We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly unique!”
Review of Freds Lounge

Freds Lounge
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Mamou
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Catch a little Cajun fever at Fred’s, where the Cajun joie de vivre is evident and infectious.
Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Truly unique!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

A great mix of locals, tourists and foreigners were up early on Saturday morning to listen, dance and drink to authentic Cajun music. It is worth the drive off the beaten path!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank bunnomatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    4
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Rose, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Saturday mornings at Fred's”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Repeat visitor to Fred's. Never get enough of it. Love Tante Sue. Great Cajun music. Great Blood Marys. People come all over the world to visit Fred's. Meet lots of new folks and do some Cajun dancing.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank wanda9298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mamou, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A true Cajun Experience”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

A native of mamou, Louisiana, I can certainly recommend this establishment. Wonderful people. True Cajun music on a Saturday morning. I rarely go anymore, because I have been so many times. Plenty of fond memories with Mr Fred and Taunte Sue. Do not miss this if in the area on a Saturday morning.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“if you want Cajun music this is it,,, bucket list item”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

On main st Big Mamou sits a time capsule that everyone must visit once. This time took the family with my daughters from Maine, and we had a blast. Its like the Star Wars Bar, there were locals, Texas bikers, cajuns, cowboys, seniors, college students and quite a few foreigners. All enjoying the band,,, get there early for a good seat, start drinking and have fun,,,

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank bigcreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marana, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Saturday morning....!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Our friend Debbie in Alexandria said, "Don't schedule ANYTHING for Saturday morning!". We didn't and found ourselves at Fred's Lounge in li'l ol' Mamou, LA. Got a seat at the bar and met Tante Sue. From that point on we were on a Cajun E-ticket ride! Her holster and the bar got us feelin' good, the foot didn't stop tappin', the dancin' was as jiggy as it should be when the band lays down a catchy cajun rhythm, and everyone was a friend. Get your bucket list out and add one more...You cannot die until you've spent a Saturday mornin' at Fred's Lounge.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Timetraveler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Freds Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Freds Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing