We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food”

The Fur and Feathers
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Herriard
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$51
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: An individual, independent family owned and run free house. Daily changing menu cooked with local ingredients when available. We are able to source world award winning cheese, lamb, eggs and game when in season from our village. We have four real ale pumps and sell at least two local ales at all times alongside Sharp's Doom Bar. We have a large wine list, many served by the glass and an extensive Gin & Whisky offering. The building is Victorian with huge windows and high ceilings and heated by two log burners throughout winter, for the summer we have a large garden with patio area seating with our resident chickens for entertainment.
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We ate at this restaurant through a travelzoo deal, which was really good value and although all of the options weren't available, the selection was good and the food was beautifully presented and cooked to perfection. The ambiance in the restaurant was really nice and the waitress was excellent, friendly and efficient, without being overbearing.
Although the pub is a little of the beaten track, it is worth a visit, the prices are a little pricey but you get what you pay for.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amjbmowf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Owner at The Fur and Feathers, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we hope you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    109
    28
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upton Grey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Family-owned and run. Fresh and unpretentious food. Proper pub grub although I've only ever eaten there at lunchtime. Parking easy. A peaceful place.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JDAW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Owner at The Fur and Feathers, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for making the effort to write a positive review, it's so gratifying for hard working and dedicated team to see that many people understand what we are trying to achieve here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Food in Lovely Surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had a voucher for this restaurant and found the food to be of excellent
quality. Particularly large portions and consequently we couldn't move
at the end of the meal as we were so full up. The normal prices are reasonable
for the quality of the food. We will definitely be going back! Good service
too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Owner at The Fur and Feathers, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
We are very pleased you had a great experience using your voucher and we look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review, it really gives our hard working and dedicated staff a boost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely food and a warm welcome.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have driven past this country pub many times and took up the Travelzoo three course offer to give it a try. All three courses were delicious and obviously made rom scratch-no reheating food straight out of the freezer here!.The cheese and chive souffle for starter was really delicious and the apple and rhubarb crumble had a really tasty nutty topping. My husband chose different options to me but also enjoyed everthing especially the chocolate brownie. We were both impressed by the home-made desserts which are hard to find when dining in pubs. The food was well presented and the price of both food and drink reasonable. Best of all we were given a warm welcome and excellent service. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank musiclyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Owner at The Fur and Feathers, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Many thanks for your positive review, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Home coooked feel in a family-run pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Though this pub does not have a separate restaurant it has an excellent locally-sourced menu and is run by a friendly and enthusiastic family. The real ale is well kept, the food does not appear quickly as it is all cooked to order, so we had a leisurely evening and food that was considered excellent by all our table (4 people). I had a venison burger, others had the steak, chicken and a steak burger so all had different items. The wine list was comprehensive, I drank a Californian rose which complemented the meal well. The pub is bijou and its ambiance very pleasant adn easy to relax in. Worth a visit, not for 'cheap' meals but good meals with excellent quality ingredients.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, Owner at The Fur and Feathers, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to make a positive review.

Our dedicated and hard working team really appreciate your comments and it helps us all stay focussed on doing the best we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fur and Feathers also viewed

Mapledurwell, Basingstoke
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 
Upton Grey, Basingstoke
 
Old Basing, Basingstoke
Ellisfield, Basingstoke
 

Been to The Fur and Feathers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing