We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really enjoyed staying in this hotel, the restaurant staff especially made it the best visit ever very helpfull espec”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nately Scures
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I really enjoyed staying in this hotel, the restaurant staff especially made it the best visit ever very helpfull espec”
Reviewed 14 September 2010

there was a lady called Sue, Susan in the restaurant who was very pleasant and helpful nice lady all round service was fantastic too.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise-spain1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarceloGM, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 October 2010
What a lovely review, thank you so much. I am very fortunate to have a loyal and dedicated team working here and know how proud they are to receive such positive feedback.
Thank you again,
Regards Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    287
    209
    158
    196
See reviews for
176
440
34
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2010

I was anticipating a relaxing spa weekend with my daughter (her first), instead I was made to feel that I was in the wrong as they had no record of my booking. I booked this through an alternative provider, who phoned ahead for me, sent an email confirmation to the hotel and I phoned and confirmed the booking a week in advance. So much contact with them, but not a single booking in my name.

After numerous phone calls presumably to the office, by the very unhelpful chap on reception, who all but called me a liar about having booked, we eventually got a room. I was told that someone would come back to me to confirm that our treatments were actually booked. Something I had also made personally at the same time as confirming my weekend booking. I had paid for a spa weekend and was anticipating champagne and chocolates on arrival, not hassle.

Two hours later no champagne & chocolates, nor confirmation of our treatment bookings and feeling rather hungry we went back to reception. thankfully, the chap from earlier was not there and we got to speak to someone else, who was extremely apologetic, said she would get our champagne, chocolates, robes, slippers and a welcome letter put up in our room. She also personally went over to the spa to check our treatments were booked.

Dinner was lovely, the staff there are extremely helpful. But I would say, it is disappointing that as a coach party was in they would not book anyone in for dinner until 7.45 on both nights. I am used to eating earlier, so found finishing dinner around 9.30 meant that it was difficult to sleep on a full stomach.

Our lack of a booking followed us to the spa the next day. Yes they did have our treatments booked, but no record that we were on a spa break, so had to request someone to get our lunch (supposed to be included), we had no tour of the facilities and basically left to our own devices for the remainder of our time there. The relaxation area, proved a good ground to catch up on what other people thought of the "spa", which was much the same disappointing about the lack of attentiveness of staff and cutting corners on treatment times. The relaxation room was used as a general walkway for staff, who even thought it was appropriate to put the football on to watch!!!! Along with sending mothers in with babies for a nappy change and feed!!! (Don't get me wrong they need to go somewhere, but a relaxation room in a spa?)

My daughter and I gave up on our relaxing spa and took ourselves off in the car mid afternon. My manicure is very chipped two days later and one of my cuticles left bleeding after the treatment. Overall - not the least impressed. Would I recommend - NO

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarceloGM, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 October 2010
I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your Spa Weekend with us, it is disappointing to learn that valuable guests have not had a good experience, so please accept my apologies.
I can assure you that your critisisms are taken very seriously and are addressed in detail. Constructive feedback is very important to us, so thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
Regards Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nately Scures hotels

London, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Group of friends stayed here for a friends wedding. As it was recommended by the bride, we all booked into the Barcelo for a fantastic rate. If you based your booking purely on the website and it's lovely photos (it even boasts a spa), I'm sorry to say you'd be very disappointed.

When we tried to book the room, the receptionist tried to double our rate - even though a far lower rate was publicly posted on their website.

Check in was a TEDIOUS process with so many procedural questions - its was like they were reading a form. Got to the rooms which were OK - clean and tidy but seemed to be decorated in the mid-80s. Even the TV was pre-historic. But that wasn't as important.

We were told at checkin that there were 2 wedding parties staying and it would be busy. Seemed odd, then, when the following morning they were totally unprepared to serve all of these guests breakfast (which was included in the rate). There were only 2 people serving in the entire room - I felt terrible for them - and there was a queue going out the restaurant. An elderly couple in front of us had been waiting for about 10 minutes and no one had even offered them a chair to wait in.

All in all, the hotel was not comfortable, thin walls, noisy, and the front of house staff were very slow - all making a fairly frustrating stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missjenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

I recently stayed at the hotel whilst on business and from the outside it looed ok and had plenty of free parking. The reception lady was very effecicent and friendly which was a good start and even better was a free upgrade. So far so good....

The room was plenty big enough but it reminded me of the Cheltenham hotel in that it has clearly been starved of investemnet. I had another TV which had a high pitched hum..had they moved it from my room in Cheltenham? I also tried to have a shower and there was no hot water that evening in the hotel.

The resturant was dead but once again the staff were friendly and provided good service. The food was reasonable and afterwartds we had a drink in the very expensive hotel bar. The breakfast was the usual fair but my colleague was not too impressed with his heavily stained side plate...NICE

Another advantage of this hotel is that you can get a room for about the price of a Travellodge and that is what you should expect. I find it incredile this is a 4star hotel and if the next reveiw is soon they they have no chance of keeping it. It sint enough to have a big car park and a swimming pool!

Would I stay...possibly, but only if I wanted a very cheap stopover and would look at Premier Inn/ Travelodges first.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_happy_racegoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarceloGM, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 October 2010
Thank you for your positive comments regarding the staff at the hotel. They genuinely are a friendly and dedicated team and I am proud of their attention to customer hospitality.
I can confirm that we now have new large Flatscreen TV's in all of our bedrooms and by the first week of November our Lounge/bar will have been refurbished. I am sure you will agree, this will certainly enhance the hotel.
I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel on a future occasion.
Regards Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We booked a two night stay at this hotel, the purpose being to relax and chill out in peaceful surroundings, use the leisure facilities and come back home feeling refreshed and relaxed after a pretty tough few months.

On check-in, on the first afternoon, we were directed to our room. After settling in, at around 4.30pm, we rang the reception to book a table (for two) in the hotel restaurant for that evening. We were told the earliest table they had was for 9.00pm. We decided that this was quite a long time to wait, especially for a table of just two people, and instead went for a lovely meal at the local pub, The Hogget.

We used the leisure facilities on both days. Whilst the pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi were clean, the surrounding areas were not. The ladies' changing rooms were particularly unsanitary, and smelt pretty disgusting on both days. Needless to say, I changed quite quickly on both occasions!

We went out into Reading and Bracknell during our second day, and due to our experience the previous night, decided to bypass the hotel restaurant and went to the local curry house instead (very nice meal!)

We had seen that there was a wedding happening on the second day in the hotel, but didn't think much of it. After coming back from our meal, at around 10.15pm, and feeling pretty shattered as we'd had quite a busy day, we went into our room to find that it was directly above the function room of the wedding; the music was so loud in our room that it was vibrating through the floor.

We raised this with the staff at reception and the Duty Manager. We were not able to be moved, because the hotel in fact had two weddings happening on that night, and so even if we moved to another room, the music would be just as loud in our room on the other side of the hotel.

We were told that the music would stop at 12midnight, and were essentially asked to put up with it until then. We were offered a 'nightcap' or a 'dessert' to apologise; we declined both, as we just wanted to get to sleep in preparation for the drive back the next day.

It is important to say that we do not begrudge anyone their wedding/reception. We ourselves our getting married in 2012.

Our issue was that we had been in the hotel for a full 24 hours prior to the wedding, and so we feel it would only have been basic manners of the hotel staff to inform us that the function room was directly below our room and that the music would be very loud until 12midnight. We may even have been able to make suitable arrangements to accomodate for this, i.e. going out into town, etc.

We eventually got to sleep at around 1.00am. We checked out of the hotel at 7.30am (to say we'd had enough by then was an understatement), on which the Duty Manager presented us with a bottle of sparkling wine to apologise further.

On the plus side, even though we did not stay for breakfast on our second morning, the first morning's breakfast was quite nice.

Overall, we were very disappointed with our stay. We had come away specifically to relax, and we actually came away more exhausted than when we first checked in.

We feel that an increase in communication of information to us could have prevented us feeling this way.

We haven't yet decided whether to raise a formal complaint to Barcel directly; this may be something we will decide to do after a couple of days' reflection.

However, we have promised to ourselves we will not be coming back to this hotel, or any of the other Barcelo hotels in the chain.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stereo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarceloGM, General Manager at Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 October 2010
I am sorry to read you were disappointed by your recent stay with us. Having read through your review, it seems that your frustration lies with the fact that you were disturbed by function noise on the 2nd night of your stay for which I apologise. It is true to say we were extremely busy that night with 2 wedding receptions taking place, however, I agree you should have been warned about this in advance of your stay.
I was pleased to read that my Duty Manager gave you a bottle of Sparkling Wine on your departure by way of an apology, however I understand your disappointment. Once again, please accept my apologies.
Regards Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

I took my partner here as a surprise birthday weekend and was utterly disappointed not to mention disgusted by the leisure facilities. The facilities are so in need of some attention. There is rust all over the pipes, the changing room’s smelt awful and was in such poor condition, the sauna and steam room were just pointless!! The Jacuzzi was out of use.
It was a good deal for the breakfast, the room was nice and the dinner was also nice but served to us by a bunch of students on their summer break.
I cannot fault the food. The bed came away from the wall constantly so we called the manager to come and 'do something'. He did and was helpful. For us to order a bottle of water as room service would have cost £3 plus £4 for the service!!
I have been to many spas and I recommend to NOT go to this.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sahar09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
103 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We were somewhat disappointed with this hotel. Having stayed with Barcelo before this fell below the standard. Although the deal was good value for money and included dinner and breakfast we found the hotel to be tired and in need of some TLC. The food was excellent and the service in the restaurant was very attentive, however the bar was unmanned on both occasions we went in, dirty glasses were just left on the tables. Reception staff also variable. The room was supposed to be a premium room, however compared to other Barcelo hotels there was nothing premium about and it was an attic room with a small window and hence very dark. On our last morning there was no hot water as the boiler had broken down. All in all it is OK if you get a deal, otherwise there are better hotels around.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docajenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nately Scures
3.9 mi away
The Basingstoke Hotel
The Basingstoke Hotel
#11 of 13 in Basingstoke
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
5.2 mi away
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
Apollo Hotel Basingstoke
#9 of 13 in Basingstoke
3.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Basingstoke Town Centre Hotel
1.2 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa

Property: Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
Address: Scures Hill, Nately Scures, Basingstoke RG27 9JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke > Nately Scures
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nately Scures
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Basingstoke Country Hotel is surrounded by mature woodland and provides a serene, relaxing setting for any holiday or special occasion. Just off the M3 yet surrounded by thatched cottage villages, it has 100 air-conditioned bedrooms, including 12 premium rooms and 9 deluxe room. It is an ideal base for exploring the cathedral cities of Winchester, Salisbury and Chichester and the unspoilt beauty and wild ponies of the New Forest. With attractive landscaped courtyards, Health & Leisure Club with indoor swimming pool, and Scures Brasserie restaurant serving local food, it's a great spot for relaxing after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Basingstoke
Basingstoke Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing