We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wellington Arms
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“2 night stay”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Having read previous reviews we were a little apprehensive about booking into this hotel, but its location was ideal for a planned meeting so we went ahead. Needn't have worried. From the time we walked up to Reception until check out time 2 days later, could not fault the hotel or the service its staff offered. From the very friendly and helpful Receptionist through to the young waitresses serving Breakfast and Dinner very efficiently, dining was a pleasure albeit a little pricey for some options on the menu. But then there were cheaper dishes we could have chosen!! The sleeping acommodation was absolutely fine. Perhaps not to everyone's choice if you are used to an ultra modern souless hotel, but for us it was full of charm with some older style furniture and furnishings mingled with a very comfortable bed and spotless en-suite bathroom. There were plenty of car parking spaces behind the hotel under cctv surveillance, and our room looked out onto extensive lawns. An extremely enjoyable stay and one we hope to repeat in the future Many thanks to all concerned

Room Tip: Room 28 was very quiet and overlooked the lawns
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogerrabbit68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    98
    45
    16
    18
See reviews for
51
95
4
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

very poor at breakfast time, and had to wait ages for attendtion from staff on duty at this time.

Room Tip: when having breakfast, make sure you order toast at sams time, my toast came 15min atfer my breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I have been staying at this hotel occasionally for ten years. The food has always been one of the best aspects of the Wellington Arms. The current approach seems to be to serve food in the bar rather than the restaurant. That really works as the bar is a cosy room with wooden panelling and a log fire. The food is the gastro pub style that is popular today. I would say it is far better than most places doing this sort of food. The prices are not too bad really.

I always like to stay in the modern rooms at the back as they are large and very well designed. They have a desk, desk lamps, power points and a swivel chair which is great for working. In the past I have had older rooms at the front which have been smaller, less well equipped and suffered from traffic noise.

All the hotel staff I met were pleasant and seemed eager to help. It really does make the stay a pleasure.

The rooms and corridors are now looking a bit tired. Nothing serious but these areas could do with a coat of paint. My only real complaint would be about the standard of hose keeping in my bathroom. It was possibly the worst I have experienced. To be fair this was eventually rectified but it should not have been allowed to get to that state. If the rooms were inspected occasionally, these problems could be corrected before guests are effected.

On the whole a very good traditional style hotel that is always a pleasure to visit.

Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stephen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We had lunch here on Friday, we both had prawn cocktail at £7.95 each as a starter which was pretty sad - served in cocktail glass and frankly was bit of lettuce, handfull of prawns and sauce (from a jar I would say). For the main I had seabream on rocket and my friend had a steak both were good. We also had two bottles of water and the bill came to around £60 which I felt was overpriced for lunch. Good venue, nice setting but avoid the starters!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, Hertfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We were invited here for a big birthday celebration and stayed over. arrived late afternoon thought we would be to late to order food from the lunch menu, but nothing was to much trouble we were served quickly with what we wanted which was lovely and tasty, Lovely ambience in the bar with stone flag floors and roaring log fire, Most of the staff were youngsters and a credit to the business they were efficient and polite all seemed very busy,
The event which was held in a suite attached to the hotel was very good and agin considering the No`s involved the staff worked very hard
Well done all

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smone4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erlangen, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We went for Sunday lunch on November 13th.
For starters Crab Pate, which was very good and Salmon Tartar, which was sent back due to generous helping of capers worked in with the fish (capers were not mentioned on the menu and I hate them) and the sea of olive oil that was poured around the plate. For mains we had Sunday Lunch Roast Beef for the adults and Chicken Breast with Macaroni Cheese and Carrots for the child. The Beef was very good, so was the gravy, roast potatoes and parsnips as well as the 3 types of seasonal veggies. Let down for me was the very greasy tasting Yorkshire Pudding. The Chicken Breast was terribly dry. For dessert we ordered the platter, which was supposed to be a selection of desserts to share. From the 5 desserts on the menu there were really only 2, as I don't count slices of fruit as a fruit salad and the 2 scoops of ice cream were more to be had with the puds. Anyway, the treacle tart and the brownies were lovely.
So all together a bit of a mixed experience. The staff was friendly and the restaurant is light and with a modern yet homey feel.
Would I go again? No.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We met some lovely new friends here for sunday lunch....
we waited ages to be served in between courses and actually had to call them over to take our order! plates left on our table for ages.
the food itself was ok... nothing special but nice.
the main complaint was being sat next to the radiator... which normally in Oct would be nice, but the temp was 27C outside (warm!) and the rad was on... when we asked for it to be turned off.... it got so hot we often burnt our arms just touching it.... staff we a bit off when we insisted we have the door next to us open (to a corridor) and one waitress gave me a foul look when i asked that she not close it!! other patrons were also commenting on our predicament because we were now all pouring sweat!
all in all the meal was lovely... im sure if we werent being cooked then it would have been fantastic....
may go back again if asked by friends but not on our own.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fluffyredfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stratfield Turgis
1.5 mi away
Highfield Park
Highfield Park
#1 of 1 in Heckfield
362 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,307 reviews
4.2 mi away
Raven Hotel
Raven Hotel
#4 of 7 in Hook
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant
3.6 mi away
De Vere Wokefield Estate
De Vere Wokefield Estate
#1 of 1 in Stratfield Mortimer
1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Arms

Property: The Wellington Arms
Address: A35, Stratfield Turgis RG27 0AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Stratfield Turgis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stratfield Turgis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wellington Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Wellington Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wellington Arms Hotel Basingstoke
Wellington Arms Basingstoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing