We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of character and very good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wellington Arms
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Lovely hotel with lots of character. Although the room needed an airing and was at the front we had a good night's sleep. The furniture in the bedroom was in keeping with the age of the building and much nicer than you would expect for a mid-range hotel. The bed was reasonably comfortable.

The bathroom could do with a bit of a touch up - bit of paint and the door was difficult to close - but was fine. Shower pressure and temperature were excellent. Toiletries supplied were very good quality.

There was plenty for breakfast both in terms of variety and quantity; although I was disappointed the kedgeree was not available the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon was lovely.

All the staff we encountered were very helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend and expect to stay again next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PKOK1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
There are newer reviews for The Wellington Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

First stay here at this very welcoming hotel which was recommended by a friend. I was made to feel at home on booking in. The room was very comfortable with an en suite bathroom and a very powerful (and hot) shower. I went down for dinner and was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the meal, I had the pork loin with the treacle tart for the dessert. Both were memorable, the pork melting in the mouth and the treacle tart was wow....what can I say, fabulous.
After a fantastic nights sleep (the most comfortable bed I have slept in for ages, including my own) I had a full English breakfast which was obviously cooked to order and fantastic. Nice touches at breakfast were the milk, which was in, what was like a small, old fashioned, pop bottle, you know, the one with the latch top which keeps the milk very fresh and a whole honeycomb so you could scoop what you wanted from this delicious offering (not that I am into honey). This is one hotel which I will definitely come back to and will certainly recommend.

Room Tip: First stay so cannot add a lot to this. I will update with further experience
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FenMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Another delightful stay in my favourite hotel in the Basingstoke area, We are remembered and welcomed as repeat guests. The hotel and staff do not fail. Suzie is most accommodating, if there is anything she can do for you she will gladly do so. The breakfast is great. Good quality ingredients. I love the breakfast,cooked to order, while of course you can help yourself to cereals, fruits, yogs, danish pastries and more....!!! The second morning was a full house so was buffet style understandable but never quite the same. Don't ever revert to the buffet exclusively Wellington, your breakfasts cooked to order are second to none. As I've said in previous reviews, the best we've had anywhere.

Dinner was really good as usual. Tasty food, lots of choice,with great characterful surroundings. I'm so pleased treacle tart is on the menu, I have never had better. So good I had it for dessert on both nights.

We look forward to staying with you very soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Booked in for a quiet birthday dinner for my wife and myself.

Whilst the food was very good, the service was probably the worst we have experienced. No reference was made to their specials (which we subsequently heard being offered to another table), empty plates being left on our table for 20 minutes between courses, having to re-order our wine. However, there were clearly plenty of staff. The service was so poor that we cut our meal short as we had both lost patience with the place and decided not have desert.

To round the evening off, and what has really resulted in this entry is that whilst settling the bill I raised my dissatisfaction with the service, to which the waitress nonchalantly replied "I know". If she knew how bad the service was, why did they not address it?

I feel sorry for the kitchen staff as they are doing a really good job only to be let down by the waiting staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My daughter booked us in here to stay somewhere local as she had dined here before and said the staff were great. The food has been wonderful (fresh honey from the honeycomb block at breakfast was a delightful touch), and the bed was the most comfortable we've slept in on our 5 week trip around uk! Room rates were cheap and unrivaled and we are booked in to stay again on our return. Everyone was very helpful, and the Australian staff extra happy to make conversation! Highly recommend!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thewandererxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Both my partner and I had the pleasure of stopping at the Wellington arms - it was a special weekend and re-visit. I have to say we had a warm welcome and the staff are simply amazing people and very helpful. We had a lovely meal (recommend the duck) and a bottle of champagne. We were lucky enough to have use of the suite. Breakfast was well laid out and warm. Thanks to all - definitely would recommend to all for both a stay and food / drink. Thanks M & L.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank woot0625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We booked a double room for a single night recently whilst travelling down to Southampton via south London. As we would be arriving quite late I phoned ahead to confirm the arrangements. Upon arriving, there was an envelope with the keys and instructions, so far so good. The room we had (No 8), overlooked the back but as a result there was no road noise which was good. The room decor was dated, the furniture an interesting style to say the least but the bed was relatively comfortable. The bathroom was dated and needed a bit of a refurb due to cracked tiles and a nasty mouldy shower curtain. Shower pressure and temperature was ok.

Breakfast was served in the bar/restaurant downstairs and was a buffet. It was plentiful and had a good choice including fresh honey from a honeycomb and continental meats. The bacon and sausages were of very good quality and we were quite full as a result.

In summary it did the trick, but I wouldn't pay top dollar for a room here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dishmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stratfield Turgis
4.4 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Highfield Park
Highfield Park
#1 of 1 in Heckfield
383 reviews
4.8 mi away
Warbrook House
Warbrook House
#2 of 2 in Eversley
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
2.8 mi away
The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant
3.2 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Arms

Address: A35, Stratfield Turgis RG27 0AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Stratfield Turgis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stratfield Turgis
Price Range: £80 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wellington Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Wellington Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wellington Arms Hotel Basingstoke
Wellington Arms Basingstoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing