We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wellington Arms
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
672 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
“Business lunch”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I was recently invited to a business lunch at the Wellington Arms and was not expecting too much based on some of the recent reviews. It was a warm day and we would have liked to sit outside but no room. I have to say that the service was a bit hit and miss but I think that was due to inexperience rather than anything else.

The food came very quickly and while the portions were on the small side it was very good and reasonably priced. Overall I enjoyed the lunch and would certainly return

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFrequentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    98
    45
    16
    18
See reviews for
51
95
4
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed here for a wedding and were pleasantly surprised with the high standard and spaciousness of our bedroom - everything we needed there, including a large comfortable bed and a garden view. Breakfast was good too - and the wedding breakfast just great!! Staff very helpful and price quite reasonable. Well placed for local access.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank getaroundsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

My husband and I arrived on a Friday lunchtime for an overnight stay. We were attending a wedding nearby later that afternoon so I had telephoned ahead to check if our room would be available early for us to prepare for the wedding. There was no problem with this request and the staff were all extremely polite,attentive and friendly. We had a delicious lunch in the restaurant and our breakfast the next morning was one of the best we've ever had. Our room was huge with comfortable furnishings and 2 TV's, one in the bedroom area and another in the lounge area! It was a very large and comfy bed. The bathroom was also huge with an excellent power shower and all the usual toiletries although it could do with some attention to the decor (flooring and tiles etc). I think rooms in the newer part of the building may be more contempory but we were very happy with our room. All in all, this was excelent value for money and I would definitley visit again. I booked this room by phone about five weeks in advance and didn't even pay a penny until departure.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maray10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maldon
Level Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We only had evening meal on Saturday it was busy but they found us a table in a bar side of restaurant we will book next time to be in the up market side but it was very nice any way .It had a very good menu and was served up on plate very well very tasty it was as well. The hotel when you drive up to it looks very nice you feel you are going some where posh.The decor of restaurant is good in a style of a stately home, price of food was not cheap but good value maybe about 3 or 4 pounds more then a pub .I read some bad reviews in trip advisor on this place i can only comment on restaurant and it was good so try it for yourself

Room Tip: try it it was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maldonfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

We stayed here as a weekend getaway and we were so impressed. i was a little apprehensive after reading the reviews but was more than pleasantly surprised! The manager greeted us on arrival and booked us in to the restaurant then we were directed to the room. It was large, clean and nicely decorated. lovely! Then we went through to the restuarant. The service was excellent (sophie and leeroy) and we really enjoyed our meal. Breakfast was great. I think management has changed since these negative reviews were placed - if so, its great! Definately would stay here again and more than happy to recommend!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynseyoliala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

Did not stay in hotel, but have visited restaurant a few times for sunday lunch over the past couple of yeras and would recommend it for food ambience, service and price. Have also had a family anniversary lunch and a wedding lunch for 15-30 people in a private room and was more than saisfied.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debfra44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

I cannot actually rate the rooms as we didn't stay the night ...however I am part of a "dinner club" - which includes 15 ladies who try out local eating establishments and then critique them! I have to say that so far out of the 9 places we have tried the Wellington Arms is by far the worst!! There didn't seem to be anyone in charge ..just a couple of clueless students! The Mezze starter which we were all sharing took 45 mins to arrive and the pitta bread had mould on it!! Instead of taking the plates away and replacing they left the mouldy pitta on the table and brought another 3 bowls full of not particularly fresh but at least edible pitta! The waiter also managed to thrown a bowl of tzaiki down one of us!! The service was so slow with our main courses not arriving till gone 10pm (we had arrived just after 8pm) - all in all a disaster!!! Their saving grace was they deducted the starters from the bill!

Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Harryrowland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stratfield Turgis
1.5 mi away
Highfield Park
Highfield Park
#1 of 1 in Heckfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Raven Hotel
Raven Hotel
#4 of 6 in Hook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
De Vere Wokefield Estate
De Vere Wokefield Estate
#1 of 1 in Stratfield Mortimer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,848 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
5.9 mi away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Arms

Property: The Wellington Arms
Address: A35, Stratfield Turgis RG27 0AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Stratfield Turgis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stratfield Turgis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wellington Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Wellington Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wellington Arms Hotel Basingstoke
Wellington Arms Basingstoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing