We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, friendly and comfortable”

Eastside Coach House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mapledurwell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eastside Coach House
Ranked #1 of 1 Mapledurwell B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Close to Basingstoke and the M3, this B&B was a pleasure to stay at. The room was clean, commfortable, and very spacious, Mike and Elaine the owners friendly and welcoming. We shall be revisiting when next we visit the area! The village is very picturesque, and considering how close we were to the M3, the nights were silent! Oh, and there's a very friendly dog and cat.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BroadlandWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
There are newer reviews for Eastside Coach House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 20 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2008

Not the first time ive stayed there and not the last one. Excellent accomodation, Mike and Elaine very friendly, beautiful countryside. Always feel welcome and so does my dog.
Can recomend to everyone!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 181,818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2008

This is my second visit to Eastside and it is to be well recommended as a comfortable bed and breakfast establishment with very friendly owners Mike and Elaine Cashmore. They also have a cute spaniel who likes to say 'Hallo' and then wanders off to mind her own business in the sunny, pleasant garden which has wonderful views of wide open countryside. Prices are reasonable, with a choice of either cooked or continental breakfast
and I much prefer the homely ambience of this place rather than an impersonal hotel venue. Another attractive feature is the number of antique pieces of furniture dotted around the house, as well as many pleasing water colours by Elaine, which can be purchased if they take your fancy. I shall certainly stay here again when I get the opportunity to journey in Hampshire again.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Pogopaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2008

mike and elaine looked after us and made us very welcome and our en-suite accomodation was excellent.

it would be hard to find a b&b so peacfully situated in the countryside within easy walk to local pub/restaurant and a few minutes to basingstoke by car.
if you enjoy a full english breakfast this is the b&b to stay at.

Stayed: September 2008
Thank leonardii0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2008

If you like a good quality, well-cooked English breakfast stay here.

However, don't stay here if you are likely to hate the following aspects of this guest house:

- Furniture and fittings that are the cheapest possible.
- A kitchen and stair area which constantly smells strongly of damp dog.
- Guest rooms without locks of any sort (I have never experienced such an absurd thing in any other guest house or hotel, in the UK or abroad). I wonder if this is something to do with a lower rate of tax payable if you don't have locks on guest's rooms? It is very inconsiderate if you have booked and arrive with laptop etc., only to find no locks, and no other guest houses available that night.
- Beds which smell damp. Imagine if you wash some clothes and then fail to dry them quickly enough. Well, this is the smell I encountered at this guest house. Imagine then having to sleep in that bed. Awful.

All in all, I couldn't wait to leave.

How hard can it be to run a guest house that is normal?

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank aix123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2007

The East Side Coach House, owned by Elaine and Mike Cashmore, is a delightful B&B (6 rooms) located in a quiet country lane just a few miles from the M3 (junction 6). Basingstoke is the nearest town about 10 minutes away.

We were warmly welcomed into their traditionally decorated home and shown to a pleasant double room with adjacent large bathroom. Plenty of towels, toiletries and a clear explanation for how to work the shower. The room was comfortable, with small tv, tea and coffee making facilities and plenty of hanging space on an open rail. If we had wanted to do any ironing or washing, the Cashmore's were happy to provide their own family facilities.
The room could benefit from a little updating - apparently this is planned - and perhaps a slightly harder mattress would be a good investment.

A tasty English Breakfast was served up with very generous portions and excellently cooked by Mike. This peaceful country home surrounded in an acre of land is a great find if you're looking for a home-from-home stopover enroute to the coast or on business in Basingstoke. Prices are very competitive too.

Stayed: June 2007
1  Thank Sara90LondonNw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Eastside Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastside Coach House

Address: East Side Frog Lane, Mapledurwell, Basingstoke RG25 2LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke > Mapledurwell
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mapledurwell
Price Range: £35 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a friendly family-run country home in the idyllic hamlet of Mapledurwell yet only 5 minutes drive from the centre of Basingstoke and 10 mins from Hook. Spacious rooms with TV, tea/coffee, laundry facilities, hairdryer, microwave. Large car park. Breakfast can be served in the dining room/farmhouse kitchen. No Smoking (undercover area outside). Wireless Internet. The Gamekeepers Public House, an excellent restaurant, is a short walk. Ideal long-term businessmen/holidaymakers/wedding parties/families and well behaved pets! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing