We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Glad it's our Local!”
Review of The Gamekeepers

The Gamekeepers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$70
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Plymouth, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“So Glad it's our Local!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We are very lucky to have this fine dining establishment in our lovely little village. Food is always good, the atmosphere cozy and appealing, and the owners couldn't be more friendly and helpful. They always go the extra mile to get you what you would like, and everything served definitely has eye appeal as well as taste appeal.
You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JEDLRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    89
    36
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Four of us were doing a 20-mile walk, which included a circular walk around Mapledurwell, a place none of us had ever been before. We originally planned to have lunch at a pub we know on the way back, but the Gamekeepers looked so pleasant we decided to stop there and we certainly didn't regret it. The staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. The baguettes we all had were delicious, especially the venison baguette. The service was quick. There are all sorts of different areas in the pub - a restaurant, tables and chairs in the bar, squishy sofas, but we ate outside, which was very pleasant as the pub is next to a field where sheep were grazing and rabbits hopping about. Two red kits wheeled over as we were eating our lunch. The toilets were probably the most pleasant I have ever seen in a pub, scrupulously clean, with a choice of handwashes and lotions and homely touches, such as pot plants. We really enjoyed our lunch at the Gamekeepers and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mattarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food in great environment”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I've eaten in the Gamekeepers a few times as it's close to my place of work. I took a large group of international colleagues there the other evening and the food and service couldn't be faulted. One of my colleagues literally wiped his plate clean (having stolen another colleague's chips to do so) and continually talked about how good it was the following day. The menu is varied and all the ingredients quite clearly very fresh.

A very minor criticism is that, although there are a number of wine choices below £30 (which is good), the list then jumps to over £50 per bottle (although my boss will be quite pleased about that as I ended up choosing from the below £30 page).

Although it's a little bit out of the way, it's well worth the effort - and if you're entertaining people from overseas, it's a great way to show off the best of Hampshire.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Food Still Very Good, But a Little Pricey”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This was our third visit in the year and the food is still very good, especially the venison, but it is quite expensive. We paid over £40 each, with a few glasses of wine and a couple of beers and one of us only had the main course. That said, good food is not cheap.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Voyager042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
162 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I have eaten at the game keepers many times and every time I am not disappointed, slightly above average prices but worth every penny the quality if the food is tip top and locally sourced. Friendly staff comfortable surroundings you can't go wrong choosing to eat here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank stephelloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gamekeepers also viewed

Basingstoke, Hampshire
 
Upton Grey, Basingstoke
 
Old Basing, Basingstoke
 

Been to The Gamekeepers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing