courtyards, Health & Leisure Club with indoor swimming pool, and Scures Brasserie restaurant serving local food, it's a great spot for relaxing after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Basingstoke
Basingstoke Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing