We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular Guest And I Recommend It”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wellington Arms
Reviewed 27 August 2008

I have stayed here many times over the last 9 months and I am impressed every time. All the staff are friendly and are looking for what they can do to make your stay better.

The food is excellent and the surroundings very enjoyable. A much better prospect than staying in Basingstoke. The beds are a little short and the TVs too old but i can forgive that. The free WiFi means that the poor mobile reception can be worked around.

I stay for work but this would be very nice place to stay for leisure. There are no fitness facilities but if that is what you need then this isn't the place for you

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lord_Swad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
There are newer reviews for The Wellington Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2008

Hotel was booked for me and a colleague through work for two nights with breakfast. Not sure what to expect, as read the reviews here which were good but with some skepticism. However they were all misplaced. Arrived at the hotel around 1830hrs after a long and stressful drive, however we were greeted by a very warm and friendly receptionist.

Our rooms were perfect, warm and friendly without that all to factory pack style you see in more modern hotels now. These had a certain homely feel to them, perfect for a good nights sleep. The beds were lovely, i prefer a bed where you sink into it a bit, it did exactly that. Always think hotel's can't please everyone bed wise as everyone has their own preference to what they like.

All the standards are offered in terms of wake up call, etc etc. TV with freeview, the reception was poor on some of the channels, however my colleague said he had no problem. I think this might of been down to the weather as it was raining quite heavily during our stay.

There is free wifi access, just ask reception for a username and password, however this was at times slow during peak times, but it's free and you can check your mail etc.

There is a pub in the restaurant, and the food served i found to be quite nice, and reasonably priced. Breakfast in the morning was nice, i didn't have the cooked breakfast, however my colleague said it was much better than most hotels.

I had read a review that the hotel shut it's doors at 1130hrs, this is true, HOWEVER your room key will open the main door to the hotel. We were told this when we arrived, so no need to worry there.

Be aware that if you're travelling into Basingstoke in the morning the traffic can be quite bad during weekdays, and you should at least add 30mins to your journey. The main road is busy during peak times, so be careful when moving onto it from the hotel.

All in all, it was a very pleasant stay with very friendly staff. Just what you want in a hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank crankitup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
San Diego CA
11
Reviewed 20 January 2006

A second home for me as I stay here quite often on business travel. Excellent staff that go out of their way to be helpful. Above average food in the restaurant and attached pub.

Difficult to enter the A33 towards Basingstoke on weekday mornings due to steady flow of commuter traffic.

No wireless or high-speed internet connections. Limited TV reception (but remember this is England).

If your looking for something other then the Hilton, Holiday Inn, etc then it's worth a try.

Stayed: December 2005
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reston, VA
416
Reviewed 1 December 2003

Second stay at this busy roadside hotel (between Basingstoke and Reading). Despite the heavy traffic, the hotel is remarkable quiet and peaceful. Rooms are nicely appointed though a bit smallish. Bathrooms are modern, clean and well lighted. Hotel staff is friendly. Restaurant food is quite good and service warm/friendly. Room rates are high (though this is considered London metro and thus not out of line).You will need a car as this is located a bit in the countryside.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2003

I stay here quite often on business. The bedrooms are excellent with a lovely comfy arm chair for you to sit in. The staff are friendly and very helpful. If had one slight fault is that the food in the restaurant always seems to be very peppery but this is just a personal choice

1  Thank HeatherWilson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
Thank virx2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chambre Sud donne sur le jardin (à l'anglaise)
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChSims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stratfield Turgis
4.4 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Highfield Park
Highfield Park
#1 of 1 in Heckfield
383 reviews
4.8 mi away
Warbrook House
Warbrook House
#2 of 2 in Eversley
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
2.8 mi away
The Mill House Hotel and Restaurant
3.2 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Arms

Address: A35, Stratfield Turgis RG27 0AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Stratfield Turgis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stratfield Turgis
Price Range: £80 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wellington Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Wellington Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wellington Arms Hotel Basingstoke
Wellington Arms Basingstoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing